Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2013
Although this is quite expensive, I believe it is well worth the outlay. I have many books on diet and nutrition covering many different approaches to healthy eating and weight control and was surprised to find this such an informative and entertaining read. Whilst other diet and nutrition authors give extremely good information, the subject matter can, at times, be a bit 'dry' and the diets rather restrictive, but these two ladies not only know their stuff but live in the' real world' and have written the book in a thoroughly entertaining, enlightening and unique way.

They make no secret of the fact that they are practicing Christians and refer to the bible throughout; however this doesn't detract from the content of the book, which covers all aspects of living a healthy lifestyle including discussions on family life, sex, intimacy, menopause and its associated problems, supplementation and exercise.

I've read about very low carb diets, food combining diets, primeval diets, high protein diets, high fat diets etc, etc, but this book has a new approach in that they advocate not eating fat and carbs together at the same meal and making sure that when you do have a carb meal, that it contains protein and is portion controlled. They explain the science behind all their theories and have been living their lifestyle for a few years before putting their findings and experience into print.

I believe that anyone reading this book with a view to losing weight will succeed if all the guidelines are followed, but it will also help those who need to keep their blood sugar levels on an even keel without resorting to extreme measures which does not suit everyone, for various reasons. There are some ingredients that are used in their recipes that are more readily available in the USA and they do use alternative sweeteners like xylitol and stevia, but as long as you understand the principles of their approach it's quite easy to make up your own menus and use your own preferred ingredients.

Just one more thing, although it's a paperback, it's more like a hardcover book with a soft cover. It is about 3.5cm thick and measures 19x 24cm and is quite heavy, so don't expect a small item!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
It's a big book but worth reading if you are serious about maintaining a healthy weight and lifestyle. Its funny, very thorough and practical and full of great info about what is best to put into our bodies without having to constantly count calories! Definitely worth purchasing and taking in the principles to change yours and your loved ones health and weight issues.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
The THM lifestyle is so easy to follow. Granted the book is a huge read but it covers so much, and I found it great learning some of the science behind the diet which has really helped to motivate me. It's also great being given tons of recipes which are yummy and really adaptable for a whole family. The plan takes a little getting used to, as does any lifesyle change but it's been wonderful and we are feeling much better for it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
This has been very helpful. Contains loads of info about diet and health in general and not just for ladies. Reading this book has changed the way I think about food. Have only been eating this way for a month or so and have lost some weight but more importantly I feel better both mentally and physically.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Really impressed and going to be starting the way of eating as soon as she can locate some of the products.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Trim Healthy Mama is an extensive book (607 pages to the index), aimed at Christian wives and mums who want to make sure they and their families are eating and living healthily, and who possibly want to lose some weight themselves. It starts with the scientific studies and scripture which led the authors (two sisters, and daughters of Colin and
Nancy Campbell of Above Rubies), to their approach to healthy eating. This leads on to how they structure their diet- Satisfying, Energizing and Full Pull meals, and lots of recipes for Breakfasts, Lunches, Evening Meals, Desserts and even Snacks. The sisters (Pearl and Serene), treat the reader as a close friend and there are a musing cartoons of them throughout. The latter part of the book focuses on hormones, married intimacy and exercise. I am really pleased I bought this book- it makes losing weight and getting healthy easy and fun, and is a long term, rest of your life approach, rather than a fad diet which you do for a while, lose weight, then pile it all back on again when you go back to your old ways. The recipes are easy to make and I like the fact that tasty desserts and snacks are included that not only work on the plan, plan but my husband and children enjoy also! The only downside to the Trim Healthy Mama way of doing things is that some of the nicer recipes require ingredients that are not easily or cheaply available in UK shops,such as glucomannan and coconut oil. However, Amazon do sell them, so that's a bonus!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
This book is changing my life! The information is easy to read and the plan is brilliant! Fits in with my busy lifestyle and the weight is coining off! My children love the good so no cooking separate meals and I feel great!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
this book covers absolutely everything you would need to know about living a healthy life. its so accessible, funny, real and informative. wish I had found it ages ago! Its taken me a while to get all the necessary ingredients to be able to do the recipes, buying a few products online (amazon) and local asian stores. I wish everyone could read this - it would make such a difference in everyones lives. There are a few small areas I dont fully agree with, and in some ways I find them a bit extreme, but I guess you need to be passionate and very informed when you write a book, and that they are.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
The sisters have faithfully read the bible and made research into what way best to treat our body's to the nutrients it need. I am so very happy that someone introduced me to this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
I've lost over 10kg with this way of eating, and my health is better than ever. It's a very big book with so much advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)