Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelation, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
As a Tai Chi practitioner I had tried Zhan Zhuang over the years but always thought it was simply an exercise in stamina and to build strength in the legs. I always found it too painful to move past a 5 minute stand.
This book has opened my eyes to its possibilities and through the in-depth explanation of how to stand I was immediately able to stand for a full 10 minutes. The micro adjustments necessary are carefully explained and at time of writing I am standing for 15 minutes a day and fully expect to reach my realistic aim of 25 minutes before too long.
Don't get me wrong - this is hard work. I find the first 5 minutes the worst where you need to continually examine each part of your body for correct alignments - however once comfortable the mental problems arise and impatience kicks in. But every now and then a period of complete emptiness occurs which is wonderful.
I have suspect ageing knees and this exercise has helped them hugely in a matter of weeks.... less stiff and no pain. I just need to work on my creaking shoulders now.
Amazing book! Only slight criticism is the photographs were not perhaps as clear as line drawings could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knowledgeable, 6 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
I have taught this exercise for years, mainly as a prelim to tai chi or chi gung. Since using Mark's book I have extended teaching to include this as a stand-alone health and/or internal strength exercise. Full of in-depth description and explanation, I have learned a great deal from the book but I am certain this will be only a fraction of what Mark knows. I await a follow up or perhaps dvd. Excellent book recommend 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Internal Arts, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. A. Robinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
Having been a practitioner of Tai chi since 1986 and teacher from 1994. Mark contacted me about his book so purchased a copy. Very informal, easy to understand. a must for any practitioner. Teaches you body alignments to power energy through the body for healing, or martial arts. Originally standing exercises had some 200 hand postures. Through pictures Mark has brought the best into his book. Whether ordinary meditator, Internal Arts student, or Martial Artist, this is a great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zhan Zhuang, an experiential guide., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
Excellent guide book and reference guide for the experienced practitioner and for the beginner. Very good illustrations and descriptions of postures, and an excellent description of the processes involved in standing meditation and its results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lifelong voyage of discovery., 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
Given the not inconsiderable cost of this book, I'm a bit disappointed in the amateurishness of the finished product. Some of the photos are out of focus and Mark's grasp of when to use "it's" and "its" is very shaky. Would the budget not have run to paying someone to proof read it?
Regarding the content, however, it's fascinating and will provide a lifelong journey of discovery for me. I was particularly interested in the description of his "Kundalini" awakening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
This is excellent. Clear, concise, safe and well presented.

I am not a student of the author so this review is impartial.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shows what you ca do with the Wuji stance, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
Great for relaxation for tai chi practitioners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift for my Daughter, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
This book was on the top of my daughter's Christmas list. She could not wait to start reading it. She was very pleased I purchased it for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
Dcjenkinson "Dougie" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition
Inside Zhan Zhuang: First Edition by Mark Cohen (Paperback - 27 Feb. 2013)
£16.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews