Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, if a little oversold
The New Rules of Marketing and PR is a discussion with bullet lists (the rules) of how to use blogs, social media and the internet in general to boost your business. The author makes a lot of play about the difference between his 'new rules' and the 'old rules'. However, unless the rules were quite different in the USA from the UK, it seems as though the new rules aren't...
Published on 25 Oct. 2011 by Martin Turner

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little wordy
This book is informative and full of great ideas, the only downside is that it has been quite heavily 'padded out'. You really have to skim read it and I couldn't help thinking how short it would be if you cut out all the repetition, numerous examples and general wordiness. It is certainly not punchy but reads more like a novel. If you want a quick dip in and dip out book...
Published on 8 Nov. 2011 by N. Windridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, if a little oversold, 25 Oct. 2011
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The New Rules of Marketing and PR is a discussion with bullet lists (the rules) of how to use blogs, social media and the internet in general to boost your business. The author makes a lot of play about the difference between his 'new rules' and the 'old rules'. However, unless the rules were quite different in the USA from the UK, it seems as though the new rules aren't actually much different from the old rules, and what he describes as the 'old rules' were simply PR done badly. Nonetheless, if you can put the new/old polemic aside, this is a good book that has a lot to offer non-specialists about how to make the most of the social media revolution.

First the good points
If you aren't a PR specialist, but have done a bit of marketing or advertising, this is a very good book to get you thinking about the importance of reputation, engaging in the conversation, getting the content right, coming up with compelling ideas, and generally working strategically rather than keeping going for quick wins. A lot of this applies to other media as well, but in author Scott's own journey it seems that he discovered these things after he got into social media. It also has some useful, non-technical, sidelights on the business of working with blogs, comments, Twitter and Facebook.

Now the less good
If you look at The Essentials of Public Relations by Sam Black, published well before the social media age, most of the strategic points that author David Scott is making are already there. In Scott's list of 'old rules' you see more or less a parody of what PR is -- though a parody you encounter in the real world often enough to ring true. Scott also seems to be taking the position of 'PR as a branch of marketing' in his old rules, and seems to evolve into something closer to what PR actually is which his new rules.

Also, Scott is really only talking about the work of relatively small businesses. If you're a business leader looking at this book, then this is probably the right place to pitch it. But he's altogether less strong on voluntary organisations, charities, NGOs, campaign groups and anyone else who isn't really trying to sell a product. He does mention them in passing, but they are not the focus of this book and the constant harping on selling may put you off a bit. This is a pity, because he does have some good things to say.

Finally, this is a very, very USA-centric book, with only the briefest application to UK and European markets. The situation with the internet is probably identical here, but it definitely isn't with 'traditional' PR and advertising. A very sophisticated British press may well run rings round your well-meaning viral media campaign, and a bit more robust PR strategy is pretty much a necessity if you stick your head far above the parapet.

Everything together, the title of this book oversells it a bit, and the author's attempts to rubbish 'old' marketing and PR do more to give the impression he never got his mind round them than that he is supplanting them. However, what he does recommend is good and useful, and this will be a helpful addition to a bookshelf on social media -- as long as you don't expect it to be _the_ handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little wordy, 8 Nov. 2011
By 
N. Windridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
This book is informative and full of great ideas, the only downside is that it has been quite heavily 'padded out'. You really have to skim read it and I couldn't help thinking how short it would be if you cut out all the repetition, numerous examples and general wordiness. It is certainly not punchy but reads more like a novel. If you want a quick dip in and dip out book that's easy to see the key topics and ideas then this is not for you. However, if you want to sit down with a cup of tea and a notepad and really take it all in (because don't get me wrong, there's some good stuff in here) then give it go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best on the subject I've come across, 18 May 2012
By 
M. Hadfield "Ammonite" (Runcorn, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been reading quite a bit lately on marketing via the internet. I'm subscribed to newsletters that tell me daily to do this or do that or sign up for this or sign up for that in order to grow my business. Very little of it is practical, though - and most just a thinly disguised sales letter for some ridiculously overpriced information that has little real value. David Meerman Scott's book cut through all of that effortlessly. It's not a quick read with its 350+ detail filled pages, but it is very thorough and contains plenty of real-world examples and on-line references. This book is going to remain a frequently used reference source.

The book is split into three sections: the first is how the web has changed things in relation to selling and buying; the second looks at how to reach your buyers directly; and then the third gets down to the practicalities - the `how to do it'. The first two sections explained the reasons that selling has changed and why it is so important to take this on board if you want to stay in business. The final section explained, in great detail things like - just how to go about using social networking sites; how to use your blog to build a personal relationship with your customers; and the value of video marketing and podcasting through sites like Youtube and iTunes. Even website design and Search Engine Marketing (SEO) were explored. I certainly didn't feel that any relevant stone was left unturned.

One of the things I particularly liked about this book was its value to me as a one-man business. Many books of this quality and detail are geared more for big companies with big budgets. I believe this book to be a valuable addition to your bookshelf whatever size company you have.

If you want to sell on the internet, I highly recommend this. It's not about getting rich quick though, it's about how to develop a healthy, trusting relationship with customers so they come back to do business with you time after time. If you'd like to check out the quality of the author's information, then check out his blog, he's got a load of free e-books to download. After you've gone through all those you'll definitely want to come back and buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I first came to this book, I was enormously sceptical. Another book proposing that 'the rules had changed' - but I've got to admit, David Meerman Scott has a point. The essence of the book is that today, marketing and PR needs to fuel search. People hit search engines to find products and services (and however you'd classify holidays etc.) rather than reading physical magazines and the like. He does acknowledge that people do still read magazines etc, so traditional PR and marketing has a place, but essentially, marketing and PR people should be doing more search optimisation.

Once I'd changed my mind about the book, I found it easy reading. It's written in a clear and informal fashion, with an example at the end of each chapter. Unfortunately, it's a reasonably long book, so after a while this style and overly informal language began to grate on me, and the whole thing begins to feel a bit laboured. You do feel that if you've not understood by page 200 that the essence of PR and marketing should be search, then you probably won't get it.

That said, he does take the time to dedicate chapters to every conceivable aspect of marketing and PR you could dream of - direct to consumer news releases, podcasts, blogs, videos, how to design your press room - it's exhaustive. There are a few sections which he glosses over somewhat - video editing, for example, could be a much longer chapter, but overall, it's comprehensive.

It will be a breath of fresh air to a lot of PR and marketing people, but the style may grate on a few English sensibilities after a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The seminal work on online marketing, 31 Dec. 2011
By 
Nicholas J. R. Dougan "Nick Dougan" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the third edition of a book first published by David Meerman Scott as an e-book back in 2006, when it was simply "the new rules of PR". It's the first version that I've read, however, although having read - and reviewed - two books inspired by it, however, little of the content came as a surprise to me. Those books are Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media, and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series), by Halligan and Shah, which is one of the series of books edited by Scott on "The New Rules", and David Taylor's Fusion: The New Way of Marketing. Taylor, a former conventional PR that I know, said that he read a former edition of Scott's book and realised that he needed to get into new PR.

Scott's hypothesis is that in the age of the world wide web, companies and organisations of all types have the opportunity to create a personal and focussed conversation with their customers by earning their attention, online, and then interacting with them. He uses fifty or more case studies showing how people have done it, ranging from manufacturers of top-end racing cycles to virtual churches, from international tattoo exhibitions to independent film producers. He covers, in some detail, a whole series of techniques that can be used together to achieve marketing objectives - including blogging, podcasting, video, social media and search engine marketing. I was particularly interested in his extension of offline PR techniques into the, direct, online world by the use of online media rooms and the use of "news releases" - designed to communicate with end users as well as the press, as a development from "press releases" designed to communicate only with journalists as intermediaries.

Scott says that "The New Rules" do not replace the old ones, and that old-fashioned, broadcast/interruption advertising, managed public relations and one to one sales calls, for example, all still have a place in some businesses. It was revealing that in his "Marketing and PR Strategy" template, however, there is little if any room for more conventional marketing strategies - Scott is in reality advocating the use of online, inbound techniques to the exclusion of others. That that makes sense in some businesses I don't doubt, but if I have any sense of an omission in this book it is that there is no discussion of the sectors where the New Rules are more - or less - applicable. Are there sectors where buyers don't want to engage in discussion about their problems or where they simply want to offload finding solutions to professional advisers? As someone particularly interested in professional services myself, I have come up against that argument from several clients, and it does seem to me that in some sectors the "blogosphere" is an area for introspective nit-picking by insiders rather than a place to which a potential buyer of services would come.

That is a pretty limited criticism, however. If you are looking to find new customers, clients, members or supporters, or other types of "buyer", then this is a book to read and, just as quickly, one whose ideas you can begin to practice. Now...to relaunch that blog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the final say by any stretch, 31 July 2012
By 
Arynth (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Before reading this or any other book addressing the use of 'new media' in marketing, it's worth bearing in mind that the principles of marketing in social media or on mobile platforms etc is fluid, not static, so any book that goes more in-depth than general principles will be quickly outdated. Luckily this book doesn't really break any ground and already feels aged in terms of ideas espoused.

It's heavily US-centric, which is disappointing because there's a great deal of interesting discussion to be had around the role of marketing to global or international audiences and how one goes about doing it. On top of that, this book reads like a self-help book. Which is annoying because self-help books tend to be structured around 5-6 good ideas that are padded to give the book a feeling of value. I'd prefer to read a 50-page to-the-point and useful expensive book than a 300 page paean to one's ability to pad. Sadly the author has gone for the latter which makes for a much worse experience.

This book is only worth reading if you read it among a list of other books that explore the principles of marketing more broadly and marketing through new channels. Better yet, combine it with a working knowledge of those platforms by going out and exploring Twitter, Facebook and new mobile experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geuninely useful for any size of business, 10 Dec. 2011
By 
David B "Piano David" (GOUROCK, Renfrewshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
THe blurb on the back initially put me off this book: "this pioneering guide offers actionable strategies that can be implemented immediately". Actionable strategies that can be implemented immediately? Who wrote that! What's wrong with "tells you things you can do straight away"!

However, it must be said that the text of the book is happily nothing like that.

It really is genuinely useful and thought-provoking. It emphatically isn't only for multi-nationals. Nowadays a one-person business has the potantial to market worldwide immediately via the internet; a potential that simply didn't exist 20 years ago. There is a lot of useful and thought-provoking material in this book about the funtion of websites, and the more recent phenomenon of social networking sites as part of marketing and publicity, rather than just a way to keep in touch with friends.

The style is direct and enjoyable, and I think the book really is useful for anyone with any kind of business, from Sole Trader to Multinational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good among its peers, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
butwhatdoiknow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The perpetual challenge with any printed, physical book on brand new technologies or paradigms is that they get outdated. Fast. And in the case of social media, the very immaturity of the discipline adds even more pace to its progress. So yes, of course this book is outdated, but enough not to consider buying it?

Well, frankly that all depends on how up to speed YOU are.

If you are a bleeding edge purveyor of social media and PR - or a voracious student - there is nothing here that will rock your world. And you will have likely read it free on the internet anyway.

But if you are new to these fields and want an easy, analog way to dip your toes in the water (and not look like an idiot in front of the average 21 year old marketeer) then this is worth buying.

The shelves are littered with similar works, but many are full of jargon and badly written. This is neither, and while it's pretty Americanised, frankly, isn't the social web?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain at a tenner - great overview of marketing, 21 April 2013
By 
V. Nicholl (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another reviewer said you can get all the information in this book free on the internet. Well, sure, you probably can. You can say that for a great many marketing books, but the advantage of this book is that it brings a wealth of concepts, case studies and advice together in one place. At 350+ pages this isn't a book you are going to read and understand swiftly, but it is well worth the time and effort. The writing style is accessible and the author is good at explaining why something works or why it does not.

if you want a comprehensive guide to modern marketing and PR, whether you are learning about it, or want to check whether your current thinking is up to date, then this is a good book to read. Though given that the author seems to bring out a new edition each year, it might be hard to keep up! That said, trends are moving so fast there is probably a need for such regular revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A excellent resource for a novice to Social Marketing !, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
I. Mcintosh "Ian Mc" (Great Yarmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers ... & PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs,) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have recently been getting in to blogging and have set up a Video Game Blog so was looking for a book that could help me get my head around the monster that is Social Media Marketing !

I personally found this book invaluable. It is packed full of great examples and ideas, many of which I am now using to promote my blog. The power of Social Media is just mind blowing.

If you have a business and have not yet dipped your toe in to the online world of PR and Social Media than I would 100% recommend you start right here. The use of Modern Technology can very cheaply get your message to places that would literally of cost you're a fortune.

Twitter, Facebook and viral marketing are now ! If you are not using it then i'm afraid you and your business are moving backwards.

A excellent resource for a novice to Social Marketing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews