Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2015
As someone who is interested in finance but is in no ways mathematically inclined (yes we exist), I was scared to see terms like 'exponentially weighted moving average model' and 'covariance matrices' along with loads of other models I can't pronounce pop up in this book. It does, however, give you a good introduction into the world of banking, the different types of banks and institutions etc. as well as a good introduction into hedge funds and mutual funds. It also has a good chapter on derivatives such as forwards, futures, options, swaps etc. If you're just starting a course in finance, however, don't read too far in as it starts to read more Greek than English.....i.e. more math-sy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
This is not an easy book. It ask the reader to work hard on the concepts and the main ideas, but studying with it for my risk management class was interesting and I still go back to it from time to time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
its perfect for both students and professionals, the life examples are helpful.
The website can be handy at anytime to use when on the move.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
A great, well written guide about risk management. Plenty of examples given. I would thoroughly recommend it.good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
PERFECT BOOK & QUICK DISPATCH! Very interesting book and very useful for my post-graduate courses! I would thoroughly recommend it!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Beyond my understanding
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Comprehensive, reasonably detailed but easy to read. The chapters build up well and each chapter finishes with some questions to help you check understanding of the content.

A great way to catch up on the impact of the recent and wide ranging regulatory changes on risk, capital, liquidity, etc., if you haven't been working directly in Market, Credit Risk or Treasury departments. If you have, then I would expect that it's more obvious, although could always be good revision to check completeness of understanding or as a useful reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
really useful for risk analysis, new version, new look, the price is comparatively ok but should be cheaper in my mind
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Very good. But I bought the wrong book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
arrived on time and met expectations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)