Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting who done it
I enjoyed reading it and I am awaiting publication of the forth coming Barnaby cases. Ms Laurens is one of my favourite writers.
Published 13 months ago by bookworm

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but quite expensive
I enjoyed it, especially Penelope being pregnant and her way to deal with it. The mystery was a bit flat, being a novella it was doomed to be

Not sure if I like these novellas, I think I prefer the usual book size but nice as a small appetiser for a larger novel.

But, £2.50 is quite a lot for it, especially as it only comes as an e-book.
Published 15 months ago by Manon Stemmer

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but quite expensive, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed it, especially Penelope being pregnant and her way to deal with it. The mystery was a bit flat, being a novella it was doomed to be

Not sure if I like these novellas, I think I prefer the usual book size but nice as a small appetiser for a larger novel.

But, £2.50 is quite a lot for it, especially as it only comes as an e-book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Georgettte Heyer this is not!, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peculiar Case of Lord Finsbury's Diamonds: A Casebook of Barnaby Adair Short Novel (The Casebook of Barnaby Adair) (Paperback)
It was a pleasant read. The plot did not stretch you. Comparing it to a Georgette Heyer novel was misleading. The detail was not there and at times the book seemed more like a television costume drama. No pretence was made to use the language of the period. An easy read, but felt like it had been written to a formula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting who done it, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading it and I am awaiting publication of the forth coming Barnaby cases. Ms Laurens is one of my favourite writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book from Stephanie Laurens... Kept you gripped to find out who had done it right until the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with the Cynsters, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stephanie Laurens has created a believable family and thier connections that is always a pleasure to pick up one of her books and see how they are fairingm The stories are always as intriguing as they are passionate. The backdrop of the Regency is as ever beautifully portrayed but without shying away from the darker side of the era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good wish it had been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been waiting for another Barnaby Adair story and this novella does not disappoint. It was good how Penelope was included even on the eve of their first born. Can't wait until the next Barnaby Adair case in a full novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ms Laurens has found her metier., 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first of a series of detective cum mystery romances.
Judging by her persistent tendency to a rather "gushing narrative, this tale is a considerable improvement.
There is much anachronistic dialogue but otherwise this is a page turner
Ms Laurens must have experienced either, very exciting sexual experiences, or wishes she had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds didn't glitter, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as other Stephanie Laurens books and it seemed to be over very quickly with no time spent fleshing out the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sleuths are back., 28 April 2014
By 
tina walsh (Birkenhead, Wirral United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Barnaby Adair and Inspector Stokes are back with another case, while their wives Penelope and Griselda stay at home unable to travel. With a murder at a country house party and mystery of a diamond necklace to solve. With advice from their wives, all is revealed and the guilty person caught.

A good read and it is a stand alone novel, although some characters appear in other stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Loving Rose: The Redemption of Malcolm Sinclair: Number 3 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39)   
Buy new£6.39
In stock

By Winter's Light (Cynster Novel)
By Winter's Light (Cynster Novel) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 28 Oct. 2014)
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46)   
Buy new£6.39
In stock

The Masterful Mr Montague: Number 2 in series (From the Casebook of Barnaby Adair)
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52)   
Buy new£6.74
In stock