Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars15
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2013
The author is an A330 training captain for Delta Air Lines. His description of the Airbus A330 systems is very informative. This is a very well-balanced and insightful account of the events that led up to the loss of AF447. As a training captain, his conclusions focus on the need for improved pilot training. A very worthwhile read for anyone interested in the subject.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Extremely well written, this book aims to establish the facts surrounding AF447 and analyse why the pilots acted as they did. Too easy is the phrase "pilot error". It should serve as a forceful reminder of the very real dangers inherent in relying too heavily on automation at the expense of basic flying skills. This is not to blame the pilots, but rather to explain that they were placed in an untenable position for which their training had not prepared them nearly thoroughly enough.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
I've read hundreds of internet posts on AF447 and the full BEA report. Nothing could be a clearer account of all the circumstances and factors of this accident. It is not the deepest technical account imaginable, so might not satisfy an Airbus qualified pilot, and it is perhaps too specialised for someone with no interest or knowledge of aviation - but for everyone in between, who might have an interest in this accident, I would recommend it 100%

I agreed with the reviewer who thought there was a touch too much emphasis on pilot handling and a touch too little on the Airbus systems and instrument/control/automation/ logic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
well laid out and for the most part understandable for those with some knowledge of flying, even if not a qual pilot, seems like a lot has been learned from this disaster at least
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
A detailed, fascinating and necessarily technical account of the disaster. It is lucid and has excellent and easily understood descriptions of the problems of the flight crew.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
The detail is well presented and I certainly agree with his analysis about better training; intuitively pilots should be able to fly a 'normal' aircraft rather than just lead and guide the technology. But I also worry about the technology itself. When the French BEA were presented with AF447 it was fairly obvious that the outcome would have to be pilot error. To find otherwise would imply that Airbus avionics might be at fault and the French would never accept that.
But at the end of the day there were two and then three qualified pilots looking at instruments and they did not know what was going on. Not at all. Either our understanding of what makes a pilot is wrong or we have a serious systems issue here. I incline toward the latter.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Exceptional clear and fully explained understanding of the whole issue of glass cockpit automation and pilot training leading to the loss of AF447. For the non pilot it may be a little difficult to fully grasp the aviation issues. From the Private Pilot upwards it should be compulsory reading. Excellent read but at the same time worrying that perhaps Training is behind its own power curve?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
If you are expecting a dramatic non fiction account of what happened to this tragic flight then this isn't for you. If you are an interested amateur or work in the industry or just simply want to know in technical terms what happened this is a brilliantly researched book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Although I have been flying and instructing on A330's and A340's for fifteen years, I learned a lot from this book ! It is extremely well written by a pilot who really knows his stuff.
Every Airbus pilot should have an own copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
A balanced and thoughtful review of what happened, and possibly a timely warning of what can happen to "children of the magenta line" if training doesn't improve. There but for the grace of God etc, etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)