Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know for cultural literacy
This is a quick review of the book not a dissertation on Darwin or any other subject loosely related. At first I did not know what to expect. I already read " The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches" (see my review). I figured the book would be similar. However I found "Origin" to be more complex and detailed.

Taking in account that...
Published on 3 May 2010 by bernie

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An amazing piece of literature but a terrible company
The book is amazing...when it finally arrived the delivery was appalling and the book is by weak and flimsy better of getting a hard back, but if you are not willing to spend the price of a quality hardback then this product is ok for a bargain bin product
Published 15 months ago by lilybarringham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know for cultural literacy, 3 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a quick review of the book not a dissertation on Darwin or any other subject loosely related. At first I did not know what to expect. I already read " The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches" (see my review). I figured the book would be similar. However I found "Origin" to be more complex and detailed.

Taking in account that recent pieces of knowledge were not available to Charles Darwin this book could have been written last week. Having to look from the outside without the knowledge of DNA or Plate Tectonics, he pretty much nailed how the environment and crossbreeding would have an effect on natural selection. Speaking of natural selection, I thought his was going to be some great insight to a new concept. All it means is that species are not being mucked around by man (artificial selection).

If you picked up Time magazine today you would find all the things that Charles said would be near impossible to find or do. Yet he predicted that it is doable in theory. With an imperfect geological record many things he was not able to find at the writing of this book have been found (according to the possibilities described in the book.)

The only draw back to the book was his constant apologizing. If he had more time and space he could prove this and that. Or it looks like this but who can say at this time. Or the same evidence can be interpreted 180 degrees different.

In the end it is worth reading and you will never look at life the same way again.

The Ascent of Man by Jacob Bronowski
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, 28 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as amazing now as it must of been when first released. read it, read it agian, then re-read before getting everyone you know to read it, hopefully you'll lead someone away from the darkside. whilst reading, really think about the massive impact this book has had and wonder at the amazing theory being proved on a daily basis. a true great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating introduction to the theory of evolution, 24 Jan 2011
Charles Darwin is undoubtedly one of the most important scientists of his time. Although some of the knowledge in this book is not current, has been built upon or is wrong, it remains an important text.

I would recommend this to any person who is remotely interested in the evolution of life on Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic book, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't expect anything more. This book came in great conditions as its content, a remarkable book to anyone who is into our evolution
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The foundation of biology and life's endless diversity, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Charles Darwin has spoken with clarity....,,,his reflections, derived from painstaking observations, and the logic of his reasoning are unrivalled. Supported ever since by findings from genetics and molecular biology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's what it's supposed to be., 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Accurate description.
Excellent price.
Arrived on time.
It does what it is supposed to do.
It needs five more words. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of history - something everyone should read, 3 Feb 2013
By 
JScarb "JScarb" (Retford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read despite its age, written in plain English (if at times a little archaic) and easy to understand. One of the most important books in all of history. Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 29 Jan 2013
Im very interested in this subject, and this book is obviously the most important to start with. I was expecting to find a lot of it difficult to read as im not scientifically minded, but the book was written in a very easy to understand way.
Brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how great was this?!, 18 Jan 2012
This fascinating read is a must-have. I bought it to help with my work, and found that it was utterly brilliant! It opened up a new world that made me think how special it would be to discover a new species! For me, Charles Darwin is the most incredible man there ever was. He and David Attenborough are my favorite men ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great science and great literature combined, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. A. G. Newman "Science Teacher" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Because it takes the biggest idea in science, and maybe the biggest idea in human history, and communicates it in such a lucid and understated manner, On The Origin of Species isn't simply a book. It is a milestone that marks a fork in the road for mankind's journey. We will decide to can continue on a path that values evidence, reason and curiosity or one that exalts beliefs, faith and authority. It's not just about the origin of all species it is also about the destiny of one - ours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa5a67c8)

This product

On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection
On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection by Charles Darwin (Hardcover - 10 Nov 2009)
£20.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews