Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bakers encyclopedia!
Excellent book for every baker! For amateurs and for professionals as well. Maybe a bit difficult to understand when reading for the first time especially if English is not your first language. If you have passion for bread this is the book! You don't just follow a recipe but you also learn why you are doing every step, from mixing to cooling and also how every ingredient...
Published 18 months ago by Doros Tsissios

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Measurements
No metric measurements! All authors who publish internationally should use the measurement system the great majority of the world uses .. METRIC
Published 14 months ago by Sondra Hodgkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bakers encyclopedia!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
Excellent book for every baker! For amateurs and for professionals as well. Maybe a bit difficult to understand when reading for the first time especially if English is not your first language. If you have passion for bread this is the book! You don't just follow a recipe but you also learn why you are doing every step, from mixing to cooling and also how every ingredient affects the final product.
If you are not interested in all these details and you just want a simple book with recipes then buy some other book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever book on Bread Making, 20 Sept. 2013
By 
John W Pennell (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
In my review of the first edition of this book I wrote
_____________________

"Having watched some videos of this master baker working on YouTube I had to buy this book cos this chap has a real knack for making really good bread.

"A comment on one of his videos said "He makes it seem so easy. With a few simple folds he shapes that mound of dough into almost a pillow."

"This book tells you exactly how to do as he does and to produce the most wonderful bread with a minimum of effort. Watch his videos, read the book and you too will produce magnificent bread both full of flavour, with a good crumb and which keeps.

"I have learned so much from this book that I simply have to recommend it to anyone who is serious about bread making - for those with a bread maker it's totally useless because you simply can't make really tasty bread in a bread maker. You need to use sourdough or - as I do - a pre-ferment which allows the full flavour to develop.

Why the question mark in the title? Well - there is a new edition which I have just ordered. I expect/hope that will be even better."
_________________________

This is undoubtedly better than the first edition.and so the question mark in the title is removed - this is the best book ever.

What's changed ? Clearer layout, better tables, more on folding (including an easier way), a section on hand kneading (including a no knead technique - which is the one I have been using for years), an enhanced section on pre-ferments which shows you how to bring out the flavour of the bread, but most importantly lots of new recipes - mostly using Brioche dough - almost a cake section but much better. A great book just got better and I am greatly looking forward to making the recipe used in the Swiss Alps where they had no yeast - just waiting to be rich enough to buy all those raisins!

In summary : no serious home or commercial baker should be without this book

Later Edit: The Brioche recipe is to die for (actually, with the butter in it you probably will!) Well worth trying to follow this exactly. I tend to to do all bakes using a whole 1.5 Kg bag (I hate weighing flour as I make such a mess!) and here is the recipe scaled for this:

1500 gms Strong White Flour
145 gms Water
750 gms eggs
35 gms salt
75 gms fresh yeast (37 gms dried)
750 gms unsalted butter
180 gms sugar

For eggs you will need 13 (appropriately a bakers dozen!) : if it is not exact consider the water and the eggs together so make up to 895 gms using water and whisk. At this stage I departed from the book and made a sponge (a pre-ferment) using half the flour, all the beaten eggs and water, and all of the yeast before adding the rest of the ingredients after about 4 hours of fermentation - the butter was very soft and I squidged it in with my fingers. Then used the no knead technique described in the book to complete it - with a couple of 'Hamelman' folds along the way.

On removing the dough from the fridge the next day (stored in a rectangular 6 litre plastic click on lid box) I had great fun making plaited rolls and other plaits - all following the very clear instructions in the book - a real wow when they came out of the oven in overall appearance, colour, texture and taste and all thanks to this book. And No! I didn't eat it all in one go. Most of it went in the freezer and it just needs a quick refresh in the oven to return it new.

This edition has a very good section on home baking with tips you just don't see in other books. For example: why use unsalted butter when you are already adding salt? Answer - unsalted butter doesn't keep so well and therefore has to be fresh, whereas salted butter may disguise a rancid taste which will flow through to the bread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
Gives a terrific insight into bread baking with many techniques described in detail. Great for professionals and home bakers alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Game Changer, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
S. Bell (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
I have been baking at home for a number of years.
Like another reviewer here I was impressed by a series of YouTube videos showing Hamelman at work so I had to get his book.
It is no exaggeration to say it has had the greatest influence on my ability to produce consistently good bread.
It is not aimed at the beginner, so previous experience in the recognition and handling of good dough is important, but Hamelman’s explanation of every stage of the baking process influencing all succeeding stages was a revelation to me. His text is clear, you can refer to those YouTube videos if his diagrams don’t do it for you, there are lots of recipes covering a wide variety of breads.
Yes, Hamelman uses quaint imperial measurements, but metric quantities are given. (Sadly, temperatures are only in Fahrenheit.) Even so, I have no hesitation in rating this book five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good reference and recipe book for enthusiastic bread bakers, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book giving in depth information on the techniques and role of ingredients used in bread making, plus many inspirational bread recipes of all types - sourdough, regular yeast breads, decorative breads, brioches, bagels, breadsticks, etc.... the list goes on. There are diagrams to give guidance on folding, shaping, scoring breads etc.. and some colour photos of breads to inspire further. The recipes (in lbs/oz and also grams) are given in quantities for those baking in very large batches, and also quantities for the home baker only wanting to produce a couple of loaves. A very good reference/recipe book for enthusiastic bread bakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bread makers bible, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
Very large and comprehensive book on baking bread, extremely detailed on process, technique, the science behind bread and a great many recipes.

Not a simple book, and not a book if you just want recipes, this is an instructional volume that'll help you understand why the ingredients and methods are important and the effects they'll have on the final bake.

I'm not sure I'll ever get to make every bread listed here, but I'm enjoying the journey this book presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have reference - bread bible!, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
Excellent, classic baker's manual, everything you ever needed to know...
Note that measurements for home baking are given in imperial (pounds & ounces) and cups, not metric.
Would definitely recommend, particularly for gaining understanding of how bread works, how to knead, fold, shape etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
Really good book, excellent help and advice, back to basics and more. Many many recipes to enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Expert and solid., 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
All bread bakers have their choice of 'bible', this (had I kept it), would be something like a New Testament for me. For now, it's not the time for a new baking book, but this is top of my list when energy for refreshing my daily staple comes calling.

An alarmingly fabulous find. Nothing fashionable about this, a really solid book full of technique and instruction, that would be intimidating for a newbie. Includes recipes scaled to enterprise production too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars indispensable for anyone baking seriously - or leisurely, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrations, clear instructions and a wealth of information and details on baking, from why and how things happen, to suggestions stemming from years of love and experience in baking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes
Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes by Jeffrey Hamelman (Hardcover - 13 Aug. 2013)
£30.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews