Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide for beginners
My son aged 10 has written a couple of small scratch games on the Pi so I bought him (and the rest of the family) the Python Basics book to get him started with formal programming.

The good points: It is very well constructed, both physically and content. I just handed him the book, he read the first bits then we did 'Hello World!' together and he then took off...
Published 20 months ago by David Martin

versus
5 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HTML is a programming language since when?
I've been looking for a simple, easy to understand book for my young brother who wants to give programming a try. Someone recommended this book as great to get started with. I read over the first few pages of the book and was shocked by the quality and lack of research put into the book, I dread to think what the more complex parts of the book look like.

HTML...
Published 14 months ago by lord


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for kids (and adults!), 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
This book is a great introduction, and I have also gone through Book 2. Kids love it and can follow it easily. There are lots of suggestions to expand on the projects to test the knowledge gained. I can see that a lot of schools will be taking this one up! The series does progress quite rapidly but let's face it, if kids (who are the target audience) are interested in learning to program, they want to be challenged and this series provides it. Worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to programming, 25 Nov 2012
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
A well designed book, that's great for teaching students a range of basic programming concepts. The content is presented in a way that makes it easy for students to work at their own pace. The topics are clearly explained and interesting 'puzzles' are set throughout. A fantastic resource for anyone wanting to introduce their students to programming. Particularly useful for those thinking about studying GCSE Computing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
Very good, grandson loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern and engaging way to learn Python, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
This is a modern book that will engage both young and old. The instructions are easy to follow and you can find out why you are typing in the code and what it does by reading around the instruction boxes. We are using it with secondary students that have no experience of coding with a typed language and they are able to work independently. We are starting with this book the first in the series and moving on through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to Python, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
The physical format, graphics and size make this a perfect intro., to Python book.
It's suitable for adults and children.
The examples are clear and it's as good as any book out there.
It can be used for self study by children too.
( Tip : Use the Python download version. Some web based versions will fail rather quickly )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great into, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
An excellent introduction for children into the world of Python. With the new computing curriculum this book is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand and good for beginners in Python 3., 23 April 2014
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
This is a primary programming book written for youngsters: I am over 60 and looking to learn a simple programming language having toyed, since the early 80's with DOS, Visual Basic and, for the briefest while with Java and remembering little or nothing. However, this book, part of a series, is progressive, comprehensible and comprehensive: Python is fairly easy to understand and the terms of reference are explained well in the text of this book. I am making progress and enjoying my excursion into programming, picking it up slowly and becoming capable of working out the problems and tests at this level, at least. Kids, I am sure, will pick this up and fly with it, but anyone, including people like me, will gain a lot from working through the series and using what they learn. I run a training organisation and can see how useful it might be to be able to write some simple programmes that will aid or support various areas of training that we do. Anyway, a well written and easy to understand book: recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Computer Programming, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
Book was recommended by my sons teacher to help him decide if he wanted to choose Computer Programming as an option. I know very little about the subject but the book was very helpful to my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but the final exmaple is badly laid out and has errors, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
We gave the set of 3 books to our 9 yr old for Christmas and now about a month later he's finished book one working through it on his own more or less.

He was really chuffed to finish the book and the loved being able to create something with "a real window" which the final etch-a-sketch example has. So for fuelling his enthusiasm and having interesting yet examples it's good.

My only issue is that the code for the final example is not well organised and in fact wrong.

On the organisation point the example uses global variables (not a good habit to get into) and the functions pass "self" parameters despite not being in a class which they then don't use.

These are not big problems, the bigger issue is that the functions don't import all the global variables they manipulate and so you get errors, but these only appear if you look back at the python shell window.

Anyway a great book for spurring on enthusiasm but it's a pity the last example is a bit sloppy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome present, 3 Jan 2014
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) (Paperback)
This was given to our teenage grandson, quite a geek on the computer, and he really appreciated it. Can't comment further as don't understand it myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1)
Python Basics, Level 1 (Coding Club) (Coding Club, Level 1) by Chris Roffey (Paperback - 25 Oct 2012)
6.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews