Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tip Top Trip
This is an excellent collection of articles on Space Rock and all things appertaining. Like all the best writing on music, it helped me re-evaluate music I am already familiar with, and tempted me to listen to music I haven't heard before. In the former category, Marion Lloyd Langton's comments on early Hawkwind were very welcome, and Tim Blake's observations on Gong were...
Published 8 months ago by dave rock

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good
Published 3 months ago by leep


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tip Top Trip, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interstellar Overdrive: The Shindig! Guide To Spacerock (Paperback)
This is an excellent collection of articles on Space Rock and all things appertaining. Like all the best writing on music, it helped me re-evaluate music I am already familiar with, and tempted me to listen to music I haven't heard before. In the former category, Marion Lloyd Langton's comments on early Hawkwind were very welcome, and Tim Blake's observations on Gong were interesting. There are also great articles on forerunners as far diverse as Berlioz and Debussy on the one hand and Joe Meek and Exotic film themes on the other.

As you would expect, there are a few inclusions and exclusions that you might nor agree with. Were The Pink Fairies Space Rock? Sure, they hung around with Hawkwind and seemingly took a lot of drugs. But apart from that...Mind you it was a great article, and I would rather listen to, and read about them, than most others, so maybe they should be in on that score alone.

I wondered if more could have been said about The Grateful Dead. The only time they are referenced is as a possible source of inspiration for the aforementioned Fairies and as contributors to the excellent Paul Kantner album Blows Against The Empire. Live Dead surely fits the bill, opening as it does with an epic and definitive version of Dark Star, that, with the jams on the following St Stephen and The Eleven set such a template that by the time they get round to the old blues staple Death Don't Have No Mercy, even that sounds spaced out.

Another great space rock album missed is Future Games by Spirit. It features spoken exerts from television show like The Prisoner and Star Trek. And The Muppets. Indispensable! And despite my quibbles, so is this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Set The Controls..., 2 July 2014
By 
Steve Astronaut (Moon Base Bristol) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Interstellar Overdrive: The Shindig! Guide To Spacerock (Paperback)
If you are at all interested in this topic I urge you to get this. Excellent articles on the obvious bands but also lots about lesser known artists which has led to interesting new listening for me. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlimited head trips.., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interstellar Overdrive: The Shindig! Guide To Spacerock (Paperback)
Hawkwind and spacerock, from root to leaf. It will take about ten years of your life but this really is the mother of all trips. This legend will continue to grow far into the past and future..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interstellar Overdrive: The Shindig! Guide To Spacerock (Paperback)
Good, fast service. Thank you. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interstellar Overdrive: The Shindig! Guide To Spacerock (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Interstellar Overdrive: The Shindig! Guide To Spacerock
Interstellar Overdrive: The Shindig! Guide To Spacerock by Austin Matthews (Paperback - 16 Jan 2014)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews