Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book written for UK lovers of Sous Vide
Having just purchased a Sous vide supreme I wanted a book that was beautiful, clear to understand and written for the uk customer (measurements etc) this book is really stunning. It has beautiful photos, is well laid out with recipes on opposite page of photo. It's really clear with lots of options for each item, IE chicken, has many different ways to produce dish with...
Published 8 months ago by Manctommo

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but a tad expensive
Published by SousVideTools, UK distributors of Sous Vide & related equipment this book is well produced (ignoring the fact that two of the photos are not correctly placed alongside their respective recipes!)
The book also serves up many recipes requiring use of one their products the "Polyscience Smoking Gun"
Overall it is informative with useful tips...
Published 6 months ago by Richard Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book written for UK lovers of Sous Vide, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
Having just purchased a Sous vide supreme I wanted a book that was beautiful, clear to understand and written for the uk customer (measurements etc) this book is really stunning. It has beautiful photos, is well laid out with recipes on opposite page of photo. It's really clear with lots of options for each item, IE chicken, has many different ways to produce dish with different sauces etc. I also like that each recipe has a reheat temp and time for the dish, which is really helpful if planing dinner parties etc in advance. I collect cookbooks and although I already had one sous vide book that came with my equipment it's not as good as this.
I would definitely recommend as a must have book for sous vide cooking. I know there are a few out there... Some really expensive and others more American and quite complicated to understand in a domestic kitchen. This is a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!!, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
At last...! A UK Sous Vide Book that is tailored for the UK Market.
A superb balance of recipes and helpful chef tips to get you well on your way. I have been into Sous Vide for about 2 years and absolutely love it.
Not a glossy book to protect from spills and splashes but a creative design with good pictures, good writing and one of the best I have got my hands on. Its a step down from molecular gastronomy and instead a great book to help with putting great restaurant meals on your own kitchen table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it, but ..., 27 May 2014
By 
JuliaBalbilla (Winchcombe, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
Overall, an excellent book for British readers, with a wide range of clear recipes to follow and a general cooking times / temperature chart at the back. However, I can understand why people are a bit miffed that it contains some recipes which require the use of a smoking gun, which is obviously a sales tactic on behalf of SousVideTools. For this reason, I have only given it 4 stars, even though I do have the Polyscience Smoking Gun, because not everyone will have one or even want one.

I would not let this put you foo buying the book though because as far as I am aware, this is the only book on the subject aimed at UK cooks. You can get around the smoking gun problem, simply by not smoking the food (although shoving a bit of smoked butter in a pouch of food, can add that extra deliciousness)! If you have an outdoor smoker, you could use that provided it can do cold smoking (the smoking gun is basically a convenient, but small substitute for a cold smoker).

The book also assumes that you have the vacuum sealer made by Sous Vide Supreme and refers to sealing on 'full pressure'. Tbh I don't really know what that means as my sealer (Freshield) only has one pressure setting and I have not found this to be a problem when making the recipes, so I am sure any sealer will be fine.

Finally, I have notice a comment or two re the price of this book. To be fair, its subject matter is still of growing appeal and therefore probably only produced in small print runs, hence the cost. If it were a book on slow cookers, which many people own, it would be considerably less expensive. It is the setting up of the print run that costs the money and not the paper upon which it is printed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
This is exactly what I have been after!

A cook book the explains the details, has great recipes utilising not only the cuts synonymous with sous vide but also many others.

The book is thorough, has great photos and is a well written and structured book.

Well done!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
Really good , uncomplicated introduction to sous vide techniques with all types of produce. I would fully reccommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
The book arrived very quickly and the seller was exellent. I bought the book as an xmas gift and it was put to good use!!
The book is great, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
Although water baths have been around for quite a while in commercial kitchens, the domestic market is really only recently starting to embrace the idea of cooking 'under vacuum ',hence the paucity of relevant books available on the market for home cooks. Previous books although comprehensive are aimed at the American manrket and detail quantities and ingredients that appear alien to the UK cook. Sous Vide - the Art of cooking is therefore a welcome arrival and is probably the first of it's type over here.
The recipes are very well laid out in sections and beutifully photographed. The chef's tip is a nice addition and the temperatures given for each recipe are precise - in other books a range is given ' from - to etc. )I particularly liked the reheating temperature guide should you be cooking in advance. I have now tried a dozen of the dishes and I am blown away by the tenderness of the meat, vibrant colour of the vegetables and most of all by the PRECISION of cooking sous vide.
Read this book in conjunction with your water bath and it will change the way you view cooking, I promise. Forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
This is now one of my favourite cook books. It has loads of ideas and suggestion. Worth every penny, you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Sous Vide book, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
I have purchased several and this one is definitely the best. It refers to English cuts of meat and not American, it has nice illustrations, precise cooking times and also re-heat times (which none of the other books I have purchased so far have).
My only quibble is the price of this book which I think is self published by Sous Vide (couldn't order it in book shops or the library). It is a lot of money by the time you add on postage but I am still glad I ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but a tad expensive, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking (Paperback)
Published by SousVideTools, UK distributors of Sous Vide & related equipment this book is well produced (ignoring the fact that two of the photos are not correctly placed alongside their respective recipes!)
The book also serves up many recipes requiring use of one their products the "Polyscience Smoking Gun"
Overall it is informative with useful tips regarding storage & reheating of cooked products.
With a rrp of 24.99 I feel that it is a bit pricey !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking
Sous Vide - the Art of Precision Cooking by Gary Wooliscroft (Paperback - 25 Nov 2013)
Used & New from: 23.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews