Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book even for non-newbie
After playing sax as a hobby more than 8 years (I started this at the age of 45y :-)) I find this book very very insipiring and helpful, giving me good tips how and what to practise. I maybe made a mistake (see the "bomb" at page 18) when getting also a baritone sax in addition to my tenor sax 3 years ago. But a baritone sax player was really needed in our orchestra...
Published 13 months ago by Totinen Torvensoittaja

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars book OK
having tried to download the CD for over two weeks I gave up. get to 90% download then stops and you have to start again. tried over and over just the same.
wish I had got the book with the CD and not Kindle.
Published 10 months ago by G-Reed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book even for non-newbie, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone For Dummies (Paperback)
After playing sax as a hobby more than 8 years (I started this at the age of 45y :-)) I find this book very very insipiring and helpful, giving me good tips how and what to practise. I maybe made a mistake (see the "bomb" at page 18) when getting also a baritone sax in addition to my tenor sax 3 years ago. But a baritone sax player was really needed in our orchestra (there already were enough tenor sax players), and I play the tenor sax in much smaller group as the only woodwind or horn player. After these few years I still prefer my tenor sax the best of them, the closest of my heart, and now - with the help of this inspiring book - I will now start for the basics again: right playing posture, better breathing technic... After trying many mouthpieces, I must admit that the most important instrument is the player itself. I really recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book! Even at the level I am at, begining beginner it is excellent, predicting common mistakes using clear easy to understand language. Would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I certainly am a dummy., 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is great all i wanted and expect to learn a great deal from it,looking foreward to playing along with the cd rom provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising coverage!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
John Pooley (St Albans, Herts) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone For Dummies (Paperback)
A really useful purchase. It covers absolutely everything, sometimes in too much detail, but better to hvetoo much than too little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This dummie needed all the help he could get. Once again Amazon to the rescue, maybe they should be called International Amazon. Do they have a Green rescue plane?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars book OK, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having tried to download the CD for over two weeks I gave up. get to 90% download then stops and you have to start again. tried over and over just the same.
wish I had got the book with the CD and not Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent publication, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone For Dummies (Paperback)
Extremely useful and full of sensible advice. As a beginner to the instrument I find it is a valuabnle source of inspiration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not for dummies, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone For Dummies (Paperback)
dummies for mac worked so tried this one 1st class will always use these books for all new items brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sax learning, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone For Dummies (Paperback)
A good guide to learning to play saxophone but can be a touch technical for the novice, good for the learner and the accomplished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Far So Good!, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone For Dummies (Paperback)
I needed a book that was newer than written in the 50's/60's (there don't see to be many around!) and that was written for me - a complete novice. Good explanations about whatever it is that you want to know, and you can go ahead to play your first note as soon as you want to, or read all the background information, the choice is yours. And it's everything in one book too - music tuition along with playing tuition. I'd certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7623780)

This product

Saxophone For Dummies
Saxophone For Dummies by Michael Villmow (Paperback - 27 Dec 2011)
11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews