Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tempted by the Wicked Wyr
As a magical librarian, Olivia knows the chance to pack up powerful vampyre Carling's library is a once in a lifetime opportunity, and she's fully prepared to face trouble from the Nightkind King and danger from magical manuscripts. What she doesn't expect is owl wyr Sebastian Hale, the expedition leader, or the way he makes her feel.

This fifth novella from...
Published 16 months ago by Book Gannet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
I quite like this book but it was a bit tame and predictable could do with some action however I feel the author had some good story's and I will probably read some of her other books.
Published 1 month ago by Jane`s words


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tempted by the Wicked Wyr, 17 July 2013
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a magical librarian, Olivia knows the chance to pack up powerful vampyre Carling's library is a once in a lifetime opportunity, and she's fully prepared to face trouble from the Nightkind King and danger from magical manuscripts. What she doesn't expect is owl wyr Sebastian Hale, the expedition leader, or the way he makes her feel.

This fifth novella from the Elder Races series (Dragon Bound etc) is different from the earlier four (True Colors etc), because not only were those all loosely connected by the magical tarot deck, but they were also a good place for new readers to start.

Not this one. If you haven't read Serpent's Kiss and Oracle's Moon (books 3 and 4) then there's a lot here you might not follow. Not only do old characters show up - Carling and Julian, Grace, the kids and Khalil, not to mention Khalil's damaged daughter Phaedra - but a lot of the action happens on Carling's Otherworld island. If you know the series these things all make sense, but newcomers might miss the nuances. (Then again one reviewer hasn't read them and still loved it, so what do I know?)

Regular readers, however, should enjoy this novella. Olivia and Seb are nicely angst-free, hopping quickly into their relationship with very little second guessing. Though it happens quickly, it works because of the way they get along and the chemistry between them. It also leaves more plot time for other things to happen.

My one complaint is that we never do find out why one character dislikes Seb so much. It's a minor thing, but I expected it to have some kind of deeper reason.

My favourite thing was getting to see Phaedre again and seeing how things have changed with her. I hope this means we'll be seeing even more of her in future. I love those Djinn.

In all this is a good story of magic, romance and mystical danger, steeped in the excellent setting of this world. It makes me all the more impatient to read Kinked soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read =), 2 July 2013
Olivia is chosen along with a team to safely retrieve a book collection from an Other land belonging to a Vampyre called Carling, this is where she meets Sebastian Hale, a yummy Wyr who is the Head of Security. While Olivia would rather stay in one place, Sebastian is the complete opposite as he travels a lot. Sparks instantly fly between them, will it be the start of a saucy relationship or will it only last as far as the expedition?
I liked how the story unraveled, it was full of twists and turns that kept me wanting more. Olivia is such a sweet character, I was pretty excited when she found herself attracted to Sebastian, who would have thought! I found myself egging her on when it came to him, GO OLIVIA!!
Phaedra was definitely my favourite character. Her attitude towards everything kept things interesting, you never know which way she will go. When she defends Olivia from a strong force it sealed the deal for me! She rocks!!!!!
I loved every minute I spent reading this novella and can't believe I haven't read any of the others in the series yet (I've just gone and bought the first 5 books). I will totally be putting them at the top of my TBR list! Now I'm impatiently waiting for them to arrive!

view original review at: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An "Elder Races" novella, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Olivia is part of a team sent to retrieve vampire Carling's private library. They will be dealing with some extremely black magic and will need all their skill and caution to successfully pack up the library without triggering anything they shouldn't.

Heading the team is Wyr (shape shifter) Sebastian Hale. He is desperately searching for a cure for the curse placed on him, and it doesn't look successful. He manages to hide his disability and not allow it to interfere with his everyday life but he finds himself despairing that he will ever recover. His priorities are leading a successful mission; he doesn't anticipate his attraction to Olivia to bloom into a Wyr bond.

There's plenty of action and adventure as someone in the team has their own secret mission. The relationship between Olivia and Sebastian is hot, plus the additional characters and their interactions with each other certainly increase the entertainment level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Thea Harrison s elder races books. Alas same cannot be said for new series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice story, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this novella. It was good to catch up with favourite characters and also to see previous secondary characters developed into their own stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The wicked thea harrison, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Maureen Jones (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another really good book in the elder races series it was very good and kept you enthralled all the way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story captures your imagination and makes you part of it. You take part of the journey with them and feel like you know them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great novella, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another enjoyable novella from Thea Harrison. This story is set in the same world as the Elder Race novels and we get to see the story focused on Olivia who had an appearance in Oracle Moon. Thea has the ability to give just the right amount in a Novella. A lot of novellas I have read rush the stories to make them unrealistic or don't give enough character development. Not Thea's novellas. She strikes the right balance and delivers a great story with full and rich characters. Very enjoyable read, can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill book, 22 Sep 2013
By 
J. Wymer (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You never quite know what the free books will be like. I really enjoyed the story but find them quite short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really good filler in an amazing series. Can't wait for kinked to come out counting the days till i can find out more about Liam and the wyr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wicked (Elder Races)
The Wicked (Elder Races) by Thea Harrison (Paperback - 2 July 2013)
£4.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews