Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed on Facebook techniques, and a good introduction to general advertising
Killer Facebook Ads tells you all the ins and outs of running advertisements on Facebook, and gives you a good general grounding in how to go about writing advertisements. It's billed as 'cutting edge', and this is a fair assessment -- but it therefore lacks any of the long term data about what impact Facebook ads actually had on major product launches. As such, it's a...
Published on 26 Nov 2011 by Martin Turner

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money
Didn't like this book at all. I didn't feel like I learned anything. Just a whole lot of filler. You are so much better off buying "The Ultimate guide to Facebook Advertising", by Perry Marshall and Thomas Meloche. I learned a lot from this book.
Published on 9 May 2012 by Ricky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed on Facebook techniques, and a good introduction to general advertising, 26 Nov 2011
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Killer Facebook Ads tells you all the ins and outs of running advertisements on Facebook, and gives you a good general grounding in how to go about writing advertisements. It's billed as 'cutting edge', and this is a fair assessment -- but it therefore lacks any of the long term data about what impact Facebook ads actually had on major product launches. As such, it's a good resource for small businesses wanting to make the most of Facebook, but doesn't give the answers that major advertisers are looking for when it comes to running integrated campaigns.

Overall, I thought this book was as authoritative as any book about Facebook really could be. The inclusion of a $25 voucher for Facebook adverts means that you can at least try some of the things out without taking a risk on your own money. What it missed, for me, was the kind of analysis I can use to link it to traditional advertising. In that sense, my fundamental question about the comparative effectiveness of a penny spent on Facebook versus a penny spent on traditional advertising is left unanswered.

If you're prepared to put some time and a bit of money in, this is a very good how-to guide in terms of experimenting with getting your own ads right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good 'nuts and bolts' introduction to FB ads, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Richard The book boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Killer Facebook Ads is one of the new books on getting your company or product to be seen by the vast Facebook audience. Personally as a Facebook user I do find the ads annoying when using the software so perhaps Facebook is losing its way somewhat but being in my 50's I might be getting too old for change !!!!. Back to the book, this is a hard hitting `how to' book that walks the user through the process of making and getting an advertising product onto the Facebook platform. It reminds me of the Google process in many ways so I did not find it too difficult to understand. Like Google there is a lot to take in but if you are familiar with online advertising it should not be too daunting to follow. The writing style is very American but anyone used to technology books will be familiar with the style. I would say the book does a reasonable job at dealing with producing an advert and how the Facebook system works. Where the book lacks detail is in the creativity department but there are plenty of books on producing good online advertising out there. The book emphasises the power of Facebook and looking at the statistics provided it captures the biggest audience in one place out of all the online systems. It will be interesting to where Google takes Google +1 in response to the dominance of Facebook. This is a good book that goes through the nuts and bolts of Facebook advertising, essential reading for any company or individual looking at this huge advertising channel. It is reasonably easy to follow but more examples would have been helpful and web links to successful campaigns but it's early days for Facebook advertising so I expect that to come in the next edition. As a person who owns a web development company you cannot ignore Facebook and the reach it has, time to get reading up on it as it's not going away and this book will get you on the ladder quickly by showing you how it works, costing it, monitoring it and what you can do to make it better. A big task taken on by a largely small book but it does the job, I am glad i have had the chance to use it and will be referring back to it again and again which should be recommendation enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the investment before you start buying Facebook ads, 9 Feb 2013
By 
M. Williams "Matt Williams" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With such a huge potential audience it is well worth trying to understand the peculiarities of advertising on the Facebook platform. And Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques certainly does the trick. The book covers the general ideas of marketing and writing adverts, and a wealth of information gathered by the authors that are specific to Facebook, including advert placement, demographic targeting, what to do with visitors when they've clicked through to your site from Facebook (this is something I've struggled with in the past) and the measurement of the performance of your adverts. You are, after all, going to need to compare the effectiveness of your Facebook advertising spend with the peformance you get on other platforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't like this book at all. I didn't feel like I learned anything. Just a whole lot of filler. You are so much better off buying "The Ultimate guide to Facebook Advertising", by Perry Marshall and Thomas Meloche. I learned a lot from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and timely, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Hugo Minney "hugie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Facebook - you either love it or you hate it. But whatever you feel, lots of people use it, and that means there are opportunities to make money from it.
Will this book make you an expert overnight? No
Will it help? Yes
If you already know a bit about marketing, say you make an income from marketing (either from marketing your own products or services, or as a service to others), then this book will help you to start applying those techniques to Facebook.
If you know nothing about marketing, then I would really recommend you start with a basic book on marketing, say Marketing Plans: A Complete Guide in Pictures or The Social Media MBA: Your Competitive Edge in Social Media Strategy Development and Delivery. But if you have a need, and you want to explore how to do it in Facebook, then you won't go wrong with Marty Weintraub and the hundreds of examples that he gives to spark your imagination, illustrated with the actual steps to take and code to write to make it happen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Killer of a Book for Keen Promoters, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. T. Newton "Sassy Brit" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is based on 4 years of testing and mastering cutting edge Facebook advertising techniques and with over 700 million Facebook users worldwide if you are on Facebook with something to promote Killer Facebook Ads is one book you do not want to miss!

With insider tips and tricks, some never revealed before, from the fundamental to advanced tactics, author Marty Weintraub explains how implementing his tried and tested techniques has serious potential to assist your advert in getting an edge over other marketers. Particularly if you are an entrepreneur or a small business looking to promote to a wider audience and increase sales, improve public relations and other classic key performance indicators (KPI).

Some brilliant topics covered include:

* demographic targeting
* what makes a good photo for the ad image
* how to write the headlines and body copy
* landing page options
* final pre-launch checklist

It's packed with current information, although this can change very quickly as technologies update and improve, so to counteract this the author also offers links to external sites where you can access up-to-date additions and amendments.

If you are thinking of advertising on Facebook, buying a copy of this will not only help you navigate the best way to do this, but may also prevent you making costly mistakes! Plus, there is a free $25 Facebook advertising credit in this book valid until 30th June 2013, so don't waste any time! Killer Facebook Ads is a must if you intend to take Facebook seriously to improve your product or company's audience. I couldn't put this down and my copy is looking very dog-eared and battered! Comes firmly with the Sassy Stamp of Approval. By Hook or by Crook, you MUST get this (Facebook) Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Facebook ads, 22 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. A. C. Thorne (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I quite like the format of this book and it is clear enough in telling the reader how to achieve some useful ads that would probably sell on the famous - or has it become infamous? - Facebook. I would have liked a more colourful presentation as any printed guide to the web or applications for the media should have a good level of visual impact or it won't tend to appeal to the average web user. One thing I would have liked to have seen is a wider evidence base to back up the applicability of the ideas suggested. Generally a good read that should inspire you to produce some fair ads on Facebook and some other social media sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas for Entrepreneurs, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Antonia Chitty "Author of Food and Your Speci... (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book shows you how to harness the power of the 700,000,000 users to build a business centred on Facebook. By being the conduit between the users of Facebook and products and services that could use that community, you can derive a workable business model that brings in enough income to survive. What this book, "Killer Facebook Ads by Marty Weintraub" does is show you how to use the features within the website to make this a reality.

From placement of adverts targeting the right demographic profiles, to placement of the ads on sidebar of the page, to branded pages Marty Weintraub has built a process that will help you create an income using this method. There is still a lot of effort needed from the user to make sure that the correct Key Performance Indicators (KPI's) are being used, but this book helps you cut through the waffle and find the information that you need to succeed.

There are many books about harnessing the power of social media, but this is one that solely focusses on the biggest one of them all. By following the techniques and ideas formulated in this book, you have raised the game in your favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good - best (and only) book I've read on the topic., 9 Nov 2011
By 
Gsp "gsp100677" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Covers all the most important topics such as:
1. How to measure the success of your Facebook ads & ad campaign
2. How Facebook's user targeting works, and how to research your target users (several interesting sections covering topics from navigating the Facebook UI, through to compound demographics targeting)
3. How to create effective ads - covering things like writing effective headline, using images, etc.
4. Conversion of visitors on landing pages, tagging, conversion tracking, etc.
5. Facebook report, and optimising to improve results

One of the things I like most about this book is that it is specific. However, it is also quite verbose - I expected something more like a series of concise bullet points, with more diagrams, mathematical formulas (for measuring ROI, etc.), and task checklists. Therefore, it can be a bit slow & tedious to get through. And whilst it's great at the nitty gritty of getting ads up on Facebook, it somewhat lacks creative flair and inspiration for good ideas.

Overall, I'd say good for a beginner with Facebook ads, trying to market for a small startup, such as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a Novice, 12 Oct 2011
By 
C. M. Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am have been involved with and been a part of setting up several businesses in what is now termed the "old" economy. I am also a business consultant teaching business development and marketing to start up businesses in the new economy. As such I am always looking at new ways to help market businesses. As such I have discovered the marketing power of using Google ad words to promote a business web site, rather than the old now almost defunct advertising books. By using ad words I have grown businesses revenues fourfold, virtually overnight by using ad words to promote a web site to the top of the first Google page. This incredible increase during a recession period was done at very little cost compared to profit. As a businessman and someone who has taught marketing it has amazed me how powerful the internet has become and how quickly it can positively alter business revenue. As such I ordered this book to understand the power of Facebook advertising as yet another marketing tool in the on-line marketing revolution.

Firstly this book is quite long and the content can be tedious to digest. It develops from an assumption of no knowledge an advertising campaign using Facebook as its store front. As a marketing expert the rudimentary marketing ideas laid out, looking at target focus, knowing your audience etc were quite straightforward. What was interesting for me is how to apply this knowledge to Facebook adverts and how to use the Facebook system to create adverts. I am not a computer whiz and it can be difficult for me to read Microsoft help pages and understand what I am supposed to do, to put right a programme that is not working. With this book I did not have any such problems as the process is described in great detail, with pictures of menus and programme boxes to help the novice understand how to do it. It really is a great book for a computer novice like me.

I do have a word of warning about this book that is echoed by others. This book is great at the programme fundamentals of using Facebook as an advertising tool and is very good at explaining how to use it to set up an ad campaign. What it is not good at, is creating an imaginative campaign with flair. This is still something a novice at marketing will have to learn elsewhere. The ad that will be created by using this book will work but there is little creativity within it. I can say that this is not necessarily a bad thing as my ad word campaign was not necessarily creative but it did work.

So for a novice on computers this book will help create a working Facebook ad. It will help raise the company profile to your segmented market, but it will do it without flair and it may look a bit monotone "samey" as other adverts using the same principles. This book is designed for the on-line novice marketeer and is very good for those in that category. Those who fall outside of this segment will get some ideas from this book but may find it lacking in some areas.

Great book for a novice on-line marketeer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-edge Facebook Advertising Techniques
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews