Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars90
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 October 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
.

The Nikon D3300 DSLR is a feature rich entry level DSLR. It has a number auto modes, semi auto and creative modes as well as full manual. It is also very at capable at taking HD quality video.

I needed a text that would help a complete novice and enable the user to decipher this, at times complex camera, and to achieve the best possible results - with what is very is a capable DSLR. This book has a lot to offer. I must say I was not disappointed. It does not assume you know anything about DSLR format of camera, but is also not patronising in its delivery. The Nikon D3300 for Dummies is well explained with photograph examples, illustrations and has very well written text, all which is done in a reader friendly manner. The full-colour book format is really helpful here. The Dummies guide walks you through, using a gradually methodology through the fundamentals, and gets you started off on the right foot. The Nikon D3300 offers full control over exposure settings, but it also includes presets and auto mode options, and it is very useful to know when these are the most appropriate to be used.

This is good book that really helps the user get the best possible out of the Nikon D3300 DSLR. This is the first time I have referred to one of these Dummies guides for cameras - but if ever I get another DSLR or SLR for that matter - I am certainly getting one of these editions to go with it.

.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 November 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you are new to digital photography and need a bit of guidance about how to use all of the functions on your D3300, this is a great place to start and is really well explained. I'm a fairly experienced amateur photographer, but learnt some really hand things from this book that I did not know about.

It is all in colour too so the example pictures that it uses throughout the book make sense and you can see what the author is trying to explain clearly.

It is split into easy to understand chapters moving from explaining the automatic settings first then moving to the manual settings where it can get a bit more complicated.

All in all though, a really easy to understand book that i'm sure would be great for anyone new to photography.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Having purchased a D3300 and a second lens equivalent to the things I was using 40 years ago I realised I had no hope of even starting to get to grips with this camera without a lot of help. Written in the style of all the For Dummies books I already own, this text leads you through the intricacies of set up and leads on to actually unleashing the power of it.
It'll take me a while to get into the nitty gritty but also shows how to get the most of the presets. Haven't finished reading it yet and guess I never will but it seems like a great reference book to me.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a good guide to the D3300 and the modern Nikon system in general. Much of the info is applicable to any modern Nikon camera, particularly the interface/menu. There is also much general photography advice, which always clarifies what exactly you are doing and just as importantly, WHY you are doing it. As usual for Dummies it has good layout and clear text, and a consistent step-by-step approach throughout. You always know what you are doing and why. At £18 it might seem expensive, but the amount of time it will save you in looking through the manual (or online) for answers is probably worth the cost to most users.

This book does duplicate quite a lot of what is in the manual, but it is certainly more readable and easier to understand.

Not an essential - but certainly very useful - guide to the D3300.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Very useful book for a complicated camera. Colourful diagrams and not technically overwhelming. Has stuff in it which can be downloaded which is useful for putting in the camera case for reference when using the camera. Far easier to access than the Nikon info. sent with the camera.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 December 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I prefer this edition because it's not the usual cheap looking Dummies book. This one uses high quality smooth white paper with colour printing used extensively throughout its 300 pages. I enjoyed the movie recording tips and also a section on how to prepare pictures for online sharing. The book is very well put together. Part II, "Taking Creative Control" goes into great detail regarding exposure, shutter speeds and balancing the two.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Very useful. Fab to have the kindle edition as I can take it with me. The camera is basically a computer, and although the onboard help is good, I frequently find myself referring to this manual. It shows far more than the supplied manual. (Also, buy the remote control for the camera!!!)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The author does a good job of introducing all the camera functions to a novice user. Their are important pitfalls you need to know about using the D3300 which not all other guides cover.

Where I feel the book lets the reader down is by being too complete early on. The delays reading from what they most want to be doing which is taking pictures. The publishers claim that you will be taking pictures in no time, and I don't think that this book quite fulfills that claim.

Otherwise this is a great book which should satisfy the needs of anyone new to using DSLR cameras. More experienced users might like the "D3300 Digital Field Guide" which compliments this book well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have a family member who has just purchased a Nikon D3300 and has let me use it for this review. I was not shown how to operate this camera.
On first looking a Nikon D3300 is a DSLR with loads of capacity.. but also an entry level module.
There is the standard photograph mode as would expect, video, automatic, creative and so on. The video is HD quality. There is a fairly good set of instructions, but this fo Dummies Book does help grealty in getting to grip with what is a very complexe camera for a new user. Like all with Dummies books with volume assumes no prior knowledge, the book is written in a relaxed and friendly way - making full use of illustrations, pictures and a good easy to read type face.

The book is in full colour which is so helpful. Not a book to read through but one to dip into if there is a problem. I really found the section "Help! My camera won't take a picture" when first trying to get this camera to work. A quick read and everything fell into place, with taking that picture easy - in the end.

I needed a text that would help a complete novice and enable the user to decipher this, at times complex camera, and to achieve the best possible results - with what is very is a capable DSLR. This book has a lot to offer. I must say I was not

This For Dummies Guide takes the reader though all the stages of using this camera starting with the real basics and moving up to exposure settings, auto mode and presets and auto mode options.

At 307 pages including index this is a book packed full of helpful information.
The index is good to - easy to find the sections needed.
Very pleased with this book - anyone needing wishing to use their Nikon D3300 to it's full potential would benefit from reading it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Presented well as is usual with Dummies books, but aside from bits and pieces here and there this book is generic photography stuff and not very specific to the use of the D3300.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)