Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2013
I adore Thea Harrison's Elder Races series so was so overjoyed to have the opportunity to read and review this book. This is book 6.5 in the series and in many ways goes back to the very beginning when we first met Dragos Cuelebre and his mate Pia. Their relationship has been a stormy one full of uncertainty and danger but in this novella they get to just escape from duty and relax on a brief holiday.
Well I would truly like to say that the couple together with their young son Liam- affectionately known as Peanut- just relax but this is a Thea Harrison novel so of course there's much more to it then that!
Pia has been concerned that Dragos is overworked and knows it would be good for all of them to spend chilled time together. She hatches a plot that will see Dragos deciding to take them away to Bermuda where he can indulge in his favourite pastime - Treasure Hunting! Knowing her dragon well she realises that he will enjoy the challenge and just being away will be beneficial to them all.
Arriving to discover the delights that await them the couple quickly encounter what could be pirates and the hunt is on! What could have been a romantic getaway quickly becomes more of a danger to their family then anything they've encountered before.
I absolutely loved this quick peek into the lives of Dragos , Pia and the Peanut! The author has cleverly included brief snapshots from the point of view of young Liam and it's hilairious reading! What this reader enjoyed was seeing how the Peanut is changing. He has always been written as an intelligent individual but in this book we get to see his mischievous side. Even though this is a short read Ms. Harrison still manages to incorporate heat between the two lead characters and as usual the quality of writing is a dream to read.
So in conclusion I found this to be a fabulous if short read. If a fan of the series you will love it and it just wets the appetite for the next full length book in the series.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
DRAGOS TAKES A HOLIDAY is the latest novella in Thea Harrison's Novel of the Elder Races series and one that focuses on family and friends. Both Pia and Dragos are tired: tired of the daily ins and outs of running Cuelebre Enterprises and in desperate need of time away. Hoping to relax in the sun, surf and sand of Bermuda, Dragos flies his family to the islands for a week of relaxation and treasure hunting. But not everything goes according to plans when others come hunting for the same treasure that Dragos has located.

The storyline is one many young families will sympathize with when everything in life closes in and nothing seems to go well. Pia is quickly learning that the dragon shifter she gave birth to is developing much faster than humanly possible and it is this development that will place the small family in danger of losing one of their own.

Thea Harrison pulls the reader into a sweet storyline where mommy and daddy need some time away but the `peanut' as he is affectionately called, has other plans. We watch as Liam softens the heart of a man who will kill to protect those he loves and allows us to believe that there is good amongst the evil wherever we will go.

Thea has written an engaging storyline of love and affection; family and friends; greed and revenge. Dragos Takes a Holiday shows the mischievous side of raising a dragon shifter baby and allows us another peak into the world of the leader of the Wyr and the family that he loves.

Copy supplied by the author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 November 2013
Dragos Takes a Holiday A Story of the Elder Races Thea Harrison.
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

I've read several of Thea's novels, and the first Elder Races one featuring Dragos and Pia is still my favourite so I was really pleased to get this for review. I love Dragos, he has that mix of Alpha male thing going with an at times naivety about the way the modern world works even though he's a key player in it. His attitude is "if I want it I'll have it" :) fine but sometimes a bit of tact and discretion is needed. Luckily he's got Pia who's learned to manage him really well in the year they've been together. They have the Peanut now too, Liam, their baby dragon and he's made a huge change in Dragos life. Anyway Pia decides Dragos needs a break and sets about it so he thinks the whole thing is his idea - hence the books about treasure hunting, he loves sparkly! They set off with friends Hugh and Eva for the Bermuda islands...Dragos being old knows many legends of treasure lost in that area. They find out though that treasure hunting isn't the innocent pastime Pia expected, but one which will place them all in danger.
As ever I love Dragos, and Pia is just perfect for him. It was great to "hear" Liam's voice when he was thinking of what he was going to do, what had been happening - it gave a child's sweet perspective on events. All I can say is that with the way he's growing Dragos and Pia face a fun and heart stopping future!
Its a short read - 90 pages, and priced at £1.91/$3.08. I really enjoyed it as a bit of fun, but its sweet and light, no real drama and its one that's a one off read only for me. As I know the characters it allowed me to fully understand the background info, someone new to the series might not get as much out as I did in the same way I struggled with a novella recently when I hadn't read the main series.
ARC supplied via Netgalley.
Stars: a solid four, a good fun read, but too short and light for a five from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2014
When Pia cleverly manipulates Dragos into taking a holiday, they can have time to relax, try to locate a missing sunken treasure and plan the future as their baby son is proving to be quite a handful. Baby Liam has a significant role, and remains absolutely adorable even during his unintentional escapades. DTAH may be a short read, but is has everything in it that this author normally produces; some sizzling passion, plenty of quirky humour, lots of action and moments that can hitch your breath.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This latest novella from the ELDER RACES series is a little bit different from the others, because it features two prominent main characters from the novels, (Dragon Bound, etc) Dragos and Pia - well, there's three if you include the peanut/Liam. It also has a lighter feel to the other novellas, with it being mostly about fun and frolics in the tropical sun.

However, since this is Dragos - the Dragon Lord of the Wyr - and they're staying in Bermuda, of course there's a search for lost treasure.

There's also a look inside the devious mind of a dragon baby, as Liam finds new ways to amaze and terrify his parents.

I loved this little story. Dragos and Pia are a great pair, so it's always nice to see more from them and learn how mated life is affecting them. Liam is an intriguing bundle of mischief too, and growing up far too fast.

Fans of the series should definitely enjoy this one. It makes me wonder where the rest of this series is going next. One thing I do know - I can't wait!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Every new parent will remember the first family holiday. More packing for the baby than for two adults, the new premises with strange and dangerous doors, Windows, furniture. But try taking a new baby/ Dragon and the problems multiply. A fantastic, funny, sexy, book. Well worth reading 5 star as usual
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I have read all bar one of the Elder races so far and I enjoyed this as much. It was nice to have a glimpse of the peanut aka Liam. Will there be another book with further development as Liam grows up? He is already an interesting character.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
This is a novella of The Elder Races series.

I love the way that Dragos and Pia Cuelebre interact and have done since I read the first in the series - Dragon Bound.

This takes place three months after their son, Liam, is born and is about a short holiday they take to the Caribbean, which Pia orchestrates by enticing Dragos' natural attraction to gold and sparkly things. This she does via treasure books left in the baby's room.

As usual, Dragos is just..... Dragos and Pia loves him all the more for it!

Great novella once again from Thea Harrison.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
One of the best novellas I've read this year. Pia sneakily decides that she and Dragos need a holiday to reconnect and relax, so tricks him into a treasure hunting expedition. Liam, their cute little son/baby dragon, aka The Peanut comes along. The story is a really fun and lovely read. Peanut's death defying adventures were heartstopping and the reconnection between Pia and Dragos was very romantic. Definately buy this, especially if you love the Elder Races series. Alot of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I have been waiting with baited breath for this book, and as usual Thea does not disappoint! Dragos and Pia take a holiday and take baby Liam with them, and soon the trouble begins. This was an excellent addition to the on going story of the Elder Races, and for me, a much needed glimpse into "LAL" (Life after Liam!) Loved it! Anything Thea wants to write, I'm always happy and eager to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.