Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start
This is very much a beginner's guide. It won't teach you everything about Objective-C and iPhone programming (not by a long way), but it does a good job of leading you from the basic principles of programming in C (the language on which Objective-C is built), through the fundamentals of Objective-C and the Xcode environment, up to the point of implementing a very simple...
Published 18 months ago by Hawfinch

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it is listed as...
I bought this because I had a number of generic books on programming iPhone/Ipads and wanted a specific book on Objective C that would get into great detail (I feel a bit at sea because I know C++ very well but the syntax and implementation of Objective C is very different - its bigger than the difference between Java and C++ for example). This is not that book. It...
Published 19 months ago by AndyL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Hawfinch - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Objective-C Programming For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
This is very much a beginner's guide. It won't teach you everything about Objective-C and iPhone programming (not by a long way), but it does a good job of leading you from the basic principles of programming in C (the language on which Objective-C is built), through the fundamentals of Objective-C and the Xcode environment, up to the point of implementing a very simple iOS app in Xcode's iPhone simulator.

This is actually the 3rd book on Objective-C I tried. The other two were "Objective-C Programming - The Big Nerd Ranch Guide" by Aaron Hillegass, and Stephen G Kochan's "Programming in Objective-C". Those are also excellent guides, particularly in the early chapters. However, with both those books, I found the learning curve suddenly got quite steep after the half-way point, as the authors try to tell you everything you MIGHT need to know about the language.

This book more sensibly restricts the flow of information to what you need to know to get a simple app up and running. The learning curve does get a bit hilly in places, but I found it manageable. Having completed the book, I've now moved on to "iOS Programming - The Big Nerd Ranch Guide", which follows on quite nicely where this one leaves off.

One drawback of this book is the lack of exercises at the end of each chapter. There are also some minor errors here and there in the edition I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After ready the programming for dummies book, which is mostly conceptual, this book is a great intro into actual coding. The book builds and then you enter in the last few chapters into GUIs and turn the command line code into an app. I feel comfortable with command line code now, but need to carry on with something like ios 6 for dummies to get comfortable as although I got the iPhone/mac app going I realised how little I knew about the GUI side of things.

So great adventure into coding and gives you enough examples to get you going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
great book. fast delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very readable book on a complicated subject, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have several books ob Objective-C but this is far the best introduction as it explains some of the more complex issues in plain english and of course the cartoons are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Objective-C Programming For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)), 29 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. P. Harvey "Phil" (Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
I am a big fan of the 'for Dummies' series of books and I own a great many of them. The 'Objective-C Programming ...' is my latest acquisition and it is essential reading for anyone wanting to develop or understand programs written for the Macintosh operating system.

This 'for Dummies' book is just one amongst many written concerning 'Objective-C' and I chose it mainly for its value-for-money and because the 'for Dummies' books' excellent reputation for depth, range, clarity and presentation style. I have encountered more detailed books concerning the C programming language but they can be difficult to read unless one is a professional programmer. This book strikes the right balance between comprehensiveness and entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it is listed as..., 17 Jan 2013
By 
AndyL (Cambridgeshire/ Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
I bought this because I had a number of generic books on programming iPhone/Ipads and wanted a specific book on Objective C that would get into great detail (I feel a bit at sea because I know C++ very well but the syntax and implementation of Objective C is very different - its bigger than the difference between Java and C++ for example). This is not that book. It doesn't really get into sufficient detail because like many books it spends many pages discussing basic operation of XCode etc.
Its fairly good general book on programming iPhone/iPad/Mac and possibly better than most of the books (nearly 4-5 stars) that I have but its not what the description says...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Objective c programming, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
Still trying to read it, learning new things, it will take a while to understand this if your a novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Objective-C Programming For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech))
Objective-C Programming For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) by Neal Goldstein (Paperback - 19 Oct 2012)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews