Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding resource for branding professionals
It's tough to find books about branding that aren't either (a) self-help manuals which over-state the obvious and are therefore useless if you know almost anything at all about marketing, or (b) which take the case-study approach - often involving huge, existing brands like Coca-Cola or IBM and scenarios you may never face.

This book, however, is sharp, bang up...
Published 20 months ago by N. Richardson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
When I was ordering this book, I was thinking of a book which is practical, like how to establish a brand and how to do it right, what to avoid when creating brand, in a few words, I was looking for some professional help and advices. What I get is a colorfull book with a lot of famous peoples' sentences, with a lot of definitions what is what, and with a lot of famous...
Published 8 months ago by Natalie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding resource for branding professionals, 3 April 2013
By 
N. Richardson (N Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
It's tough to find books about branding that aren't either (a) self-help manuals which over-state the obvious and are therefore useless if you know almost anything at all about marketing, or (b) which take the case-study approach - often involving huge, existing brands like Coca-Cola or IBM and scenarios you may never face.

This book, however, is sharp, bang up to date (4th edn) and ideal for anyone involved in building and articulating brands. Don't be put off by 'designing' in the title: it's ideal for copywriters (like me) and planners, for example, and as a resource or even a refresher for experienced branding professionals.

Beautifully presented, a delight to read, 300+ fascinating pages... it definitely doesn't have an academic feel, but it does takes you through processes and metrics, rather than woolly suggestions, and there's a huge amount to get your teeth into. It's the first book I've encountered which looks at brand-building as a process and a science, as something which can be followed, and it provides the tools to help you do it. If I wasn't afraid of appearing to gush, I'd say I'd stumbled on trade secrets I should be paying a fortune for under the label 'consultancy'.

Definitely recommended - although, unlike all the other books I wasted my money on, this one won't be a quick scan-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on designing (and ultimately developing) a brand - recommend for comms/marketing practitioners, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
This is, by some distance, the best book I have purchased that looks at how to design/build a brand.

I've bought quite a number of books on this topic and they all suffer from either being (a) incredibly academic (and, therefore, dull to read), (b) full of waffle and jargon, or (c) the author has a completely over-inflated opinion about him/herself and their book is largely condescending. The worst books combine all three aspects - feel free to peruse my other reviews on Amazon.

Where Designing Brand Identity stands out is that it is easy to read and follow - beginners to this topic will find it just as easy to follow as experienced practitioners. It's written in a very engaging way and is literally a step-by-step guide on designing and developing your brand. I would also say don't be out off by the 'Designing' part of the title - this book is not just for those setting out to design a new brand. Experienced brand professionals will also find a wealth of information in here, either as refresher material, or (because the book is completely up to date) for information on developing your brand in 2013 onwards - including across websites, mobile and tablet platforms.

The book is split into three parts. The first presents the fundamental concepts of branding, covering the basics from what is a brand and brand identity, to brand ideals, brand elements and brand dynamics.

The second part covers the process(es) involved in designing a brand - with a big slant on processes, it covers research, audits, competitive analysis, strategy, design, touchpoints and managing assets.

The final part of the book covers a number of case studies - from brands of all sizes - and reinforces the best practices that were covered earlier in the book.

At 300+ pages, this isn't a small book by any stretch of the imagination, however, it's easy to read and follow and you can dip in and out of it depending on where you are in your brand journey. I'd highly recommend this to anyone working in communications and marketing too - you'll learn a lot more about how a brand is developed, and that knowledge will make your campaigns all the more powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
Bought this as I am readdressing my own corporate identity and this book really help me remember all the things I had learnt at uni and promptly forgot.
Great book, great for ideas too :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As a designer I love to find new books that back up the messages ..., 26 Sep 2014
By 
nicola (Dubai, UAE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
As a designer I love to find new books that back up the messages I give to clients. In a digital age they often take for granted the value of brand for their business. This book showcases so many forumulas and examples of why investing in your brand and why going through the research before you begin to design is so important. Tonnes of quotes from industry leaders and experts and it's not too wordy with short paragraphs with each example. One of the best design books I have bought for my company in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
Great content, great design. Great examples and great chapter build up on the topic. Top notch. If you would but one book on branding, do this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book to have if you do a lot of branding, 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
This isn't a bad book as far as reference books go but as a designer looking for a good read that would take you from a branding novice to a branding guru (granted for any book that might be asking a little much) then this book falls short of the mark.

As a reference book this has everything you need in order to create some strong branding. It has some well detailed points, a nice process to follow and some great examples of people who have done it before. It is best used however, in conjunction with your own work and constantly looking back to it as you move forward with your project.

If you are looking for something you can read and learn from so that you get a better all round education about branding and can do this without having to refer to the book then this book doesn't quite do what you might want. Whilst it will certainly give you the information you need if you were a robot reading the book or have an eidetic memory, it is not formatted in such a way that you can read through it from beginning to end and absorb the information as a learning experience.

Overall though it isn't a bad book. I don't disagree with any part of it and it will come in helpful (maybe) one day when I might be creating a brand from scratch. Who knows?

To be honest I can't recommend buying this book as most of the information you can find in this book is freely available from a great deal of blogs online. However, I can recommend checking a copy out of you library (if your library actually has one), if you ever find yourself in a position to be working on branding and need a good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Interesting book, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
A great book, very informative and useful for my dissertation this year but also a great read. Lots of case studies and brand progression images to look through and also a nice book to have out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book!, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
I cant believe this is a second hand book!
It is almost a brand new book. It is worth buying this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Charles W. Wasike "knowledge" (Mombasa, Kenya. Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books i have read. Easy and informative. good for busy people who are reading for knowledge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and a great reference book, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team (Hardcover)
A well designed book, which is useful as a good reference and as a source of inspiration for some of those trickier branding programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designing Brand Identity: An Essential Guide for the Whole Branding Team
£21.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews