Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, clear introduction
I bought this, and completed reading through it, over a month ago, and would strongly recommend it to those starting to look into Buddhism, whether for school, out of curiosity, or as the start of a long-term interest or journey.

The good points:
- very clear, well written, understandable language. New terms are introduced gently and the glossary is very...
Published on 8 July 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
It tells you a little about the history and theology of Buddhism but for me not enough about practicalities of what you see in temples
Published 18 months ago by Threeways


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Buddhism for dummies, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, very useful and informative and in plain simple English. Was very useful for my daughter's 'RE project. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
Very in depth. And explains things pretty well. I am yet to really get into it. But I will And I know this book will help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and conscise, 1 May 2013
By 
H M. Carroll "Helen Carroll" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
Great book, a very clear description of the principles of Buddhism and the way it can be incorporated into modern life. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still reading it, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
Decided Buddhism needed more investigation - Dummies books are always good for dipping in and out of. Enjoying daily dips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buddhism for Dummies., 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for those who are interested in Buddhism. As with all Dummies books it is filled to the brim with fantastic information, but some of it I feel was not really necessary and was a little over-whelming. That is why I have only given it 4 stars. I have, however learned a lot from this book and would recommend it for anyone who has a real interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete, 22 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
Not just for Dummies this book is a complete insight into buddhism.
Written in a way thats easy to take in and informative a pleasure to read a great starting point for those who want to live life mindfully,I think there is a Dummies guide for that also.
You wont be disappointed with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
Like this, simple and easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
It tells you a little about the history and theology of Buddhism but for me not enough about practicalities of what you see in temples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buddhism For Dummies (For Dummies (Lifestyles Paperback)), 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
I must be really Dumb and am having difficulty retaining information from this book. The sellers service was excellent and I received it very quickly. Many thanks. Now back to me Chakra's etc !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Dummies, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: Buddhism For Dummies (Paperback)
Good book, useful for getting to grips with basic Buddhist teaching. However not suitable to class as an academic source in a university level essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buddhism For Dummies
Buddhism For Dummies by Gudrun Bühnemann (Paperback - 27 July 2011)
£11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews