Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction
I found this book very informative from the point of view of a complete novice. It is always important to keep the reader interested and this does just that.
Published 14 months ago by Mark Jarvis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough actual meditation
I bought this as I wanted some practical guidance without the distractions on meditation and also for the guided meditations on the cd. However, the book does ramble a bit although not too much and is certainly interesting. My only real criticism is that there are not enough guided meditations on the cd. I think beginners need more and perhaps that could be another...
Published 11 months ago by L Bateman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very informative from the point of view of a complete novice. It is always important to keep the reader interested and this does just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meditation for Dummies, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
M4D is the best book on meditation I have read. It is simply and clearly written, and very well structured. It provides background, research results and describes the various things meditation is seeking to achieve, from the 'lowly' ability to focus attention, through relaxing, dealing with stress, gaining insight into the way one's mind has been conditioned, cultivating compassion, to the 'lofty' goal of spiritual Oneness. He even shows how you can use it to develop skill levels. In an undogmatic and good humoured way, SB shows how one can disembark at any of these 'destinations' and still benefit from meditation. He provides many examples of different types of meditation to serve different tastes and different purposes as well as detailing a comprehensive list of resources (books, organisations) to assist one on the journey. If all Dummies books are this good, I'm a convert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough actual meditation, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditation For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this as I wanted some practical guidance without the distractions on meditation and also for the guided meditations on the cd. However, the book does ramble a bit although not too much and is certainly interesting. My only real criticism is that there are not enough guided meditations on the cd. I think beginners need more and perhaps that could be another book altogether, a volume 2? Come on Dummies, sort it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ???, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditation For Dummies (Paperback)
Very good. I've been meditating for the last five or six years daily and never really got past basic first principals. Gives an overall view of different methods which I found quite fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars meditation for dummies, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditation For Dummies (Paperback)
Received promptly and packaged well. Excellent service. Written very clearly and the CD is particularly useful - guided meditations CD. Anyone interested in this topic I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meditation For Dummies, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditation For Dummies (Paperback)
Excellent read, straight to the point with very little unpronounceable word usage.
Does not focus on any religion or spiritual practise but gets straight down to the bones of the issue.
I have found it both an interesting read and very useful for getting me started along the way.
My thanks to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditation For Dummies (Paperback)
If you are a dummie like me Then this book will help you understand what meditation is all about. The cd is very helpful.
Just find a quiet room and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars meditation book, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditation For Dummies (Paperback)
speedy delivery, book came well packaged and has a good layout and is very well written, i would recommend this as a start to meditation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2f31cc0)

This product

Meditation For Dummies
Meditation For Dummies by Stephan Bodian (Paperback - 24 Aug 2012)
11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews