Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bril guide
Brilliant reference book. Due to go to Nashville and Memphis in a couple of months. Full of information, where to eat, things to see, do etc. Although booked hotel already this is featured in this Guide. Area maps are also included.
This guide will be invaluable, you can plan before you go on your journey to maximise your time.
Published 21 months ago by lyn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Guide, but...
I am just back from Memphis and Nashville, where I used this book exclusively to help guide me through the two cities (with a short trip to Clarksdale, also covered briefly but adequately in the book). I can recommend the guide. It gets the basic facts right. It does not miss anything important: at least I did not find anything major it missed in four days in both...
Published 21 months ago by Tufnell Paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Guide, but..., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I am just back from Memphis and Nashville, where I used this book exclusively to help guide me through the two cities (with a short trip to Clarksdale, also covered briefly but adequately in the book). I can recommend the guide. It gets the basic facts right. It does not miss anything important: at least I did not find anything major it missed in four days in both cities.

I usually stick to Lonely Planet guides. Two things differentiate this guide from the Lonely Planet product. The LP guides are much more prepared to take a position and make a recommendation. I found the reviews in this book a little bland. They were perfectly accurate, but cautious.

The other difference is in the detail. Many of the phone numbers in the book are simply wrong or out-of-date. Worse the maps are not entirely reliable. On one occasion we walked over a mile from our hotel, only to have to get a taxi back to a venue two blocks from where we were staying.

In summary, if you check phone numbers and locations on the internet, then you can have a good time with this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bril guide, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Brilliant reference book. Due to go to Nashville and Memphis in a couple of months. Full of information, where to eat, things to see, do etc. Although booked hotel already this is featured in this Guide. Area maps are also included.
This guide will be invaluable, you can plan before you go on your journey to maximise your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nashville and Memphis, 14 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Exellent book would recommend buying. Great for maps lots of information on transport for getting around Nashville and Memphis . Lots on restaurants and hotels also. A must have to travilling the area .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frommer's Nashvile and Memphis, 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
This product was ordered and delivered within days. I was very pleased with the speed of service. The guide itself was a decent source of research and information both before and during a recent trip to Nashville/Middle Tennessee. My only (slightly) negative comment is that I think that each city is deserving of its own guide rather than a "shared" one such as this. However, for a first time visitor, I think I would still recommend it to anyone planning on going to either city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nashville Review, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
OK but!! Could have done with some colour photographs to give you a better idea of the 2 cities. Also vey much aimed at an American audience i.e. expecting everyone to either arrive by car or hire one at the airport. Why would you hire a car just to wonder around a city, us Europeans lke to walk. So consequentially it was all geared by 'drive here drive there' so very little info on alternative ways of getting to places outside of the downtown area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Pocket Sized Travel Book, 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. D. Gibson (Wellesbourne UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent guidebok with all the necessary information in. The walk round Nashville was a good introduction to the city, and everything was clearly written and explained. One criticism-if you like glossy colour illustrated books, this isnt for you. As far as I was concerned, it was a "working document", and I was happy not to worry about dripping grits, corndog etc on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Frommer's Nashville and Memphis Guide, 20 May 2014
By 
T. Macdonald (Glasgow,Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I have just booked a holiday to New Orleans,Nashville and Memphis so I was looking for a guide book,i see the prices for this guide book are £169 and GULP £392,please tell me its a typo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent value for money very informative giving in depth details of places of interest, hotels, restaurants plus detailed maps to view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guide, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
This a must for anyone traveling to that part of Amercia. The information is great and the recommendations are even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars USA vist, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Visiting Elvis area next year. great just what i needed also ordered map of places near by which is going to be most useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides)
Frommer's Nashville & Memphis (Frommer's Complete Guides) by Linda Romine (Paperback - 26 April 2012)
Used & New from: £15.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews