Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for trainers, a MUST for owners of Fired Up dogs
Laura VanArenbrook Baugh is one of the most experienced & well qualified trainers around. In this, her new book, she presents a step-by-step training plan for dogs who behave reactively. She gives explanations & instructions in ways that are clear & accessible to dog owners, setting both the dogs & the owners up for success everytime. The book is readable, witty &...
Published 21 months ago by lindavtsonc

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but almost entirely impractical
I have a highly reactive dog, particularly towards other dogs when out for a walk.
After reading other reviews I expected this to be just what I needed... I was wrong.

The book explains the physiological aspects of the reactive dog in a way that is informative, humorous, and easy to understand. So far, so good.

Then the book puts the theory into...
Published 9 months ago by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but almost entirely impractical, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fired Up, Frantic, and Freaked Out: Training the Crazy Dog from Over the Top to Under Control (Paperback)
I have a highly reactive dog, particularly towards other dogs when out for a walk.
After reading other reviews I expected this to be just what I needed... I was wrong.

The book explains the physiological aspects of the reactive dog in a way that is informative, humorous, and easy to understand. So far, so good.

Then the book puts the theory into practice. It requires the owner to train their dog to remain calm whilst ON A MAT. Now, this would be great if my dog was reactive in the house, but he isn't. The example in the book continues to use the idea of a dog that barks etc at the doorbell going/ postman/ visitor to the house.
My dog is reactive outside the house and the "tips" offered around this are ridiculously impractical. "Carry the mat with you on your walk" and another one includes having to train your dog whist getting someone else to come near with their dog (that is also an unknown dog that your dog will react to but that you can also direct at a distance!?!)

Great if your dog has a problem in the house, poor if (like mine) the issues are outside.

3 stars given as the price is great and I would recommend it to anyone who needs/wants to understand fear physiology in dogs and/or has a indoor doggie issue.
Would absolutely NOT recommend for any other issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for trainers, a MUST for owners of Fired Up dogs, 15 Jan 2013
This review is from: Fired Up, Frantic, and Freaked Out: Training the Crazy Dog from Over the Top to Under Control (Paperback)
Laura VanArenbrook Baugh is one of the most experienced & well qualified trainers around. In this, her new book, she presents a step-by-step training plan for dogs who behave reactively. She gives explanations & instructions in ways that are clear & accessible to dog owners, setting both the dogs & the owners up for success everytime. The book is readable, witty & empathic. As a force-free, positive professional dog trainer, I can highly recommend this book, & will be doing so to my clients, as well as keeping my own copy on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ins-and-outs of teaching a solid settle to serial canine over-reacters, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fired Up, Frantic, and Freaked Out: Training the Crazy Dog from Over the Top to Under Control (Paperback)
SUMMARY: The ins-and-outs of teaching a solid settle to serial canine over-reacters.

AUDIENCE: The author primarily wrote this book for owners, but the protocols may be too demanding for that readership without the encouragement of a professional.

REVIEW:

In a nutshell: Another book in the recent trend of reducing prompting, and letting the dog work it out more. This one focuses on mat work, or how to teach your dog to relax at the mere sight of your training mat.

There is also a great chapter on puppy socialization - possibly one of the best chapters I've ever read on the topic (pragmatically concise, responsibly thorough, and surprisingly original).

Style: The book meets the big three's of non-fiction: it flows, it entertains, and it educates. The author has this knack for illustrating abstract concepts with great analogies. It turns out she is a professional writer (fiction and non fiction) in addition to her dog work. She certainly raises the bar for the rest of us on the style front.

Technique: She not only writes well, but she clearly masters the underlying theory. I have not face-palmed once. Not - one - single - time. Coming from this painfully pedantic theory nerd (i.e. me), it means a lot. Her reasoning and facts were as good as water-tight.

She also produces references for the facts she presents, which is a nice touch in a book written for the layman.

The book also got me to pause and think about some of the finer stuff:

Downside of prompting: a full-length discussion reviewing the dangers of over-prompting
Cue as tertiary reinforcer, when the cue itself becomes motivating.
Delivering the reward by throwing it away for the dog to chase, to allow him to shed tension.
Technique meets style: Her grasp of technique and style made for insightful imagery. Some extracts:

Dogs asking questions: A dog making a mistake is asking you a question. You have failed to answer it if he makes the same mistake twice.
Combat pay: That extra yummy piece of cheese for the really tough situation.
Poisoned cue: A cue with a history of unpleasant, or unclear, consequences.
Splitting, not lumping: About the importance to taking solid baby steps before running a marathon
On the minus front: The demands on owner compliance seem utopic. The need to keep records, and the micro-nano-mini-splitting (i.e. if the dog gets stuck, split the next step into five tiny steps) will discourage many 'civilian' readers, I fear.

I would love to see one chapter dedicated to training school settings. I am considering using it for our school, but I need additional guidance before I do that.

The verdict: I absolutely loved it. It read like a breeze, it was accurate, it added original points to old theories, and it was chock-full of analogies (always a plus for client communication). And, it gave me new things to add to my toolbox as a trainer. Consider me a happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite dog training books ever!, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremely knowledgable author writes in an easy to understand fashion, and makes no assumptions based on untested beliefs.
This is a very useful book with a caring approach to addressing the issues of dogs that need help to be calm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars laymans terms used to train...GREAT!, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is written in terms that anyone can follow and succeed. my dog benefitted from the teaching methods used. Great starter book for training a dog with OCD such as my border collie :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go get it!, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fired Up, Frantic, and Freaked Out: Training the Crazy Dog from Over the Top to Under Control (Paperback)
Easy to read. The author knows what she is talking about. Generally, I think it's really hard to work with a reactive dog without professional help, but if you must learn it from a book, this is the book to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book easy to understand .would recommend if you have a problem or nervous dog. We'll worth the money enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good explanations, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good description of how to calm down and deal with excited dogs. Investment of time becomes more effective than without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple and easy to understand, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fired Up, Frantic, and Freaked Out: Training the Crazy Dog from Over the Top to Under Control (Paperback)
Written in a way that is clear, simple and easy to understand, this is a book for owners of manic dogs everywhere. Obviously there are no "magic" answers to dog behavioral problems - but this book definitely points in the right direction...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was like reading about my own dog, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a real insight into my own neurotic dog, read it in a day, and really made me understand what goes on in my dogs brain, every dog owner should read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fired Up, Frantic, and Freaked Out: Training the Crazy Dog from Over the Top to Under Control
£6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews