Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and entertaining read!, 9 May 2014
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book. Physically, at nearly a foot square, it is a big book with over 300 pages - the paper is a high quality gloss which gives the book a quality feel and adds depth and vibrancy to the hundreds of excellent photographs. The book chronologically lists every race in which Senna completed, giving a brief synopsis of what happened and how Senna fared. More attention is paid to the races in which Senna played a major part, or which were of particular significance in his career. In addition, there are numerous features and interviews with characters who were influential in Senna's career, either by supporting him or competing against him. The book really helped me to understand why Senna is regarded as 'the best ever'. Some of the analysis by drivers who were his rivals is fascinating and gives a real insight into the abilities and mentality that made him unique. I started following F1 in 92/93 so only got to see Senna race for a brief time before his tragic loss at Imola. By reading this book I have been able to understand why he was so revered, feared and respected. The author, Tony Dodgins, is a long established F1 journalist and writer. As well as his usual writing, he is currently working for the BBC alongside Ben Edwards and DC in the commentary box as a pundit. He is currently writing for Motorsport News and many other F1 publications. In the past he has written for the Guardian and Autosport and has attended virtually every GP since the early/mid 1980's. I find his writing to be engaging and a pleasure to read and he certainly knows his stuff. I have no hesitation in recommending this book - any F1 fan would be delighted to own a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for any Senna fan!, 22 May 2014
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
Senna was always my number one driver growing up and I spent most weekends watching him performing at the top of his game.

It was brilliant to now read this book as it is full of great photographs and a lot of back stories that I had not been aware of before. It also celebrates his well known drives very nicely. Remember Donington!!!

I thought that the book was very well written and really appreciated all the contributions from people who knew and raced against him as they gave a new perspective on the great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pole position and a magic reading, 23 May 2014
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
I am a french fan of Prost and Senna. thanks to this book which is very illustrated (splendid and various photographs) and with a rich text and pertinent , the reader and fan like me is invited to do an amazing journey in the heart of the competition of the eighties and in the beginning of the 90's with a genius driver at the summit of his sport, like the maestro that he was. We learn a lot about the charismatic Brazilian. the reading is so nice and all the pictures recalls to the reader a lot of great performances accomplished by ayrton. The text is built with plenty of anecdots and very brilliant. it's really a very pleasant book, one of the best written on Senna according to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Familiar story but told well, 30 May 2014
By 
P. N. I. Jeffrey "Paul Jeffrey" (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
An excellent companion to the Senna movie with plenty of pictures and interviews with contemporaries. Dodgins has an easy style and has the benefit of 'being there' as journalist and part of the BBC Grand Prix team. Naturally the book focuses on Senna but a minor quibble is that this tends to distract from the bigger picture of the races that Senna competed in. Fine when he won, which was often, but for some races it is not clear who did win.The addition of a 1-2-3 podium graphic would have greatly enhanced the story and helped the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
An amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AYRTON SENNA ALL HIS RACES, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
For the senna fan well worth the money,for the f1 fan a good insight of how good he really was and what he achieved in such a sort lifespan.
still missed by millions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well put together, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. P. A. Drinkwater (Ramsey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
Excellent read for anyone interested in Motorsport Tony Dodgins has made a real effort and includes some really good interviews from team managers friends and competitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ayrton senna book, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
Bought this book for my husbands birthday he loves it everything and more he could wish for would definitely recommend this book and stellar for prompt service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
By 
S. N. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ayrton Senna: All His Races (Hardcover)
Great book for Senna fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ayrton Senna: All His Races
Ayrton Senna: All His Races by Tony Dodgins (Hardcover - 24 April 2014)
26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews