Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, if a little oversold
The New Rules of Marketing and PR is a discussion with bullet lists (the rules) of how to use blogs, social media and the internet in general to boost your business. The author makes a lot of play about the difference between his 'new rules' and the 'old rules'. However, unless the rules were quite different in the USA from the UK, it seems as though the new rules aren't...
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by Martin Turner

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little wordy
This book is informative and full of great ideas, the only downside is that it has been quite heavily 'padded out'. You really have to skim read it and I couldn't help thinking how short it would be if you cut out all the repetition, numerous examples and general wordiness. It is certainly not punchy but reads more like a novel. If you want a quick dip in and dip out book...
Published on 8 Nov 2011 by N. Windridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, if a little oversold, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The New Rules of Marketing and PR is a discussion with bullet lists (the rules) of how to use blogs, social media and the internet in general to boost your business. The author makes a lot of play about the difference between his 'new rules' and the 'old rules'. However, unless the rules were quite different in the USA from the UK, it seems as though the new rules aren't actually much different from the old rules, and what he describes as the 'old rules' were simply PR done badly. Nonetheless, if you can put the new/old polemic aside, this is a good book that has a lot to offer non-specialists about how to make the most of the social media revolution.

First the good points
If you aren't a PR specialist, but have done a bit of marketing or advertising, this is a very good book to get you thinking about the importance of reputation, engaging in the conversation, getting the content right, coming up with compelling ideas, and generally working strategically rather than keeping going for quick wins. A lot of this applies to other media as well, but in author Scott's own journey it seems that he discovered these things after he got into social media. It also has some useful, non-technical, sidelights on the business of working with blogs, comments, Twitter and Facebook.

Now the less good
If you look at The Essentials of Public Relations by Sam Black, published well before the social media age, most of the strategic points that author David Scott is making are already there. In Scott's list of 'old rules' you see more or less a parody of what PR is -- though a parody you encounter in the real world often enough to ring true. Scott also seems to be taking the position of 'PR as a branch of marketing' in his old rules, and seems to evolve into something closer to what PR actually is which his new rules.

Also, Scott is really only talking about the work of relatively small businesses. If you're a business leader looking at this book, then this is probably the right place to pitch it. But he's altogether less strong on voluntary organisations, charities, NGOs, campaign groups and anyone else who isn't really trying to sell a product. He does mention them in passing, but they are not the focus of this book and the constant harping on selling may put you off a bit. This is a pity, because he does have some good things to say.

Finally, this is a very, very USA-centric book, with only the briefest application to UK and European markets. The situation with the internet is probably identical here, but it definitely isn't with 'traditional' PR and advertising. A very sophisticated British press may well run rings round your well-meaning viral media campaign, and a bit more robust PR strategy is pretty much a necessity if you stick your head far above the parapet.

Everything together, the title of this book oversells it a bit, and the author's attempts to rubbish 'old' marketing and PR do more to give the impression he never got his mind round them than that he is supplanting them. However, what he does recommend is good and useful, and this will be a helpful addition to a bookshelf on social media -- as long as you don't expect it to be _the_ handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little wordy, 8 Nov 2011
By 
N. Windridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
This book is informative and full of great ideas, the only downside is that it has been quite heavily 'padded out'. You really have to skim read it and I couldn't help thinking how short it would be if you cut out all the repetition, numerous examples and general wordiness. It is certainly not punchy but reads more like a novel. If you want a quick dip in and dip out book that's easy to see the key topics and ideas then this is not for you. However, if you want to sit down with a cup of tea and a notepad and really take it all in (because don't get me wrong, there's some good stuff in here) then give it go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For people who is marketer and learning English at the same time, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
When I purchased that book, I was looking for something written in clear English and without complicated words. I am learning English and at the same time I am a marketer, so I need to be familiarized with the terminology in my professional field. That book is relly good for that. As the autor would say "a niche for people who need learn the marketing terms in English".
Actually, I am writing this review due to the tips that I found in it.
For me, It's not a brilliant book but if you never have used Twitter, Facebook or even you don't know what it means "marketing", you should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New Rules of Marketing and PR, 5 May 2013
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Wow, fantastic and brilliant. These are my first thought on the book.

The book is full of knowledge and understanding of all content marketing online. In each area the author goes into depth into the topic subject and really makes it easy to understand what is needed to achieve your desired outcome.

For myself I was able to see what I was doing right and what I wasn't. Also what other things I could do to enhance the users experience when visiting my social media sites. The first month after reading tis book hits on my blog went up by 60%. Some of this is down to reading this book and understanding how to achieve the desired goal.

If you read one book on the new rules of marketing and PR this should be the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain at a tenner - great overview of marketing, 21 April 2013
By 
V. Nicholl (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another reviewer said you can get all the information in this book free on the internet. Well, sure, you probably can. You can say that for a great many marketing books, but the advantage of this book is that it brings a wealth of concepts, case studies and advice together in one place. At 350+ pages this isn't a book you are going to read and understand swiftly, but it is well worth the time and effort. The writing style is accessible and the author is good at explaining why something works or why it does not.

if you want a comprehensive guide to modern marketing and PR, whether you are learning about it, or want to check whether your current thinking is up to date, then this is a good book to read. Though given that the author seems to bring out a new edition each year, it might be hard to keep up! That said, trends are moving so fast there is probably a need for such regular revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and thought provoking, 17 April 2013
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an excellent introductory text for people who, perhaps because their job role has changed, now have to content with these aspects of marketing and PR.

It is also a useful book to use to audit whether you are slipping into bad habits with regard to the way that you market yourself or your business using Social Media.

However, I do tend to find books that are very much centred on the USE to be a little tiring as the examples do not always translate well, hence the loss of one star.

Otherwise a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect if you're starting your own business, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book has been very helpful to me starting up an online business. It covers most social media and online marketing strategies and that's something that everyone needs to know these days! So useful for new business and perhaps those who have been in business for many years but need a handy guide to what's 'new' (i.e. online). Whilst not being a fully comprehensive guide to marketing and PR there is a huge amount that you will find useful here. And it's actually pretty good fun to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good among its peers, 2 Mar 2013
By 
butwhatdoiknow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The perpetual challenge with any printed, physical book on brand new technologies or paradigms is that they get outdated. Fast. And in the case of social media, the very immaturity of the discipline adds even more pace to its progress. So yes, of course this book is outdated, but enough not to consider buying it?

Well, frankly that all depends on how up to speed YOU are.

If you are a bleeding edge purveyor of social media and PR - or a voracious student - there is nothing here that will rock your world. And you will have likely read it free on the internet anyway.

But if you are new to these fields and want an easy, analog way to dip your toes in the water (and not look like an idiot in front of the average 21 year old marketeer) then this is worth buying.

The shelves are littered with similar works, but many are full of jargon and badly written. This is neither, and while it's pretty Americanised, frankly, isn't the social web?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the final say by any stretch, 31 July 2012
By 
Arynth (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Before reading this or any other book addressing the use of 'new media' in marketing, it's worth bearing in mind that the principles of marketing in social media or on mobile platforms etc is fluid, not static, so any book that goes more in-depth than general principles will be quickly outdated. Luckily this book doesn't really break any ground and already feels aged in terms of ideas espoused.

It's heavily US-centric, which is disappointing because there's a great deal of interesting discussion to be had around the role of marketing to global or international audiences and how one goes about doing it. On top of that, this book reads like a self-help book. Which is annoying because self-help books tend to be structured around 5-6 good ideas that are padded to give the book a feeling of value. I'd prefer to read a 50-page to-the-point and useful expensive book than a 300 page paean to one's ability to pad. Sadly the author has gone for the latter which makes for a much worse experience.

This book is only worth reading if you read it among a list of other books that explore the principles of marketing more broadly and marketing through new channels. Better yet, combine it with a working knowledge of those platforms by going out and exploring Twitter, Facebook and new mobile experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 7 well spent on learning marketing & social media, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
I have read the book from cover to cover. I needed to learn what to do attract customers. To be in business you need customers and this book will give all the paths you need to take, whilst pointing out how to use what works best and given the amount of time you have. There is no point of taking on too much. Take bit sized pieces as David suggested.

I really liked the stories used as examples of a particular point helps me to remember some. ( I also made some notes)

When I consider how much my subscription was for on-line courses, which are a bit out of date they never explained new approaches. This offers up to date information at a fraction of the price.

Thanks for the advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews