Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I expected and wanted.
Superb overview of the basic algebra, trig, geometry and arithmetic required to acquire a deeper, non-trivial understanding of astronomy/astrophysics short of extensive use of calculus and other more advanced mathematics.
Tomos
Published 16 months ago by TOMOS

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too elementary.
Too trivial content. More about arithmetic than the mathematics of Astronomy. Needs more of the ideas & formulae which describe Astronomy.
Published 14 months ago by GB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I expected and wanted., 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb overview of the basic algebra, trig, geometry and arithmetic required to acquire a deeper, non-trivial understanding of astronomy/astrophysics short of extensive use of calculus and other more advanced mathematics.
Tomos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb guide to introductory mathematics for astronomy., 28 Oct 2013
By 
Stephen Durr (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a little gem and worth every penny. I think Dan & Julia have done a great job in explaining much of the mathematics you will need in any introductory level astronomy class. Anyone doing GCSE astronomy here in England would be well advised to buy a copy, there are many examples and also a web site with much more, including video sections with helpful hints and examples. Work through the sections and your maths will improve and therefore, so will your understanding of astronomy. Steve Durr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and superbly written book, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this recently as a primer to a series of books on radio astronomy. I was delighted with the book. The selection and presentation of the material is first rate. I have begun ordering more books by these authors on the basis of this one alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very nice and understandable book., 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well presented and written book that conveys a complex subject in an easy and understandable manner. I managed to get through it cover to cover in a day with all the worked examples and succinct narratives on the concepts. I'm going through it again to further reinforce my understanding and work through the exercises. If one is interested in the astronomy and cosmology and want to understand the maths behind the ideas and concepts this is a highly recommended book. My only slight negative comment is the need for more worked examples per topics before embarking on the exercises at the end of each chapter. Also a summary of the formulas and their variations at the end of each chapter would be very useful. I would throughly recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too elementary., 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too trivial content. More about arithmetic than the mathematics of Astronomy. Needs more of the ideas & formulae which describe Astronomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what I needed. Will help greatly with my university course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was using the book as guidance for a course i was putting together. I was disappointed that some of the questions, like the mass of Jupiter one was actually incorrectly reported in the answers. I should have reviewed it but that said, for the money, you expect that to have already been done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Student's Guide to the Mathematics of Astronomy
A Student's Guide to the Mathematics of Astronomy by Julia Kregenow (Hardcover - 29 Aug 2013)
£36.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews