Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2013
I have,read Graham, 'I love myself 'poll, also Jeff winters book but this is my favourite. Mark worked his balls off but got stopped from doing the big games because of politics and 'the red wine club which Mr poll, durkin the diver and Mike Dean were members. Loved his style of reffing like Phil dowd and being a level 4 ref myself I appreciate the the laws of the game and stories etc. Great read and fully recommend it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Being a football fan it is hard to understand the mind of a referee, Mark Halsey opens up the world of refereeing perfectly, a 20 veteran of the profession, he gives the fans a insight into the politics and back-biting of the profession and details his relationships with fellow referees and his relationships with top managers abd footballers...More importantly is the story of his survival from Cancer, a truly inspirational account of one mans fight for survival and his battle to get back to the very too of his profession, through adversity and sheer will, with the support of most of his peers, he did it...A brilliant read for any football fan
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
I am a referee, albeit at a very different level from Mr. Halsey. This book is a must-read for any men in black out there, but more than that, for any football fan. Mark Halsey was a great referee. This book tells you what he had to go through to achieve the success he did, and how a variety of things, chiefly the people who were supposed to have a duty of care to him, prevented him from achieving further honours. In life, cancer has been his biggest battle, but in refereeing, his biggest battles were with the powers that be. In most industries, they wouldn't get away with it, and thanks to Mr. Halsey's bravery in writing this book, they haven't, not completely.

Mr. Halsey retains his dignity while naming and shaming, and tells many a tale, the majority of which are happy stories, stories of friendships made and people showing the positive side of humanity. It has challenged many of my pre-conceived ideas about people - Ferguson, Rooney, Mourinho to name but three. I have also read Ferguson's book recently, and enjoyed it... but this was better. Heartily recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
i am a football fan and go to games/watch them on TV, but has not previously considered to role of the referee - except in a youve git to be joking ref context.

This book changed that. It is very well written, with funny anecdotes. You genuinely get a sense of his love of football.

Added Time offers more than the footballing insights though. Chronicling one mans battle with a disease which according to stats will effect many of us. In reading it you really get the sense the challenge Mark faced and the bravery in wanting to come back from the brink to do the job he was so eminently qualified to do.

Mark shares strong views on his former bosses particularity in their attempts prevent his return. All I can say is thank goodness Mark fought on - not only for football but also for others facing the road back from cancer.

I have bought this book for footballing friends and would recommend it to anyone who has a love of the beautiful game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
An excellent read for all followers of 'the beautiful game'. What he writes about rings true and doesn't surprise me in the least - the cliques, the FA hierarchy, the run ins with players and managers, but also the humour, warmth and camaraderie Halsey enjoyed with a great many.
He wanted to referee using his common sense, yet the regulations forced him to issue cards like confetti.
Absorbing chapter about his illness and the fears and worries that accompanied those traumatic weeks. But he came out the other side with someone up there looking favourably on him and his wife and children and it was heart-warming to read.
What a courageous man - in all respects.
Thanks for writing this book and thanks for the memories you gave us football supporters.
Good luck and best wishes for the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Co writer Ian Ridley went to a great amount of trouble in order to get the book published, his efforts were completely worthwhile. This excellent piece of work allows you into an area of football where little is generally known. Mark Halsey has had an incredible life, to have responded to his severely threatening illness and to have officiated again has shown incredible human quality. His story is inspiring to all, and an inspiration to cancer sufferers. His honestly with his own refereeing errors is something to be admired. There are to many same old, same old, football books on the market currently, with tired repetition.
This offers a refreshing alternative, the subject opened up fully, and the co writer captured it perfectly. Quite simply a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
I have always enjoyed watching Mark Halsey refereeing matches on television, the enjoyment and the comardery he had with the players and so I decided to read his autobiography and I was not disappointed. What brave people, both Mark and his wife were, to both have to fight a terrible illness and also have to look after their little girl. Mark not only had to fight his illness, he also had to fight his "bosses", people who have also refereed for years and should have helped him and his colleagues more. Mark Halsey should have refereed an F A Cup Final and also should have been made head of the referees, an honour all his true friends know he deserved. Mark, you are an inspiration to young and old people alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
I have been a referee for over 30 yrs and I have met Mark Halsey and many of the top referees , I know the elite group supported this referee through his serious illness so I find it disappointing that he takes the opportunity to slate his ex colleagues both in this book and on his television programme "you are the ref" on Leeds television.
I remember some of his games and he was nowhere near as good as he thinks he was and I found his book very poor indeed .
It tells you something about a man who spends his time texting and holidaying with top managers rather than supporting his fellow referees instead of stabbing them in the back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
A searing account of life as a Premier League referee and his comeback to the top-flight after being diagnosed with cancer.
Previous books by referees have been pretty anodyne, this one certainly isn't, which is probably why it incurred the wrath of football chiefs.
There are gripping accounts of some of the most controversial moments from recent seasons and it lifts the lid on officials relationships with managers and players. There is also a powerful section, recounting how a cancer consultant told him he might never referee again, certainly not anything above games in his local park.
The prologue also explains how the book came to be published in the first place - a story in itself.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Being local to Mark Halsey, I read this mainly out of interest knowing all about his cancer battle and having dined many times at his restaurant. However, I very soon became engrossed in what really goes on behind the scenes in the world of refereeing. Having read the book I feel very angry about the way Mark Halsey was treated following his return to work following his fight with cancer. Not because he should be treated differently but the fact that he had worked so hard to get back to fitness only to be denied equal opportunities given to his peers. Thank you Mr Halsey for opening my eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)