Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide to Taking Control of Your Life
Lifehacker is about taking control of your life and especially your data. I have to cope with the daily data overload of having 4 e-mail accounts, a dozen blogs, my Amazon reviews, my work, my family and everything else that life throws at you. Lifehacker has simple mostly cost free advice about how to get back in control. Many of the techniques I was already using or...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by Andrew Dalby

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good tips but most too geeky for the average person
I downloaded this book by accident on my Kindle, and realised too late to revert the purchase. I had no choice but to read it!
I tried quite a few of their recommendations and some either didn't work, or were just too much hard work. I give the book 3 stars for the various ideas, but the price is horrendous.
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide to Taking Control of Your Life, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Andrew Dalby "ardalby" (oxford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifehacker: The Guide to Working Smarter, Faster, and Better (Paperback)
Lifehacker is about taking control of your life and especially your data. I have to cope with the daily data overload of having 4 e-mail accounts, a dozen blogs, my Amazon reviews, my work, my family and everything else that life throws at you. Lifehacker has simple mostly cost free advice about how to get back in control. Many of the techniques I was already using or knew I should be using but there are so many tips it is impossible that anyone will know them all, or if you do I still bet you are not using them.

This book is well worth getting - you get a lot of pages for your money and good advice rarely comes this cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book for everyone who wants to regain control, 18 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been reading Lifehacker or a couple of years now. I find it useful to help me be more productive. This collection of hacks is grouped into different categories, including mastering your inbox, being productive with your smartphone, and staying focused. It is an excellent resource.

What I don't understand is why the introduction is at the end of the book. I didn't realise, and read it at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get your life back, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifehacker: The Guide to Working Smarter, Faster, and Better (Paperback)
Any one working in a modern day office and having to deal with computers, file storage, e-mail, etc at work and/or at home should read this book for a multitude of tricks and tips.

You don't have to sit and read the book from start to finish or in any particular order. Just flick through and pick out the tips that are relevant to you, try a few and then go back for more.

Once you have finished the book you will probably find yourself looking for the lifehacker web site to keep the good ideas coming.

Then pass the book around your office !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book with some great tips. I also subscribe to the email lists that containing all sorts of tips and tricks. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here in a single volume is probably about all anyone needs to know about how to work smarter, faster, and better, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lifehacker: The Guide to Working Smarter, Faster, and Better (Paperback)
In Hacking Work: Breaking Stupid Rules for Smart Results, co-authors Bill Jensen and Josh Klein observe, "Today's top performers are taking matters into their own hands. They are bypassing sacred structures and breaking all sorts of rules just to get their work done...Every day in every workplace, benevolent rule breakers like these are ensuring that business succeeds despite itself. They are reinventing how to approach productivity and how to consistently achieve morebetterfaster results." Jensen and Klein urge their reader to start hacking: "Start taking the usual ways of doing things and work around them to produce improved results. Bend the rules for the good of all. That's what benevolent hackers do."

In his book Iconoclast: A Neuroscientist Reveals How to Think Differently, Gregory Berns explains, "The overarching theme of this book is that iconoclasts are able to do things that others say can't be done, because iconoclasts perceive things differently than other people." Berns goes on to explain that the difference in perception "plays out in the initial stages of an idea. It plays out in how their manage their fears, and it manifests in how they pitch their ideas to the masses of noniconoclasts. It is an exceedingly rare individual who possesses all three of these traits." In her article "How to Walk on the Leading Edge without Falling off the Cliff and then a book, Edgewalkers: People and Organizations That Take Risks, Build Bridges, and Break New Ground, Judith A. Neal calls these bold and principled people "Edgewalkers" whose dominant characteristics include visionary consciousness (they have a sense of mission about something greater than themselves), multicultural responsiveness (they can understand the nuances of different worlds or cultures), intuitive sensitivity (they are natural futurists who constantly integrate ideas and information from a variety of sources, risk-taking confidence (they have a strong sense of adventure and experimentation), and self-awareness (they understand and appreciate that each person is a unique microcosm of the whole). Benevolent hackers, values-driven iconoclasts, and Edgewalkers are kindred spirits.

I share all this to create a context for a book written by Gina Trapani and first published in 2008; its second edition appeared two years later and now we have a third edition she co-authored with Adam Pash. Lest there be any confusion about two key terms, they explain that "a hacker is someone who solves a problem in a clever or little-known way. A life hacker is a workaround or shortcut that overcomes the everyday difficulties of the modern worker. A lifehacker uses clever tech tricks to get work done."

Pash and Trapani provide 101 "hacks" that are practical, do-able, and cohesive. Organized with 12 chapters, they can help to achieve these strategic objectives:

o Control email
o Manage data
o "Trick yourself" into completing tasks
o Clear the mind of clutter (i.e. non-essentials)
o "Firewall" focus and concentration
o Streamline routine (but necessary) tasks
o Automate repetitive tasks
o Accelerate processing of data
o Work smarter with a smartphone
o Master the Web
o Hone computer "survivor" skills
o Manage multiple computers

These are admirable objectives. Pash and Trapani devote a separate chapter to each, providing the information, insights, and counsel their reader will need to achieve it. At each chapter's conclusion, they provide recommended sources from which to obtain additional guidance. I think it was a shrewd decision by Pash and Trapani to establish a direct and personal rapport immediately and then sustain it for 465 pages. They do not "talk at" or even "talk to" to those who read the book. Rather, they confer with their reader as they proceed through a rigorous and comprehensive as well as lively and eloquent narrative.

There are several quite different ways to read this book. Obviously, cover-to-cover is one and taking a "cherry-picker" approach (after reviewing the detailed "Contents") is another, locking in on specific knowledge and skill needs of greatest relevance. Both will generously reward the careful reader.

I presume to suggest another, a "hybrid" approach: Read Chapters 4 ("Clear Your Mind"), 5 ("Firewall Your Attention", and 2 (Organize Your Data"), in that order, and highlight key passages -- then re-read the material. Next, review the complete "Contents" section (Pages ix-xxi) and select 3-5 specific areas (at least three but no more than five) in which you have the greatest need for improvement. I also recommend having a notebook near at hand in which to record your reactions to the material - comments, questions, allusions, etc. -- as you work your way through it.

I realize that no brief commentary such as mine can do full justice to the scope and depth of what Adam Pash and Gina Trapani provide. However, I do hope it will help at least a few prospective buyers to decide whether or not this book can be of substantial benefit to them. They should also check other Customer Reviews provided by Amazon and then decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date American oriented, 19 July 2013
By 
C Sprake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of these tips are very old, very dependent on free software, such as those available from Google labs and seem very much oriented towards the American consumer. Essentially the author has collected a number of tips from around the web and published them in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good tips but most too geeky for the average person, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this book by accident on my Kindle, and realised too late to revert the purchase. I had no choice but to read it!
I tried quite a few of their recommendations and some either didn't work, or were just too much hard work. I give the book 3 stars for the various ideas, but the price is horrendous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lifehacker: The Guide to Working Smarter, Faster, and Better
Lifehacker: The Guide to Working Smarter, Faster, and Better by Gina Trapani (Paperback - 24 Jun 2011)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews