Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable read, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
First & foremost I must be congruent and admit that I both know the author and have had the privilege to play alongside him in one of the best RAF Rugby League sides that he helped put on the map, the Bruggen Bulldogs. Indeed, I sat down to read this book with a smile on my face, knowing that at some point “Clacker Clayton” would undoubtedly take me back to a time in my life that was helped by the great game of Rugby League, and in no uncertain terms, the friendship and camaraderie that goes alongside playing any sport.

What I didn’t expect, nor did I really appreciate was how I was able to return to my roots in 1997 whilst serving in Germany. This frustrated Union playing Northern lad from Bradford was amazed to see a Rugby League team built on strong foundations and it was there I was introduced to “Clacker”; also known as Mr RAF Rugby League, who was flying through the ranks and could play a bit. Our paths crossed many a time since them heady days, right up to my Medical Retirement from the RAF in 2008 whilst we were both serving in Northern Ireland. He was still at it then, striving forward with his career, struggling against “adversity” to set up yet another League team that became “Aldergrove Storm”, as well as flying home from Northern Ireland whenever he could to be with his fantastic family.

“Clacker”, this book was a pleasure to read and brought home to me what I already knew. You are a smashing lad that many owe a debt of gratitude to. From those high standards and work ethics that you maintain in your career in the RAF, together with the leadership on the field (and off it for some of us) and working so hard through all that adversity to allow many of us to play and enjoy our love of all things Rugby League. I am proud to have known and played alongside you.

This book is something you should be extremely proud of as it is a cracking good read that I would recommend to anyone. Whether you like Rugby League, have an interest in the Military or find this book on a coffee table in some Dr’s waiting room, give it a read. It will leave you with nothing more than incredible admiration for a man that triumphed through utmost adversity to achieve the impossible. Mr Clayton, it has been a pleasure and you still owe for that last ever RAF Germany game against BAOR!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
Not the usual book I'd choose to read, but I loved it.... It has a little bit of everything in it
. Rugby League
. Royal Air Force
. Family Life
. Mate ship
And much more, you can't call it a sports book and you can't call it a biography, I don't really know what to call it other than a really great read! Make your own mind up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!! if your interested in Rugby League then its a must have!!, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
A MUST READ FOR ALL RUGBY LEAGUE FOLLOWERS.

It really is a compelling book of how Rugby League was foundered in the RAF.

Great synopsis of a boy from bradford, playing for brighouse rangers all the way to a 38yr old Warrant Officer in the Royal Air Force.

My hat truly goes off to the author Damian Clayton, a real true reflection of his life and the battles faced both through the service in getting rugby league officially sanctioned in the RAF, to the adversity he faced with his family closer to home.

funny, emotional and inspirational to say the least!!

I will be keeping an eye out for a sequel!!....

10-10 in my eyes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Through Adversity, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
This book provides a trip down memory lane for everyone involved in the fight to get 'the Greatest Game' recognised in the Armed Forces. It gives you a great insight into the highs and lows of one of the stand out characters and an individual who has gone beyond the call of duty to raise the profile of the game to an unbelievable level. Sport in the Services simply does not get better than this and Damian Clayton captures the challenges, characters and events perfectly, it's a super read by a super guy, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Through Adversity, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
Well written, Well done!

An honest account of how tough it is to recognise Rugby League not only in the RAF but in the Armed Forces. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Through Adversity, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
Got to say this is a great read even if your not a rugby fan. It shows how a motivated individual can get results 'Through Adversity' and against the system. Very well put together and it really shows that if you follow what you believe in you can achieve it against the odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read for any Rugby League Fan, straight from the Heart stuff!, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
A great read, detailing the efforts and everything Damian Clayton had to go though in getting Rugby League off the ground in the Armed Forces. A very honest and detailed read, great stories and great humour throughout! Highly recommended to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A winner, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
excellent book from a person I know....through him and a few others, rugby league is well and truly established within the RAF and other armed forces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
Amazing read written straight from the heart. Truely dedicated to both. Don't need to be a RL fan to read. Recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF (Paperback)
Great story with an underdog element.
Very honest and very informative; a must read for any serviceman involved or hoping to be involved in services Rugby League.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF
Through Adversity: The Fight for Rugby League in the RAF by Damian Clayton (Paperback - 31 Oct 2013)
10.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews