Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2013
I bought this as a set of 3 (levels 1, 2 & 3) on the recommendation of a colleague. These are a fantastic set of little books, beautifully illustrated and full of really useful and clear information. One of my better purchasing decisions!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
The style is the same as Python Basics but it is definitely more challenging and a bit longer than the first book but it is a level 2 book after all. But a firm foundation was laid with Python Basics so it is very accessible as a next step. The children found it challenging but were very pleased with themselves upon completing the programming of the parts of their calculators. The "Delving Deeper" sections makes for good extension material.
As an ICT teacher, it is most gratifying to see that these books explain the "whys" as well as the "hows" of coding without ever becoming boring.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Nice simple development of the first book, which I'm using with my nine-year-old. Simple and clear - and something she can do on her own too!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
I have the whole series. This series is good for children and adults alike. The book format is also great to carry around and use near to computer. I have all three although I have used the first one in the series more probably due to time constraints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
My son has worked through book 1 and book 2, we've just ordered book 3 :-D the text is clear, consise and fun, and best of all relevant. It's really helped my 12 yo son to learn to code python on his raspberry pi, although you can also install a windows python compiler if you don't have a pi.
Well done to the author for making such a great series that our kids love ;-)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
This is a modern book that will engage both young and old. The instructions are easy to follow and you can find out why you are typing in the code and what it does by reading around the instruction boxes. We are using it with secondary students that have no experience of coding with a typed language and they are able to work independently. We are starting with the first book in the series and moving on through them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Absolutely fantastic series . We have all 4 of these and my son has completed them in no time and now thinks he is a programming wiz and thinks he is ready to move onto C++ :-) ;-)

Point is, they are fun and instils confidence in the bidding programmer. Which is exactly as it should be. I'd happily recommend these for anyone with the tiniest interest in getting into programming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Having raced through and enjoyed the basics my daughter has now started to really build on what she has learnt so far. Simple clear explanations which fully explain what is happening.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
A fantastic set of books which show in a clear and simple format how to get started with Python programming. Too many books overcomplicate and put students of even trying, this one has been well used!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Clear steps to follow and learn.

Lots of ideas and examples to try out. Code is explained well with extra advice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse