Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Peak at The Novel on Roman History, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a Tour de Force A great read especially when you read his previous books on Roman military history. You really must read the earlier novels first. Nearly as good as Colleen Mc Culloughs First Man in Rome series and that is Praise indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TOUR DE FORCE, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of Augustus-Marching With Caesar: 5 (Paperback)
To date, I have read all the Marching with Caesar episodes, and I am proud to have them in my Roman library, albeit fiction, the author's historical research is impressive, his narrative in the first person sucks you into the world of Titus Pullus to such a degree, that the reader is transported back in time.

The perfect companion to this excellent series is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beaker.Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker Ron Peake is the proud owner of one, in his review he says:

The workmanship is outstanding, and while I am certainly no expert on pieces of this type, it has a substantial feel to it; when I pick it up there's nothing flimsy about it and one can feel and see the craftsmanship that went into it. The engraved figures are extraordinarily detailed; All in all I couldn't be happier with the Calix and what it represents. Truly Rome is eternal if even now people around the world are still interested in the Legions, and this Calix is a worthy representative of that time and place!Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

In this the 5th sequel, apart from being a gripping and sometimes emotional read, the author highlights the Titus inner man, knowing the mind-set of the Roman patrician order, in respect to awarding positions of high command on the basis of class, with the premise that they are more fit to lead.

Titus has to adapt to more subtle ways to usurp command when confronted by inept patrician officers. He wistfully harks back to Caesar, his fairness and his bid to infiltrate the republican (patrician) system by promoting men of worth, both political and military, from diverse backgrounds to the higher echelons. Thus he abrogated the power of the patricians, this being the main reason for his assassination.

There are few authors of historical fiction that actually devote time, or indeed have any idea of military leadership qualities. Ron Peake has done so, with an in-depth knowledge. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Titus pullo goes from strength to strength his story unfolding makes you believe you are there will be sad when the series finishes but look forward to more of the same from this excellent author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very short review, if you have read the rest, this is a no brainer. Its the same standard as the preceding 4 books and continues our hero's trials and tribulations in the army of Rome. If you haven't read the previous 4, buy them as they are right up with the historical fiction book of Iggulden, Gemmell and Cornwall. I can give no higher praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marching with R W Peake, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The other 5 star reviews say it all. I could not put this book down. From the first epic volume through to this one I have enjoyed every page and followed the development of Titus Pullis with interest. OK .. it's an old story in as much as a young man joins the Forces and works his way up to become top dog ( actually Titus reminds me a lot of the Hornblower ) but the telling of the tale is first class. It's all the more surpising coming from an American ( sorry RWP !) and I've had to revise my opinion that the USA forces do not comprise of Sgt Bilko's -now that's giving my age away ! If anyone out there is going to read this series of books make sure you read them in sequence and put the effort into wading through the first volume and getting to know how things worked back then. It seems to me that as Titus has become a better soldier so RWP has become a better story teller. A great series of books ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marching with Caesar -Rise of Augustus - Octavian following Julius Caesar's legacy., 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt that there was something missing to connect this book to the previous book in the series. It was still a thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best authors /brilliant series/history brought to life,you could almost be there with the the men feeling their joy/sadness/and hardship...Well done I have enjoyed every book of marching with Caesar..Thank You..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
from the first book to the last DAy and night time reading found it riviting wanted to know what happens next recommended highly when is the next book of mr peake coming scarrow and saylor watch out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marching with Caesar - Rise of Augustus, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. James A. Kane "j A Kane" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
R.W. Peake does it yet again, the already high standards in story telling, intrigue and fast paced action of his earlier "Marching With Caesar" works are eclipsed in "Rise of Augustus"
Titus Pullus the newly appointed Camp Prefect and there for 2nd in command of the army faces battles both on and off the battlefield.
R.W. Peake has written the storyline and characters in such a way that you are swept along in all that befalls them.
A great read and well deserving of its 5 STARS
I am already getting impatient for the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STORY, BASED ON EVENTS OF THE TIME, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written to the minutest details. Based on events of the time,well research. I can read this book over and over again and still not get fed up with it. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise of Augustus-Marching With Caesar: 5
Rise of Augustus-Marching With Caesar: 5 by R. W. Peake (Paperback - 1 Aug 2013)
11.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews