Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STRENGTH TO STRENGHT, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Antony and Cleopatra:: Part II-Cleopatra: 4 (Paperback)
Ron Peake's writing abilities and story telling goes from strength to strength, in this his fourth novel in the MARCHING WITH CAESAR series.

To my mind the author captures perfectly this turbulent period in Roman history, his overall knowledge of the relationship (with the current historical evidence available), between the two most powerful men of Rome in this epoch, is to be commended.

Also the love, and sometimes hate relationship betwixt Antonious and the arch highly intelligent viper Cleo,is portrayed in engrossing, and harrowing detail.

Caught up in this vying for power triangle, is thrown Titus Pullus the consummate soldier of Rome, who confronted time and again with the combined machinations of Octavian, Antonious and the deadly Cleo treads a very fine line for survival. Time and again he verges on the edge of the abyss, with only his sagacity and courage to haul him back from extinction.

THE PERFECT COMPANION TO THIS EXCELLENT SERIES IS, THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER. Ron Peake is the proud owner of one, this is what he has to say about it:
The workmanship is outstanding, and while I am certainly no expert on pieces of this type, it has a substantial feel to it; when I pick it up there's nothing flimsy about it and one can feel and see the craftsmanship that went into it. The engraved figures are extraordinarily detailed; All in all I couldn't be happier with the Calix and what it represents. Truly Rome is eternal if even now people around the world are still interested in the Legions, and this Calix is a worthy representative of that time and place!Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

As in all his previous books, the authors' extensive knowledge and attention to detail, leave the reader with a highly profound feeling of the times, from the chaos of battle, to the emotional aftermath, the constant training, workings, daily routines,and above all the incredible camaraderie that exists between brothers in arms.

As an ex soldier in a Para recce unit, and amateur historian of ancient Rome and her Legions, I would like to thank the author for penning such a realistic and enthralling account of soldiering for Rome, indeed I feel he has shown that there is a direct comparison between the ancient Legions and our elite units, Paras, and Marines in particular.

I am looking forward in anticipation to the next episode of Marching with Caesar.

To Ron Peake,
Ad Victorem spolias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Marvelous....literally!, 13 May 2013
By 
A. W. Vance (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Antony and Cleopatra:: Part II-Cleopatra: 4 (Paperback)
Having read virtually everything on offer in the historical military fiction genre including Cornwell, Severin, Mace, Riches, Sidebottom, Jackson, Iggulden, Kane, Turney, Kristian, Cameron etc I was overjoyed to find a series of this quality that was, at that point, completely unknown to me. Peake's 'Marching with Caesar' series, with hopefully a fifth book to come, comfortably sits alongside the works of all of these authors. I'd compare it to S J A Turney's Marius' Mules series most closely.

Buy all 4 books and go on the march with Primus Pilus Titus Pullus and his 10th Legion for the weekend - you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story;-ruined by lousy editing, 22 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Sussex, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story of the life of the legio X continues as Pullo only advances through the Centuriate and the legions marches with Antony. The poor editing / proof reading ( undiscriminating sprinkling of spaces) detracts from the story hence four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb story!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. RW succeeds in bringing to life, characters that we have all heard about at sometime in our lives. His portrayal of Cleopatra, is a far cry from the dry facts of history or the glamourous versions seen in the movies. Likewise with Mark Anthony. Being an ex soldier, I can certainly identify with the life of the common legionary, that he depicts in his books. It seems that little has changed in the last two thousand years(weaponry excepted!) for the ordinary soldier, from the camaraderie of units and inter unit rivalries, to the officers that lord it over the troops. This book has it all! Eagerly awaiting RWs next offering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peake no 4, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read from Mr Peake. I have thoroughly enjoyed all 4 of the marching with Caesar books and they are up there with Conn Igguldon's Emperor 'quadrology', which is just about the highest praise I can give for books about this era. Well written, fast paced and with enough action to satisfy lovers of all things martial. Igguldon is releasing a 5th in the series and I would like to think that Mr Peake will follow suit and continue the tale of Titus Pullus. MOOOOOORE PLEASE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sword and sandal fare, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good book taking us into the world of the Roman Legions. A bit to much politics but this did not irritate as much as I thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Rodney Fountain (MANCHESTER u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having followed Titus Pullus from his first day in the Legions, I anticipated a great story this time, and so it was, The historical accuracy testifies to the research that the author has done. The story centres around the inter action of Octavian, Marcus Antonius and Cleopatra with Pullus in the middle. As in all the 'Marching' series books, I enjoyed every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vipera fecisse, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story of Titus Pullus and his friends in the 10th Legion continues. We have more campaigns and conclude the Mark Anthony and Cleopatra saga in tandem with the rise of Octavian (Caesar Augustus).

I am not a reviewer that gets right into the detail and looks for any slight historical inaccuracies - Simply, this is the forth in the series of 6 - it appears - (I'm now reading the 5th) which carries on as before, well written, well researched and a thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STORY, BASED ON EVENTS OF THE TIME, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written to the minutest details. Based on events of the time,well research.
I can read this book over and over again and still not get fed up with it. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very good look into the life of a legionary in the republican period. the ups and downs of the ordinary but very lucky solder ,the training ,down to earth not knowing whats going to go on next ,or where they were going .i liked the tent life ,just eight solders together ,a lot of thought goes into the day to day goings on .and what they thought of there officers not unlike today. lots of barracking amongst the legionary's,lots of action and the boring wait to get on with things , i have read four of the books i just could not put them down, hope theirs more from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marching With Caesar-Antony and Cleopatra:: Part II-Cleopatra: 4
£8.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews