Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING READ, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Lucy Maud "book lover" (Harrow, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am always a little apprehensive when reading a P&P sequel and have been disappointed by many. Not with this one though.

In the words of a much-loved comedian, "all the notes are there, but not necessarily in the right order". So it is with this book. The author has jumbled all the known scenes and speeches around, sometimes attributing them to other protagonists, but everything we loved in the Original is reproduced. He has added humour to the mix and some of the action in the original is fleshed out, notably the discovery of Wickham and Lydia and the exchange between Darcy and Wickham, which led to the eventual marriage. The time frame has also been tightened up so that Lizzy and Darcy acknowledge their feelings for each other much sooner than in the Jane Austen original. I must say that I liked this, as I have never been one to practise patience!

There are several deviations from the original in regard to Mary Bennett and Charlotte Lucas, but I will leave this for you to discover.

Jack Caldwell has done a cracking job here of a much-loved story. Thoroughly recommend it. It is a delightful, light-hearted tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A more faithful narrative, 9 Feb 2014
I have read numerous Pride and Prejudice variations but this was unlike many of the others. In many respects it is a more faithful retelling with variations on each of the main episodes. We see Mary marry Mr Collins, Jane refuse Mr Bingley and a guest appearance by Captain Tilney.

For those readers who prefer a novel more in keeping with the original this is much more traditional in style and the behaviour of the characters more in keeping with the times.

This book is thoroughly enjoyable, but lacks the pace and drama of many other variations owing to it being more in keeping with the original. Personally I liked that. I have given it 4 stars rather than 5 due to some spelling errors which distracting and a real pet hate of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Companion of his future life, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a brilliantly executed alternative tale the original one of Pride and Prejudice. I thoroughly enjoyed it and have no hesitation in recommending this to all those who like regency love stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Charming and Fantastic!, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Imagine a world where Mary marries Mr Collins. How could Mr Darcy even entertain the idea of such a ridiculous man as his brother? Would things be terribly different from the way that the original Pride and Prejudice played out?

This story begins at the time of Mr Collins proposal, only this time he asks Mary. What follows is a story that is fantastically enjoyable and at times laugh out loud funny. Caldwell cleverly includes passages from the original Austen novel - though often displaced in time or spoken by different characters. It works extremely well. I'm no expert, and the language in general may not be perfectly Austen, but it reads well and to my mind, was not greatly out of place. I'm not entirely convinced that some of the characters would quite behave as they do, but it was fun thinking about them in this way.

I read it from cover to cover in a day as I just couldn't put it down (although, going to bed at 6.30am for a 7.30am start was not ideal!). If you're a fan of P&P, Darcy and Elizabeth and are prepared to be a little open minded, I'm sure that you'll love it as much as I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth a read, I always wanted Mr Collins to choose Mary instead of Elizabeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Well Written, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although very close in storyline to the original, this P&P variation manages to bring a fresh perspective to the tale of Darcy, Lizzie et al. Largely, by attributing original dialogue to different characters and slight changes in plot, the book manages to keep the feel of this classic tale. A few Americanisms creep in, as they often do with these books, for example, I cannot imagine any Englishman, today or in Georgian times, ever using the phrase "peace, cuz" when calming his cousin down. But otherwise this is a good example of an entertaining and well written Variation. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary and Ann, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. S. Keenliside "s j keenliside" (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Companion of His Future Life (Paperback)
I liked in this book that Mary is Mr Collins wife she as better controle over him then Charlotte Lucas did and she becomes very good friends with Anne and seems to match make ever one up. Could not put this book down it was a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost five stars, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But, although I enjoyed the variation very much it felt as though the ending was rushed and one more chapter would have balanced out the book nicely. Jack Cafdwell writes with humour and a knowledge of the period which adds to the enjoyment of the story. I will be looking out for his future work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a another great effort from this author, not quite a hilarious as 'Mr Darcy Came to a Dinner,' but still witty, effortlessly chivalrous and romantic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an enjoyable read, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed Jack Caldwell's 'Mr Darcy Came to Dinner', with many laugh out loud moments, so had high hopes for this book and was not disappointed. I read these books for entertainment and was thoroughly entertained by this one from beginning to end. I loved Mary as Mrs Collins and the journey Mr Caldwell has given her. The way she handles Mr Collins made me smile and at times laugh out loud as she got her own way.

The main plot twists of Pride and Prejudice remain intact and much of the dialogue is there but not always from the mouths of those you expect, but this is definitely an original retelling with Jane and Lizzy experiencing much more of the tale together, thus giving Jane much more room to grow.

If you enjoy Pride and Prejudice 'What-ifs', I recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Companion of His Future Life
The Companion of His Future Life by Jack Caldwell (Paperback - 3 Jan 2014)
£7.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews