Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely helpful to novice Android developer
This book has helped me to move on in leaps and bounds in terms of my understanding of Android development. For me learning by example is a great approach and this is what this book provides. Hopefully the author will write more.
Published 19 months ago by Louise Murray

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
After some months selfstudying Android development, I expected this book to have some really useful nice receipes. It has not.
Published 11 months ago by Knut Arne Nygård


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely helpful to novice Android developer, 29 April 2013
By 
Louise Murray (Keerbergen, Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has helped me to move on in leaps and bounds in terms of my understanding of Android development. For me learning by example is a great approach and this is what this book provides. Hopefully the author will write more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrox are by far the best, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Codemaster (Watford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Android Application Development Cookbook: 93 Recipes for Building Winning Apps (Paperback)
As an experience iPhone developer who is looking to expand into the Android market I have found this book's approach to a different technology an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Code work as it is written!!!, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Android Application Development Cookbook: 93 Recipes for Building Winning Apps (Paperback)
I love this book. I have tried most of the codes in the book and they WORK! There is a good balance between explanation and code. The author goes straight to the point. The topics covered are very broad however I felt programing background activities was not really dealth with properly. There is no perfect book but this is an amazing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick code reference, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Android Application Development Cookbook: 93 Recipes for Building Winning Apps (Paperback)
Assuming you already know the basics of Android this is a brilliant book to use as reference. Forgot how to send an intent to another activity, or how to give the user the option to choose which activity they want to use to handle your intent; just look for the relevant "recipe" in the book and it has several code examples and explains what is happening, as well at pitifuls and things to watch out for. Very valuable reference!

It is written for Jellybean, but it is still appropriate for Kitkat and Lollipop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic if your a developer learning Android, 14 Mar 2014
I buy a lot of development books and most the time never get around to reading them.

I brought this book because it cut straight to the point where you know what you want to do in another language but don't know how to do it in Android. This covers 99% of the things you need to do to build business apps.

Hope they keep updating it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One recipe saved me hours, 17 Feb 2014
By 
NOTiFY (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Android Application Development Cookbook: 93 Recipes for Building Winning Apps (Paperback)
Bought this book and instantly used three of the recipes to get my App working within a week. All the code imported into Eclipse and ran as described on both a Nexus 4 and an Amazon Kindle Fire HD with no modifications.

Originally couldn't get the Map examples from chapter 7 to work. Since I revisted the Wrox website the chapter and examples have all been updated. Excellent.

I found using the recipes as an great way to learn Android programming, far more beneficial than an Android course I went on.

Pity he couldn't have made it 99 or 100 Recipes for Building Winning Apps. 93 sounds a bit lame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty easy to read and follow if you are already ..., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Android Application Development Cookbook: 93 Recipes for Building Winning Apps (Paperback)
Pretty easy to read and follow if you are already familiar with the basics of Android coding.I am pretty pleased the way author explained his codes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Android Application Development Cookbook: 93 Recipes for Building Winning Apps (Paperback)
After some months selfstudying Android development, I expected this book to have some really useful nice receipes. It has not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Android Application Development Cookbook: 93 Recipes for Building Winning Apps
£18.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews