Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
Brilliant read, had me sharing every blow with legionary titus pullus of the 10th legion. Very good just sad ive nearly finished the series
Published 7 months ago by paul morris

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars high on detail but low in excitement
The usual highly detailed and thoroughly researched work we expect but not as exciting as previous stories.
Still not bad
Published 10 months ago by James S. Gault


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read, had me sharing every blow with legionary titus pullus of the 10th legion. Very good just sad ive nearly finished the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Laurel in his crown, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Antony and Cleopatra: Part I-Antony: 3 (Paperback)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Once again Ron Peake has added to his laurels with an outstanding sequel, Antony and Cleopatra I.
As with the previous two books, the authors' attention to detail and knowledge of the everyday workings of a Roman (now Antonian) Legion is to be commended.

I won't give a general synopsis, as most reviewers have already done so, I would rather turn to the further character development of Titus Pullus.

The author has an in depth understanding of the qualities needed in the born leader, from the burning desire to excel and win promotion, to the passionate care for the welfare of his subordinates, and at times the ruthlessness required to attain these ends. (This leads me to believe that he has himself been a ranking marine even though he does not state it).

THE PERFECT COMPANION TO THIS EXCELLENT SERIES IS, THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER.Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker Ron Peake is the proud owner of one, this is what he has to say about it:
The workmanship is outstanding, and while I am certainly no expert on pieces of this type, it has a substantial feel to it; when I pick it up there's nothing flimsy about it and one can feel and see the craftsmanship that went into it. The engraved figures are extraordinarily detailed; All in all I couldn't be happier with the Calix and what it represents. Truly Rome is eternal if even now people around the world are still interested in the Legions, and this Calix is a worthy representative of that time and place!Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

Titus is now in his 43rd year at the peak of his career in the X Legion and feeling the physical strain of age and wounds, but still has the steely determination to lead from the front. He also has to learn to tread carefully as a Legion commander when confronted with the machinations of the triumvirs.

I have been gripped by this series from the start, and am looking forward to Antony and Cleopatra part II which I have just ordered.

To Ron Peake,
Ad Victorem spolias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman history brought to life, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again, another amazing book by Mr Peake. With every book he brings his characters to life with stunning ability. You can feel the pain, the happiness, the anger, the fear, everything that the characters in the book. The ability to do this makes me come back to these books again and again.
The author has also done a LOT of research into the book, giving you facts about roman history, where as other authors just make it up as they go.
I could not recommend reading these books enough. You'll learn a lot about Roman history, but you'll also nearly feel like you're right there in the ranks with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star series, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am now on the fourth book of the series and all are 5 star. Excellent read in the historical fiction genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True grit life of the Roman army on the march to war, 26 Jun 2014
Beware reader,once you have read these novels by this author you will not be able to go back to the usual suspects writing about the Romans.This series of books about Julias Caesar and his pacification of Gaul are a stunning read based on his commentaries during this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC full of life, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of life and kept me reading for hours, all the ups and downs one expects and more.

Can't wait to get stuck into the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuation of a great story by a great writer., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story of Titus Pullus, the Primus Pilus of the Tenth Legion embarks on Marcus Antonius doomed invasion of Parthia. The largest Roman Army at the time to march into hostile lands, where the enemy cannot always be identified as friend or foe. This all takes place in the early days of Marcus Antonius famous lust affair with Cleopatra.
Again, Ron Peakes writing style makes the story a page turner, with excellent attention to detail, narrative and captures the attitudes of soldiers going through every hardship encountered on campaign. And some more.
You can easily imagine yourself marching and fighting with the Legions and the despair they must have felt at the huge loss to life of friends and comrades.
This book and the whole Marching with Caesar series can be highly recommended to any reader of Roman History or history in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Third excellent book by Mr Peake,waiting now for the fourth .you can feel the pain ,anguish and hardships that were required to be top of the professional army of Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book picked up the pace again (if you haven't then read the first book!) and it is a thouroughly enthralling read. Well researched and continues the adventures of our first person hero. Mr Peake has a wonderful ability to make you smell and hear the echos of the past. Looking forward to the next one. Hope we don't have to wait too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good absorbing read but start with book one and then read sequentially this is book 3 - so, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't know much about Mark Antony's invasion of Parthia so this book proved a superb informer of the trials and tribulations of Mark Antony's campaign R.W. Peake has done a great job with these books I consider that they are in the same class as Coleen McCulloughs Master of Rome series and that is very high praise indeed... This series of books concentrate on the life of a Centurion and the lives of the legionaires he commands the soldiers at the sharp end If you like it's a near as dammit true to life rendition of roman history these books are - supreme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marching With Caesar-Antony and Cleopatra: Part I-Antony: 3
Marching With Caesar-Antony and Cleopatra: Part I-Antony: 3 by R. W. Peake (Paperback - 6 Mar 2013)
11.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews