Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for someone who knows little or nothing about dSLRs
Having purchased a D3300 and a second lens equivalent to the things I was using 40 years ago I realised I had no hope of even starting to get to grips with this camera without a lot of help. Written in the style of all the For Dummies books I already own, this text leads you through the intricacies of set up and leads on to actually unleashing the power of it.
It'll...
Published 4 months ago by Peter Wilkinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Guide
This is a good guide to the D3300 and the modern Nikon system in general. Much of the info is applicable to any modern Nikon camera, particularly the interface/menu. There is also much general photography advice, which always clarifies what exactly you are doing and just as importantly, WHY you are doing it. As usual for Dummies it has good layout and clear text, and a...
Published 4 days ago by M. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for someone who knows little or nothing about dSLRs, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having purchased a D3300 and a second lens equivalent to the things I was using 40 years ago I realised I had no hope of even starting to get to grips with this camera without a lot of help. Written in the style of all the For Dummies books I already own, this text leads you through the intricacies of set up and leads on to actually unleashing the power of it.
It'll take me a while to get into the nitty gritty but also shows how to get the most of the presets. Haven't finished reading it yet and guess I never will but it seems like a great reference book to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Nikon DSLR users, particularly beginners, 17 Sep 2014
By 
CMB (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Really impressed with this book. Although I've used Nikon DSLRs for years, I had not got to grips with fill-in flash, i.e. mixing ambient (daylight, roomlight) with a little flash to bring out the subject from the background. So that was my test of this book, and it delivered so clearly and well - complete with colour photos showing the effect with and without this technique.

The book starts from the real beginnings - how to put the camera together when you get it (lens separate from body), insert the battery and memory card. It gives a thorough understanding of apertures (F numbers), shutter speeds, ISO and their interplay. You need to understand these if you're going to get away from sticking to AUTO.

If anything's lacking, it's how to develop an eye for good pictures - but that's asking a lot from a book! The photos however, are rather good, and illustrate the techniques being addressed, with both with and without photos for comparison. The "without" photos are often not bad at all, and so trains the eye to the improvement in the "with" photos.

If you've got an older Nikon DSLR (having a D40 and D3200), almost all of this book still applies. The changes tend to be incremental (faster, small new features) rather than radical, so the book is still usable with my D40!

Don't be put off by the "for dummies" in the title - this is one of the least patronising of the dummies series, and is lacking those awful cartoons, jokes and childish humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to the Nikon D3300, 7 Sep 2014
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nikon D3300 for Dummies (For Dummies (Lifestyles Paperback)) Paperback – 11 Jul 2014
I own a lot of Nikon kit including the D3300, all 4 of us herein the family shoot with Nikon cameras. The D3300 is a new acquisition as a backup body but it is a very capable camera in its own right.

The book.
-------------
This book is aimed at people with the Nikon D3300 DSLR. Although this is Nikons entry level DSLR it is still packed with feature. It has many auto modes, semi auto and creative modes as well as full manual. It is also capable of taking video at HD quality. The book is well illustrated with photo examples and is very well written.

Who is the book for ?
----------------------------
This book is obviously for people with the Nikon D3300 or similar models but it also contains a wealth of information about general photography. It even delves into picture editing and storage. The information is supported by lots of excellent colour pictures and how to sections so that you can recall camera setting etc.

The Nikon guide mode is explained very well (this is a visual system for seeing what settings you have and guides on how best to use the various settings). In the text basic photographic concepts are presented in an easy to understand way. Things like back lighting, focus points, colour settings, camera modes and the Nikon way of doing things are well documented in an easy to follow and apply way.

Overall.
----------
Julie Adair King has done a great job in demystifying this camera and has produced a great user guide that expands into an easy to follow read on how to take photographs with this capable DSLR. This is a much better way to learn than the Nikon instruction booklet.
This book comes very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Nikon D3300 for Dummies is well explained, 2 Oct 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Nikon D3300 DSLR is a feature rich entry level DSLR. It has a number auto modes, semi auto and creative modes as well as full manual. It is also very at capable at taking HD quality video.

I needed a text that would help a complete novice and enable the user to decipher this, at times complex camera, and to achieve the best possible results - with what is very is a capable DSLR. This book has a lot to offer. I must say I was not disappointed. It does not assume you know anything about DSLR format of camera, but is also not patronising in its delivery. The Nikon D3300 for Dummies is well explained with photograph examples, illustrations and has very well written text, all which is done in a reader friendly manner. The full-colour book format is really helpful here. The Dummies guide walks you through, using a gradually methodology through the fundamentals, and gets you started off on the right foot. The Nikon D3300 offers full control over exposure settings, but it also includes presets and auto mode options, and it is very useful to know when these are the most appropriate to be used.

This is good book that really helps the user get the best possible out of the Nikon D3300 DSLR. This is the first time I have referred to one of these Dummies guides for cameras - but if ever I get another DSLR or SLR for that matter - I am certainly getting one of these editions to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb companion for the D3300 but of benefit to owners of other Nikon's too., 26 Sep 2014
By 
s "s" (north west) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In my youth,i was a keen photographer but when marriage,babies and a mortgage came along,my expensive hobby had to go.Now middle-aged,i'm trying to get back into photography and purchased a Nikon P90.Though around 4 years old,a lot of the instruction and guidance found in this book is still valuable.The menus are the similar and everything is explained clearly.This book also offers guidance on how to take better photographs.I intend to upgrade my camera but can't decide which Nikon to buy but whatever choice i make,i know this book will still be useful.The book isn't comprehensive,in that,it covers everything about the D3300 but not the accessories.At first,i considered this disappointing but because of the huge range of Nikon & 3rd party items that can be added to the camera,i fully understand the omission.The book is less than 300 pages and that's still an awful lot of information to take on board.The Author has written many books on photography and it shows.Obviously very knowledgable about cameras and photography,she conveys the information in a very clear and concise way that is extremely helpful.Nikon could do worse than put a copy of this book into the box of every D3300 it sells.It really is that good.Very highly recommended at a great price imho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars D3300 Nikon rocket ship manual, 13 Oct 2014
By 
TheRedBlueBlur (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like most of the "for Dummies" titles, this is an well illustrated and comprehensive guide, in this case for the Nikon D3300, I have a D3100, but it's pretty much the same for the D3100 as it is for the D3300.

If you're unfamiliar with your new Nikon D3300 or similar model then it would be difficult to find a better guide than this for the camera. It covers just about everything you'll need to know and should eventually encourage you to turn off the auto settings and take even more control with the slightly more adventurous manual settings.

There's a lot in this book, so it'll take a little patience to work through, but the format begins and works up from basics to advanced controls and is easy to navigate and dip into when necessary.

If you've just bought a D3300 and are baffled by the rocket ship quantity of controls and settings, or are buying one for someone who wants to get the most out of the camera, then this would be an excellent accompaniment.

My only slight criticism is that some of the basics could be simplified even further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book to get you up and going, 10 Sep 2014
By 
John Nunn (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although I have the older D3200, this book is still 95% relevant. With abundant colour pictures, it gets you up and running from the beginning, rather than you having to wade through pages of labelled pictures. There are many good tips (using flash outdoors to increase colour toning is one I haven't tried. I've also reviewed the field guide, which although is less of a pick up your camera and have a go book, has more practical tips on picking different lenses and what to do if you are specialising in a particular type of photography, such as macro or wildlife shots. I'm intending to use the tow books together, but this is my take with me and have a go book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Dummies, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Colbert (Blackburn, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is rather disparaging saying "for Dummies ". This should read " to help you with your shots"

The book is very good in the way it sets out all the different hints and tricks to enable you to get the best shots.

The end result is everything. This book will help everyone, from the professional to the amateur gain the best results.

It is easy to read and understand, using good english, with some pictures to help.

This book is fantastic for users of the Nikon D3300. I believe it will help users of other brands of cameras in a similar price range.

I like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction, 22 Oct 2014
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a family member who has just purchased a Nikon D3300 and has let me use it for this review. I was not shown how to operate this camera.
On first looking a Nikon D3300 is a DSLR with loads of capacity.. but also an entry level module.
There is the standard photograph mode as would expect, video, automatic, creative and so on. The video is HD quality. There is a fairly good set of instructions, but this fo Dummies Book does help grealty in getting to grip with what is a very complexe camera for a new user. Like all with Dummies books with volume assumes no prior knowledge, the book is written in a relaxed and friendly way - making full use of illustrations, pictures and a good easy to read type face.

The book is in full colour which is so helpful. Not a book to read through but one to dip into if there is a problem. I really found the section "Help! My camera won't take a picture" when first trying to get this camera to work. A quick read and everything fell into place, with taking that picture easy - in the end.

I needed a text that would help a complete novice and enable the user to decipher this, at times complex camera, and to achieve the best possible results - with what is very is a capable DSLR. This book has a lot to offer. I must say I was not

This For Dummies Guide takes the reader though all the stages of using this camera starting with the real basics and moving up to exposure settings, auto mode and presets and auto mode options.

At 307 pages including index this is a book packed full of helpful information.
The index is good to - easy to find the sections needed.
Very pleased with this book - anyone needing wishing to use their Nikon D3300 to it's full potential would benefit from reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take your first steps to becoming a real sharp shooter!, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Dave C "Condyk" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nikon D3300 for Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've owned many DSLR bodies over the years and have developed an excellent sense of what the essential technical features are that people need to understand to get the absolute best from their investment. I don't own the D3300, I actually own a couple of pro Nikon bodies, tho' a little older than this recent introduction. However, I can still tell a valuable book when I read it as the techniques of taking a great photo don't change that much.

First off, this book is written in an easy to follow style that, with minimal work, even the most novice user will quickly get to grips with. It covers all the basics really well: aperture, ISO, all the shooting modes to get you beyond full-auto, white-balance, shutter speed, and so on. Secondly, it also has plenty of content and tips such that even an experienced amateur like me will find it interesting. For example, flash has always been a 'I don't really care' subject, like for many people, especially those who mainly shoot outdoors, but this book actually kind excites me with the possibilities and scolds me with how much I've ignored the many advanced features my bodies have related to the topic.

What I got from this book tho' is an interest in acquiring a D3300. The build quality just won't be the same as my pro bodies, but for day to day super-convenient carry around, in a small form factor, I am certain that the results will be great.

Truth is, I got quite a bit from this book. As someone else mentioned in their review, the book won't give you the eye for a fantastic picture, but if you have the patience and willingness to go out and shoot, then allied to the kind of technical understanding this book will give you, if you study it well and experiment, then you could be taking your first steps to becoming a real sharp shooter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D3300 for Dummies
Nikon D3300 for Dummies by Julie Adair King (Paperback - 11 July 2014)
£17.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews