Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Simple to the Complex--the Very Complex!
I have been using Photoshop since Adobe was a lump of clay. So immediately after ordering "Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks" from Amazon Vine, I upgraded from CS5 to CS6 (The perfect excuse!). I was so happy when the book finally arrived. In the first twenty-nine chapters alone, I have learned to apply all sorts of new tricks.

The lessons are depicted--step...
Published on 27 Jun 2012 by F. S. L'hoir

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book but not very helpful if you are new to CS6.
It's tips & tricks are not much use if you are not familiar with the basic system which differs from earlier versions
Published 11 months ago by Compton BG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Simple to the Complex--the Very Complex!, 27 Jun 2012
By 
F. S. L'hoir (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
I have been using Photoshop since Adobe was a lump of clay. So immediately after ordering "Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks" from Amazon Vine, I upgraded from CS5 to CS6 (The perfect excuse!). I was so happy when the book finally arrived. In the first twenty-nine chapters alone, I have learned to apply all sorts of new tricks.

The lessons are depicted--step by step and numbered--with full-colour screenshots of the Photoshop menus; they range from the simple to the complex. The author, Lynette Kent, in fact, includes techniques for every level of Photoshop aficionado in every chapter throughout the book, which also contains copious tips and suggestions. Be warned though, the word 'Simplified' of the title, in some cases, can be extremely intricate, and thank heaven that items such as blending separate photos, using puppet warp; increasing depth of field, and simulating reflections, to give but a few examples, *have* been simplified!

Especially helpful are the author's instructions on how to use the book, and this introductory section should be thoroughly perused before digging into the rest of the book's fascinating contents, since, amongst other useful information, she presents the key to her colour codes, which mark the levels of difficulty for individual tasks. Her first chapter, on adapting Photoshop to one's particular needs is especially helpful in getting started. Other chapters discuss layers and masks; straightening, cropping, and resizing; retouching portraits; enhancing colours, tone; sharpness; digital special effects; designing with text effects; creating digital artwork from photographs; making images look professional; and, finally, a chapter on plug-ins. The book contains a thorough index as well as a table of contents. In 117 lessons, Ms Kent presents something useful for everyone.

The "Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks" of Photoshop CS6 certainly let me know not only how much I still have to learn, but also how much fun I am going to have in the process of learning.

Highly recommended!

Reviewed for Vine; Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow clear steps, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Pamela Preller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
This is the best of the three books I bought to learn Photoshop CS6 as it clearly describes the steps for each process and numbers each step on the screen diagrams which is a big help. I found they don't miss out on even the smallest detail and while it would work well for beginners, it assumes a reasonable knowledge of the basics. The 100 processes illustrated take the reader through the most useful and popular aspects of Photoshop and clearly illustrate the differences between CS6 and CS5, and there are quite a few. Plus of course showing you the new and fabulously exciting additions to CS6. As a quick, easy to follow, thorough guide, this one is hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Novice, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Will (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
I,ve worked with Photoshop CS5 for a couple of years, it was no surprise when I upgraded to CS6. Having watched numerous "Tutorials" I decided to buy "Top 100 Tips and Tricks" I have not been disappointed !!. This book is superbly well written, clear and concise and straight to the point, but without all the usual "Jargon" that simply leaves evan more confusion. This book is ideal if you need a foundation to Photoshop CS6, fankly, I would,nt be without it. Probably the best book I,ve reviewed. A pleasure to delve into. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Photoshop fans!, 8 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
I have a basic knowledge of Photoshop and thought this book would help me advance. It has clear concise information supported by excellent screen shots and a rated guide to the expertise needed for each task. It arrived well within the estimated delivery date and is excellent value for money. A must for anyone who is a fan of photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really clear instructions, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. P. Fox "Peter" (Stevenage) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
Having moved through the CS packages 4-5-6, I found book really easy to follow, giving clear guidance and some useful tips that I had not seen before. A useful guide to CS6 for the non professional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for beginners or experts, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
I have been using Photoshop for many years. I needed a new book to give me some extra tips or 'simplified' ways of doing tasks. This book fits that gap I needed filling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop CS6, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
I chose 5 stars because it is an excellent publication.
Being born BC before computers I find some articles are very easy to understand others are most complicated.
I will recommend it to younger friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
Good book for simplifying certain tasks in Adobe Photoshop. To the point and laid out to follow easy. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Photoshop CS6, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
There is a good variety of tips and tricks to try and they are explained in 'simple' terms so very easy to follow
and it shows you every step in diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit americanised but good, 13 April 2013
By 
P. Greasby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks) (Paperback)
I like this kind of presentation of book. It focuses on end results and not specific tools. I think this is a great way to learn without having to first become an expert with every feature of the software. The presentation of the book is very americanised. There is an absolute overdose of colour. It's not an issue really but I personally prefer more subtle use. You can kind of get the impression of what to expect from the front cover. It's a good book though and I like the way they split it into sections making each a self contained lesson. Good price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop CS6 Top 100 Simplified Tips and Tricks (Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews