Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 11 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
Really comprehensive introductory book to geology thats probably equivalant to GCSE/A level written in the easy to read 'dummies' format, one of the best intoductory geology books I own and I've got a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant reading for beginners, 2 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
I wanted a Geology book which I could understand easily and which would give me the information I sought. I had been on a trip to Crete where the ancient archaeological sites are plentiful. The incredible rocks on the island take your breath away and I was determined to find out more about them since their shapes were varied and their content different. Geology for Dummies is just the book for you if you are a beginner since it describes not only the varieties of rocks which fascinated me but far more about our earth. I recommend it no matter where you live as you can identify rocks and patterns in cliffs quite easily. There are interesting facts about volcanoes and how the plates in the earth can come together to cause earthquakes. In the world we live in there are so many earthquakes and volcanic eruptions going on at present, that its helpful to understand from this book more about them. If you like fossils you can learn more about them too. Its a book you can pick up and read anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to geology, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
P. Desmond - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
This book offers a very comprehensive, crystal-clear introduction to Geology. What I found refreshing was the fact that the language remains sober, succinct and scientific throughout the book, without those needless concessions to silly colloquialism that clog up some American manuals. It's an excellent entry-level work and one that I would certainly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD INTRODUCTION, 21 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
This book gives a very clear and detailed overview of many aspects of geology. For the beginner, it will prove a helpful introduction, well explained and well illustrated. For the more advanced student, it will be a valuable reference tool. Overall, a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geology for Dummies, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
A 'must have' for those seeking clarity about Geology. It is an easy to read and informative book for all those seeking knowledge about our Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good grasps of key concept, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
I wanted something compact and reliable that could provide a good start point to main geological concept from geological time to various sedimentary processes and the books is perfect for this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and refreshing textbook on geology!!, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
eric "RODINIA" (Roeselare, Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
Very good but yet detailed enough basic textbook on geology; modern with the latest insights, to the point, written for a broad interested public. Excellent and startling division into chapters.
A relief to be read by a professional geologist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good general grounding, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
This book starts at square one, and eases the reader into the topic. It is pretty basic to start with but moves on to the nitty gritty of geology.
I was a little disappointed that physical geology, or the description, identification and properties of the various rock types was more or less confined to one chapter (7), the rest of the book concentrated more on geography, geophysics and palaentology which is fine if that's what you want to read about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the book, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
Really love the book, as a beginner to geology this book will be really useful to me so thank you for the super speedy delivery and i have all ready started to read it and i would strongly recommend it to any one who want to do geology :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to geology, 6 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Geology For Dummies (Paperback)
Excellent introduction to geology for general reading. Makes some complex points clear and does include lots of detail. I would say the level is between A level and undergraduate ideal for geography or geology students at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Geology For Dummies
Geology For Dummies by Alecia M. Spooner (Paperback - 22 July 2011)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews