Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, well written and excellent for referees
I have,read Graham, 'I love myself 'poll, also Jeff winters book but this is my favourite. Mark worked his balls off but got stopped from doing the big games because of politics and 'the red wine club which Mr poll, durkin the diver and Mike Dean were members. Loved his style of reffing like Phil dowd and being a level 4 ref myself I appreciate the the laws of the game...
Published 10 months ago by Magoo

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, but.....
Mark was one of my favourite referees - on the Match of the Day Programme mostly, but many other Sky occasions.

The book was of great interest for another reason - I was operated on for bowel cancer in 2009 and am lucky to be a survivor, too.

I felt the book was spoiled by Mark's apparent chip on the shoulder. Too much carping about the Chief...
Published 11 months ago by Ronald Ellis


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Respect, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Added Time: Surviving Cancer, Death Threats and the Premier League (Paperback)
A referee who was respected by players and by fans but sadly not by those in control - a referee who more than any of his era should have been awarded an FA Cup Final. The book is an enlightening read, well written and structured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Added Time: Surviving Cancer, Death Threats and the Premier League (Paperback)
Very interesting and informative autobiography following the authors journey through to the premier league list of match officials and also his personal battle. I would reccomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An honest account of the Life of a Referee, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly great read even if you are not interested in football. So many things that life will throw at you but just keep going and get on with it. A remarkable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Opened my eyes to the world of refereeing, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being local to Mark Halsey, I read this mainly out of interest knowing all about his cancer battle and having dined many times at his restaurant. However, I very soon became engrossed in what really goes on behind the scenes in the world of refereeing. Having read the book I feel very angry about the way Mark Halsey was treated following his return to work following his fight with cancer. Not because he should be treated differently but the fact that he had worked so hard to get back to fitness only to be denied equal opportunities given to his peers. Thank you Mr Halsey for opening my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shows how useless the English FA are, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes very good. Love the way he shows up the English FA, confirms what I and most football fans think,the FA are a bunch of useless, incompentent idiots, starting with the rebuilding of Wembley and playing the FA semis at Wembley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed this book and read it within 2 and half days. couldn't put it down.

was good to read about the politics in football and what goes on behind closed doors, would definitely recommend this for any football fan out their.

just a shame the powers above stopped one of the best referees in the country getting the top games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very,very good reading, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It gives an insight into what some people really thinks happens between referees and clubs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mark halsey book, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Added Time: Surviving Cancer, Death Threats and the Premier League (Paperback)
bought for my daughter who is a referee she has great respect for this referee the book she says was a very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting Spirit., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heartwarming, truthful,fighting spirit,anti establishment,spoken from the heart,no holds barred,as an ex Football League official, 1978-1988, I can relate to Mark's experiences,excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice insight and I wish Mark Halsey all the best. Its crazy what it was like for these dedicated sportsmen before Refs went pro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Added Time: Surviving Cancer, Death Threats and the Premier League
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews