Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most comprehensive coverage of Photoshop between two covers
This is a long-established classic, now updated for the recent release of CS6. Very literally the 'bible' in its very nearly complete coverage of all the features of Photoshop, it explores and explains the tools, settings and options of the program, probably far more extensively than any single user will ever need.

Photoshop is one of those programs where the...
Published on 14 Aug. 2012 by Silver Surfer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay
the book has some good attributes and has a link up with a website, but it needs to be read quite thoroughly, but its lack of diagrams and does let it down
Published on 27 Jan. 2013 by Mr. Barry Whyte


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most comprehensive coverage of Photoshop between two covers, 14 Aug. 2012
By 
Silver Surfer (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible (Paperback)
This is a long-established classic, now updated for the recent release of CS6. Very literally the 'bible' in its very nearly complete coverage of all the features of Photoshop, it explores and explains the tools, settings and options of the program, probably far more extensively than any single user will ever need.

Photoshop is one of those programs where the experts may use 10-20% of its many features, the experienced users about 10% and the less experienced much less. Which features are used rather depends upon its various users; photographers will mostly use one group of features, designers another and those working with web sites yet another and they will still not cover everything between them.

This is a valuable resource for all Photoshop users, whatever field or fields they may work within. There may be other books that better or more completely cover a specific use of the software, photography would be one example, but this is far more comprehensive than they will be. If, for some reason, you needed to use it in some other way a more limited book may be of little use; this probably will provide the answer.

The best all-rounder on Photoshop that I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive book, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Pamela Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible (Paperback)
Well, it certainly is a Bible! It also includes the video editing section, which most tutorials don't. It's a little vague as to which part of the video editing section relates to the standard version or the extended version. However, it's still a very good purchase.

Only negative I can point out, is that the examples are not in colour. You have to download the pictures from the Website or look at the examples on-line. This can be a little inconvenient if you are not logged in to their Website when reading the book. Best thing is to download all the examples and then you'll have everything to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 15 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible (Paperback)
I have many Photoshop books from CS3 up to CS5 in many forms some simple some not so simple, but this one tops them all it's not a 'look and learn' type reference, the text has to be read along with the worked examples but it is very thorough. Of course there are zillions of tutorials on video web sites but you don't get thumping music tracks distracting you with this book? fantastic value. I spent 3 years at UNI using Photoshop as part of an Architectural Design Course, it came know where near what is inside this book in terms of information and teaching, even my final year! If you are serious about Photoshop in any form, then this book is a must have. One thing I would add is that the tutorials are not in colour and there is no CD as with other books but you can down load the tutorials from the Authors website, there is also a 12 page colour reference section within the book for comparison. Thank you once again Amazon for superb delivery and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Two and Pay for Two, 17 Sept. 2012
By 
G.W.P. "woodpecker" (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible (Paperback)
I started "Shopping" as an hobby seven or eight years ago with Elements 6 and have slowly progressed through the series to my latest version - CS6 Extended. My main tutorial source has always been "The Missing Manual" title, usually backed up with a cheaper supplementary volume. These extras were looked at once or twice and then forgotten. This time, after reading all the reviews, I opted for the "Bible" to be my second source. To date, I have not opened my "Photoshop CS 6" manual as the "Bible" is so well and clearly written. However, based on my past knowledge and experience of Lesa Snider's work I feel that a fair critical comparison would be 50.5/49.5% in favour of the "Bible"; both are invaluable works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to master Photoshop, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible (Paperback)
This book deserves the 5 star rating and nothing less. In its easy to follow format everything is in easy to follow steps. If you want to master Photoshop this is the book for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay, 27 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. Barry Whyte (aberlour, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible (Paperback)
the book has some good attributes and has a link up with a website, but it needs to be read quite thoroughly, but its lack of diagrams and does let it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive desktop backup for when using photoshop,, 12 July 2014
By 
C. Barrass "krisilda" (Cardigan, South West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible (Paperback)
Comprehensive desktop backup for when using photoshop, clear and well laid out instructions but overall let down by only B&W illustrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not only Photoshop, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where I really find the value in this book is extensive introduction to not only Photoshop, but also the underlying principles of editing.

Very thourough, I still didnt read all, and it will take a lot of time before I do, but whatever I found was extremely useful and clear.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I knew quite a lot about PS CS6 untill I read this book, Not only a great book to learn from but also a great tool to have next to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible (Paperback)
i have only had a small chance to brouse through this book as i then went abroad for 10 days but it looks like it will be comming off the bookshelf a lot, it has a bucket load of stuff in it to get you going and if you need to know more then just google what you want to know more about and find either vids or tutorials online but as thick as the book is with all its pages and a great help you will still need to practice out what you are doing many times until you can remember what a tool does and even then thats only the tip off the iceberg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible
Adobe Photoshop CS6 Bible by DaNae Dayley (Paperback - 4 May 2012)
£25.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews