Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something every writer needs
Angela and Becca have done it again.If you want more than paper characters this is the book for you. Paired with their negative thesaurus you can create some truly interesting charters. It's super friendly to read and gives so much thought and insight to every trait.
I highly recommend their emotion thesaurus and to visit their web site 'writers helping writers'
Published 14 months ago by Astara

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Character Traits
If you're on the path of Self-discovery then The Positive Trait Thesaurus will bring Conflict and Confusion to your life, in its Synonyms of Positive Character Traits, which pose no real Challenge or Threat in the reading of this book, and no real Reason 'to' read a book on Character Attributes.
If you're on the path of a Writer, then this book may appeal to the less...
Published 5 months ago by Cruella


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something every writer needs, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Positive Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Attributes (Writers Helping Writers) (Paperback)
Angela and Becca have done it again.If you want more than paper characters this is the book for you. Paired with their negative thesaurus you can create some truly interesting charters. It's super friendly to read and gives so much thought and insight to every trait.
I highly recommend their emotion thesaurus and to visit their web site 'writers helping writers'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a Should Have for all Writers, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one in a trio of books which help authors to develop real and intense characters. Despite the title this book is so much more than just a mere thesaurus. It starts by introducing character development and the different traits which give them depth and humanity. This in itself is enough for this to be one of the best around, but it truly excels when it comes to the Thesaurus. There is an index of words which describe positive traits in your character. I have the ebook, so click on this word and it takes you to an in depth discussion in ways in which this can be used in your book. This includes a definition, categories for the word, similar attributes, possible causes for this attribute, associated behaviours that go with the attribute, associated thoughts the character might have, associated emotions, positive aspects, possible negative aspects of the attribute, examples from literature traits in supporting characters that may cause conflict and challenging scenarios for the character with this attribute.

As you can see from the above this is no one word attribute, but an in depth discussion which can assist with the development of lifelike characters. This book. Is outstanding. It covers everything you can think of and then some more. No author should ever be without this book. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Any new author needs to read this and have it at hand. Any established author will still find this useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every new writer should have one., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Positive Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Attributes (Writers Helping Writers) (Paperback)
I purchased the first book in this series, The Emotion Thesaurus, and that was most insightful and incorporates a very wide range of
character emotions. This second book in the series is a must and helps you delve into the character, building from the bottom up, with a wide range of options to make your character believable and realistic.
Highly recommend this book, a must for your book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful book, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Positive Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Attributes (Writers Helping Writers) (Paperback)
I have already used this book in my writing and find it very useful. Yes I know I could just use a dictionary or thesaurus but it had words that I hadn't thought of for some situations listed at the front and saved a lot of time flicking through pages of a wordier book . I liked it so much I bought the other two in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required for any writer's tool kit., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Positive Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Attributes (Writers Helping Writers) (Paperback)
Get this along with the other two in this series of reference books to help you with all creative writing. This compliments the Negative Trait Thesurus perfectly.

Finding Esta: #1 The Supes Series (Urban Fantasy Paranormal & Mystery) by Shah Wharton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ref. Books, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find this book most helpful and will keep it to hand when I'm writing. Thanks you very much Angela.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Positive Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Attributes (Writers Helping Writers) (Paperback)
What a thoughtful attempt to teach us to look at our characters. A book I keep close by when writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide that helps you steer away from using the ..., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great guide that helps you steer away from using the same tired old phrases over and over again.
It lists all the positive traits with an explanation of internal and external reactions, the types of people that may exhibit these reactions, the downfalls of these traits and gives examples of films in which those types of characters have been portrayed successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... thought process if only to prompt you when needed- Good stuff., 1 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part of a trilogy of essential additions to any writers thought process if only to prompt you when needed- Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For serious writers only., 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Positive Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Attributes (Writers Helping Writers) (Paperback)
If you are a serious writer, you need this book. Buy it, worth more than expensive writing courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews