Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles in Close Up
Even if one reads only one of the 300 - or is it 5,000? - books on the Beatles, this has to be the one. The Beatles and Me On Tour by veteran Fleet Street show-business journo Ivor Davis is a superb page-turner.

Ostensibly produced to mark the 50th anniversary of the Beatles' iconic 1964 tour of America, this book is in fact far more than a gripping, first-hand...
Published 4 months ago by David Moller

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A little relevance and a lot of padding
Given that the main selling point of this book is that the author was actually present for the tour which supposedly 'broke the Beatles' in America, this effort was on the whole uninspiring and disjointed. No worthwhile insights of the Beatles 'behind closed doors', nor of their true behaviour behind their carefully cultivated clean-cut image were offered, besides a few...
Published 1 month ago by A customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars A little relevance and a lot of padding, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given that the main selling point of this book is that the author was actually present for the tour which supposedly 'broke the Beatles' in America, this effort was on the whole uninspiring and disjointed. No worthwhile insights of the Beatles 'behind closed doors', nor of their true behaviour behind their carefully cultivated clean-cut image were offered, besides a few whimsical and clichéd anecdotes of John's acerbic witticisms to reporters, Paul's natural PR 'charm', George's surly distatste of Beatlemania, and Ringo's amiable indifference. Nothing we didn't already know.

Similarly the accounts of the legendary meetings between The Fab Four and their musical idols Elvis and Dylan, are far too vague to be of any real significance or relevance, offering little other than a 'playlist' of songs the Beatles jammed with Elvis at their 1965 meeting, and smoking weed with Dylan in '64. Not worth reading through 300 pages for.

The lack of substance and scant information the author has to justify a book of even this meagre depth he audaciously and vainly attempts to remedy by adding completely non-relevant chapters about the artwork of The Sgt. Pepper Album, and a clumsy effort to add closure to a thread going nowhere after 200 pages, throwing in four extra chapters about his reunions with each of the Beatles at various points after their breakup. Suffice it to say that these chapters contain the most tenuous retrospective of the Beatles' association with the author during the 1964 tour, revealed by either the scant memory or vaguest of comments from each of the Fab Four about that time, shrouded by a sparse resumé of the intervening years, again nothing of which we haven't heard before.

Just another author with a loose and fleeting association to The Beatles cashing in on a tenuous personal connection and a rehash of everyone else's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles in Close Up, 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Beatles and Me on Tour (Paperback)
Even if one reads only one of the 300 - or is it 5,000? - books on the Beatles, this has to be the one. The Beatles and Me On Tour by veteran Fleet Street show-business journo Ivor Davis is a superb page-turner.

Ostensibly produced to mark the 50th anniversary of the Beatles' iconic 1964 tour of America, this book is in fact far more than a gripping, first-hand account of that stunning and spectacular event.

As one of the few journalists to cover that tour from start to finish - always on the same hotel floor and in the same set of limos as the Fab Four - Ivor Davis conveys well the hysteria, the high jinks and Hollywood hospitality that greeted the Beatles' conquest of America.

There are also some acute character sketches not just of the individual Beatles but of manager Brian Epstein and the other principals involved in the band's meteoric progress across the Rock Firmament.

There are some delicious anecdotes - most of them completely unknown to a non-rock obsessive like myself.

This book is fabulously readable and deserves to do very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking first-person account of being present with the "sweaty ..., 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Beatles and Me on Tour (Paperback)
A rollicking first-person account of being present with the "sweaty stallion" of a band around whom hysterical girls, the "flies", swarmed in 1964. Fifty years on, it is still astonishing to read about how four Englishmen were taken into American celebrity, and the author uses his closeness to the band to illuminate their own astonishment. Not just another book about the Beatles, but also a celebration of journalism as it used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really terrific read penned by an excellent writer whose coverage of ..., 8 Aug 2014
By 
MR C A WALTERS (St.Albans, Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really terrific read penned by an excellent writer whose coverage of the Beatles whilst accompanying them on their first major tour in the USA gives the reader a unique insight not only into the four very different Beatle characters but also a real flavour of the swinging Sixties. Brilliant !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.., 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished reading this fascinating insight to The Beatles' time on tour in America, when Davis had access to the public and private moments of the Fab Four and their encounters with fans and celebrities including Bob Dylan and Elvis Presley. Brilliant ... a must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Revealing, 19 Aug 2014
By 
Barry (London, England, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles and Me on Tour (Paperback)
The book certainly met my expectations. There are, particularly, some interesting revelations about Brian Epstein and some revealing insights into the behaviour of John Lennon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Stuff, 20 July 2014
This review is from: The Beatles and Me on Tour (Paperback)
Well, I was there and let me tell you: this is the real stuff. Congratulations, Ivor, on a soft-shoe shuffle down memory lane. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for any Beatles enthusiast like me.
For anyone who's read a lot about The Beatles, like I have, it's still worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles and Me on Tour (Paperback)
Ivor's book really brought the story of the 1964 tour of N. America to life. Very well written and easy to read. Adele
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles and Ivor Davis, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So interesting and informative. Enjoyed reading Ivor's story. Will read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beatles and Me on Tour
The Beatles and Me on Tour by Ivor Davis (Paperback - 19 July 2014)
£7.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews