Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can manage thanks
Those who have benefited from the capitalist explosion have found like King Midas an abundance of dreams fulfilled, but a nagging problem remains, firslty these volk need to be worshipped as having status, secondly they need to inhabit environments where they are reminded of their status.

This book unpicks the relentless will to power, by returning back to "The...
Published on 4 Aug. 2012 by Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A book that matters
I gave 'What Matters Now' to my son starting our in his own business and he has added the wealth of information and suggestions in this book to his dossier of advice as he battles with that 'ferocious competition' out there in the real world. Gary Hamel has contributed his expertise to the multitude of books encouraging and advising people in the workplace on how to deal...
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by J. Scott-mandeville


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Management matters., 20 Jun. 2012
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Whilst this book would be a must-read for any managers, I would hesitate to recommend it to those with less experience because there is a lot of management jargon, and it's not a light read. I found it positive and inspiring though, and despite the inclusion of jargon, it was definitely clear and readable from this perspective.

In the current economic climate, I would say that this book is an invaluable resource to business leaders and managers because it is all about staying not only current but ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Leadership Blueprint, 7 April 2012
By 
Fabrizio Poli "Fabrizio Poli" (Chorley,Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Gary Hamel offers a great leadership blueprint in this book: Values, Innovation, Adaptability, Passion & Ideology. Focusing on these five issues offers a 21st century holistic approach to management. The insights in this book will help you & your team get the edge and stay ahead of the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and interesting, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
FLB (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I have read business books in the past I have struggled to complete some of them and have not completed others....this has been due to the book failing to hold my interest till the end, but 'What Matters Now' was a lot better written than many of the other books on the subject that I have read.

A problem that I find with business books in general is that they are often aimed at trading companies and are heavily focussed on making money. As a Public Sector worker the tools available to managers are different in many aspects as are our motivators to perform and that is something not often touched upon in business books. I did find this book interesting and it had philosophies that could translate into the PS workplace.

The author is a management consultant with a lot of experience in the field and I think that shows throughout, he writes like he knows what he is talking about and not just from an educational point of view; in other words he has 'lived' this field not just studied it and I find that credibility throughout the book.

The one area that I thought was lacking was actual case studies about companies that he has worked with - I always like case studies or 'before and afters' because I find I remember them long after I remember principles and theories and whilst Gary talks about Apple, he doesn't go on to present further studies - for me, if he had done that I would have given this book 5*.

All in all a good read, will apply to most companies / sectors, including those like mine in the public sector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
one of the most thought provoking books on business I've read in ages, a must read for every CEO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, thought-provoking book on the future of management and business, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Dr. Rob Yeung "www.twitter.com/robyeung" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read a lot of business and management books and often find that many are full of hype and overblown claims.

Hamel's book stands out because he has clearly done his research, having visited many organisations and spent time with them to understand how they operate. Having done this research, Hamel is well-placed to argue what high-performing organisations do differently.

Essentially, Hamel argues that organisations:
- would benefit from truly inspiring their employees and unleashing their passion (as opposed to merely paying lip service to the idea, which is what the majority of organisations do)
- give employees greater responsibility and accountability, e.g. by asking them to work in smaller autonomous teams rather than massive departments or divisions directed by old-fashioned command-and-control styles of management
- encourage employees to focus on doing the right thing for the long-term, i.e. behave more ethically and with a set of values in mind rather than merely chasing profit
- need to innovate more rather than doing more of the same
- need to be more adaptable rather than following corporate strategies that have been set out years in advance

I was really impressed by some of his case studies. The book has all of the rigour of a Harvard Business Review case study, but written in plainer, easier-to-read English.

I'd argue that the book maps nicely on to one of my own books, E is for Exceptional: The New Science of Success. Hamel covers a different topic in each chapter, and I'd argue that each one links to one of the concepts I covered in E is for Exceptional:

Innovation (in Hamel's book) = Awe (in mine)
Values = Citizenship
Passion = Authenticity
Ideology = Vision
Adaptability = Daring

Certainly, if you happened to have read my book, you may enjoy this one.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would definitely give it 6 stars!, 13 Jun. 2012
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read this book about three times now and have re-read whole chapters. This book is unbelievably brilliant. I was wondered why some companies were going under while others were thriving. This book explains why, in a succinct manner. It pivots around five significant issues: Values, Innovation, Adaptability, Passion, and Ideology.

Gary argues that values matters now than ever, that if you are entrusted with managing resources, you need to be a responsible steward. He gives an example of predatory bankers who have consistently ruined the economy. On Innovation, he states that we owe everything to innovation and looks at why some companies have come from behind to overtake incumbents. He looks at the success of Apple, the world's most valuable company and why Apple's iTunes is a huge success in music sales; overtook Nokia in the Smartphone race when Nokia was a forerunner in that area.
You will find advice on how to make your company more adaptable, again with a lot of research-backed examples of companies that failed to adapt and became irrelevant. You will see examples of companies that were able to redefine their core businesses, ushering in new avenues for growth. This book is a must read for business leaders.

Passion matters now than ever. You will enjoy the pyramid of human capabilities at work, 1.Obedience 2.Diligence 3. Expertise | 4.Initietive 5.Creativity 6.Passion. As you can see passion is on top and like the 5 and 4 cannot be purchased like you can buy the lower three. You will enjoy and learn a lot from this chapter, Gary nailed it!

What about Ideology? Well this will blow your mind, here he calls for a different management ideology, one that that centres on freedom and self-determination. You will find case studies where this has been done. You will read about W.L. Gore & Associates where they are managing without Hierarchy, employees pretty much decide what they want to work on and are held to their promise to deliver. You will also meet Morning Star, where they practice self-management (avoiding what Gary calls 'Management Tax'). Both companies are very profitable so it will be up to you if that can be implemented to some extent. The few negatives of these differently managed companies have also been explored, so a balance has been achieved.

I ask you to read this book, I am sure you will find it indispensable. While you are at it go for two other brilliant books Everything You Know About Business is Wrong: How to Unstick Your Thinking and Upgrade Your Rules of Thumb
Flawless Consulting: A Guide to Getting Your Expertise Used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sept. 2014
By 
Rui Alexandre M. Leao "Rui Lećo" (Lisboa, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
Great book, excelent reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book !, 7 April 2012
By 
Morten K. Kristensen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
This book should be mandatory reading for all leaders - especially those who work in service companies. Go get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 15 Jun. 2012
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was well written (often not the case for Business books!), clear, analytic and inspiring. It really does make a great case for finding new ways of management.

A have read a few books by this author before and he is good writer and the books are very motivational as you read them but I did think that this was a little lacking. There could have been more real world examples and more advice on how to exactly execute the behaviours that he recommends.

This was decent but maybe a little too `utopian' It is a lot easier telling people how things should be done than actually doing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking..., 17 April 2013
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Adding to what others have written here, this is an easy to read, thought provoking text, that motivate the reader to consider Innovation, Adaptability. Passion and Ideology.

Rather than a book to be read over a glass of wine, and then popped onto the bookshelf, this is a book to be read seriously, with an open notebook as there will be plenty of ideas to jot down for consideration and deliberation later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews