Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two for the price of one!
Two amazing authors, two fantastic stories. I love this! What an interesting new world. It's a good thing we don't just get one story at a time cause they aren't long enough!

Alex and Laura have both written a story set in the same world and although you can tell who wrote which, they work really well together. Each novella is set on one couple however there is...
Published on 7 Jan. 2013 by Mich_Mc

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars so not what i expected from 2 great authors! 2.5 stars
this book for me was a 'must-have' read as i love each author and their individual books. so for me the fact that there was a new series that they joined together to write, i naturally assumed it would be great.
i am surprised by other reviews as this book was seriously lacking in numerous ways. i know whether i was aware of the works by each author or was a newcomer...
Published 20 months ago by Lena platt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two for the price of one!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two amazing authors, two fantastic stories. I love this! What an interesting new world. It's a good thing we don't just get one story at a time cause they aren't long enough!

Alex and Laura have both written a story set in the same world and although you can tell who wrote which, they work really well together. Each novella is set on one couple however there is an ongoing story arc and the supporting characters are recurring and their characters are being developed. I love how each novella builds upon the story that came before, further developing the world so there is no need for a huge info dump in the beginning.

Parish - what an ending! Grrrr! When's the next one? (April!!!)

I'm looking forward to reading Bayon - I'm allsorts of curious about him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars so not what i expected from 2 great authors! 2.5 stars, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raphael/Parish: 1 (Bayou Heat) (Paperback)
this book for me was a 'must-have' read as i love each author and their individual books. so for me the fact that there was a new series that they joined together to write, i naturally assumed it would be great.
i am surprised by other reviews as this book was seriously lacking in numerous ways. i know whether i was aware of the works by each author or was a newcomer to their work, i would still be of the same opinion, though perhaps not quite as disappointed.
the book is 'very' short and each story felt as if their were pages missing.the overall idea would perhaps have been better if each were expanded. however, the writing for me also fell flat.the characters were thin and underdeveloped, and with the lack of insight it was hard to truly get into each story.i dont believe this was entirely due to length either.there was such a lack of detail, and other short stories i have read have still managed to include this.
i think fans of these authors will probably be disappointed the most.they are both very talented authors, though with the overall standard of this book it would be difficult to believe that.i would recommend people check out their other books,but truly could not recommend this one. i don't normally give up on a series easily and understand that often the first book is more of a foundation for whats to come,so in essence not always the best in a series.however,there wasn't even basic foundations to be found here, so i very much doubt that i will read the next.this one really is not worth the money paid or even the very short time spent reading it. 2.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great start to a new series, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alexandra ivy's story Raphael is the best read, I just wish it was longer. The characters are great, you fall in love with Raphael immediately, the romance scenes are well done and very hot!!

Laura wrights story was a bit boring to me, the characters were great but it lacked the romance that I read in the first story.

Im not a fan of laura wrights work which is probably why I didn't enjoy her story, I only bought this ebook because of alexandra ivy as she has become one of my favourite authors and I will buy the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab new series, but i wish the individual books were longer. It feels your just getting into the story and it ends. I would def recomend this series and cant wait for the next installment x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a new series, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
BAYOU HEAT (Raphael/Parish) Book #1 by Alexandra Ivy and Laura Wright

ABOUT THE NOVELLAS: Released January 2013

RAPHAEL

The brilliant and dangerous diplomat of the Pantera shapeshifters, Raphael has devoted his life to discovering the key to the infertility that is threatening the extinction of his puma race. Creating a vast network of spies worldwide, he never expected to discover that the answer might be beneath his very nose. But when Ashe, a beautiful human female, crosses his path, his most primitive instincts are stirred. Unable to resist, he takes her to his bed, and is shocked when she becomes pregnant with his child. It's a miracle that might prove to be the salvation of his people, but only if he can keep her safe from the mercenaries determined to kill her.

REVIEW: RAPHAEL is the first storyline written by Alexandra Ivy for the new release BAYOU HEAT (Raphael/Parish). Like many novellas, Raphael is a very quick read, but there is enough character and world building that the reader doesn't feel left hanging. The introductory prologue reveals the pertinent information required by the reader to know exactly what is going on. As the storyline develops, circumstances allow the characters to relate their experiences and life changes in a relatively short period of time. We are aware of some of the history of the elusive Pantera shapeshifters and hopefully more will be revealed as each story is released.

PARISH

Untamed and undeniably sexy, Parish, leader of the Pantera hunters, rarely leaves the magic of the Wildlands to deal with the humans he despises. But with the prized and risky Pantera birth on the way, puma shifter, Parish must travel to New Orleans to find and bring back a human doctor. The moment he sees the lovely, talented and all too human Dr. Julia Cabot he cannot resist the wild, potent drive to make her his. Betrayed and destroyed by love, Julia will not let her heart choose her path again. But as she and Parish fight to save the life of an unborn child, a fierce and overwhelming bond develops between them, threatening her frozen heart with the secret hope and ultimate temptation of love and family.

REVIEW: PARISH is the second storyline (written by Laura Wright) in the new BAYOU HEAT series of novellas. Parish begins quickly on the heels of Raphael. More details involving the history and lore of the Pantera are revealed including some of the political ranking and break down of the Pantera community including Suits, Hunters, Nurturers and a Shaman. We are introduced to some of the other Pantera members whose storylines have yet to be told.

Raphael and Parish read together like a continuous storyline. Raphael and his mate Ashe are expecting and, Parish's storyline focuses on the need for a human doctor to bring the new life into the world. But like all shapeshifting societies there are those who want to cause harm. And at the end of PARISH we learn that one of their own may be responsible for using dark magic against a mother and her unborn child.

BAYOU HEAT-Raphael and Parish is a wonderful introduction to the BAYOU HEAT series co-written by authors Alexandra Ivy and Laura Wright. Each author has submitted their own storyline and the overall feel to the continuous story is smooth and easy flowing. I am looking forward to the next instalment.

see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe(dot)com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. I did not want it to end and now need the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shifter, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book,it's story is so well written I couldn't put it down,I'm looking forward to the next book in the series,I would recommend to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic way to begin a series...., 13 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With immediate submersion into the story this book is fantastic. Containing two individual novels, we are able to take a look at the lives of two Pantera, puma shifters. Raphael is a `Suit' or diplomat for the Pantera and forms a connection with Ashe; a human who should not have been important to him. Parish is the lead `Hunter' and detests humans due to a past incident, this doesn't stop him from finding and taking Julia, a doctor that is needed at home in the Wildlands. The stories interconnect rather than follow on from each other, but the reader will benefit from reading them in order. The characters are wonderful, providing a deep emotional draw for the reader. The interaction throughout the story-line pulls the reader into a world that we wish existed. Exceptionally well written this story if full of complex character interaction and a flowing plot.

After reading the first novel and before reading the second I found myself compelled to purchase the next books, due solely on how enjoyable i found the first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that captures and holds you ! Can't wait for the next one. These are great books and very sexy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Story..., 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the narrative of these two books but for me it felt like I read half a book and left it there. These would be great stand alone books if they were carried on further but they still sucked me in and I liked reading them and no doubt will be getting the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raphael/Parish: 1 (Bayou Heat)
Raphael/Parish: 1 (Bayou Heat) by Laura Wright (Paperback - 12 April 2013)
£4.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews