Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second in a trio of books which are, I feel, an essential part of any publishers toolkit. Like the Positive Trait Thesaurus the first few chapters cover the negative traits which will help the writer to develop a realistic character. It discusses how, characters, no matter how good or evil they are, need to display opposite traits which make the seem believable. There is an overview of the types of characters which are so deplorable that no one can identify with them and how these can be changed by the way ins which they are portrayed.

Following helpful and useful introductory chapters, the book becomes even more useful when the Thesaurus is used. This is more than your average Thesaurus, providing an in depth exploration of a word and its use in writing fiction. It provides a definition of the word, similar flaws, possible causes, associated behaviours and attitudes, associated thoughts, associated emotions, positive aspects, negative aspects, examples from film, overcoming this trait as a major flaw, and traits in supporting characters that cause conflict.

As a tool for writers this book cannot be faulted, and is in fact outstanding. This is a not to be missed book for all writers, whether new or established. Buy it now you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negative Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Flaws (Paperback)
Highly recommend this book. Insightful. Gives you gritty options to create realistic characters. Like the other two in the series, the opening chapters delve into the numerous negative aspects of human nature and potential causes. Great food for thought giving the writer interesting choices.
It is well worth reading the website, Writers helping Writers, the book muse. A great aid for all writers.
Can't thank the Authors enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negative Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Flaws (Paperback)
I have already used this book in my writing and find it very useful. Yes I know I could just use a dictionary or thesaurus but it had words that I hadn't thought of for some situations listed at the front and saved a lot of time flicking through pages of a wordier book . I liked it so much I bought the other two in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negative Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Flaws (Paperback)
If you write for pleasure or for a living, you need this in your tool kit. Just like the other two of these essential reference books, it will help your writing no end.

Finding Esta: #1 The Supes Series (Urban Fantasy Paranormal & Mystery) by Shah Wharton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Character Tools, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negative Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Flaws (Paperback)
Brilliant, innovative, a real pleasure to use for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
incredibly useful little guide. great for budding authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fan-tast-ic!!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negative Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Flaws (Paperback)
i chose this rating because it is awesome and i shall explain why too. The book covers a whole range of negative traits and it helps you understand your characters in a depth of why they have developed a trait because of certain things that have happened to them. This is fantastic because the book explains the reasons as to why the character could be a nagger - or cynical - it will show assosiated thoughts and behaviours - and the best part is it will show the positive and negative traits of every single trait.
I didnt think of this before i picked up this book in this way. For example, an abrasive character - isnt very much liked and mostly people think when they are around him or her that they dont care if they hurt please or offend and people struggle to like them... so how can you find anything positive about this trait? But with an abrasive character you can form a kind of respect for them like you dont have to fluster yourself and seccond guess them, you know what they think or feel because they are telling you and showing you, and when you need someone to honnestly reveal a difficult truth - these are the characters to do it.
It will show you their assisiated thoughts that they will think like... i'd say just get the book. It is a book to sink your teeth into and you can get to explore around every character you ever choose to write - just get it - i cant express how much this book has helped me give my characters layers and how they respond to each other...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ref. Book, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another reference book written by Angela Ackerman that I will keep to hand when I am writing. I find it most helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars esme., 3 Mar 2014
i can only give this book 4 stars for one reason: at the end of each entry the authors list examples from film and literature, an excellent idea. Unfortunately they seem to have a very limitedknowledge, particularly of film. So we get numerous examples from a tiny cross section. If you have good knowledge of Harry Potter, Dead Poets Society and any number of teen comedies, this won't bother you. If you don't, this will irritate he hell out of you, as it did me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negative Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Flaws (Paperback)
What a thoughtful attempt to teach us to look at our characters. A book I keep close by when writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Negative Trait Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Flaws
9.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews