Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CAESAREAN CLASSIC, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE PERFECT COMPANION TO THIS EXCELLENT SERIES IS, THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER. Ron Peake is the proud owner of one, this is what he has to say about it:
The workmanship is outstanding, and while I am certainly no expert on pieces of this type, it has a substantial feel to it; when I pick it up there's nothing flimsy about it and one can feel and see the craftsmanship that went into it. The engraved figures are extraordinarily detailed; All in all I couldn't be happier with the Calix and what it represents. Truly Rome is eternal if even now people around the world are still interested in the Legions, and this Calix is a worthy representative of that time and place!Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

In my review, Conquest of Gaul, it was, in my opinion, one of the best novels ever written on the Roman Legionary. With Civil War, I would like to go one further, I believe Ron Peake has delivered a Caesarean Classic.

In this second book, the character of Titus Pullus is explored in greater depth, to reveal, not only the born leadership qualities, of moral and physical courage, initiative, organisation, and his great responsibility towards his men, but also his multi faceted personality, which includes compassion, honesty, dry humour, and total loyalty.

All of these qualities are put to the test time and again following Caesar on his inexorable mission to end the corruption of the republic.

As in Conquest of Gaul, the action is thick and fast, the Campaigns and Battles described in detail, and with profound knowledge of Roman Republican tactics.

All in all this is not only a great novel, and a historically accurate account of Caesars military and political climb to power, but also a thinking man's book.

Looking forward to the sequel, Antony and Cleopatra, due out in February.

To Ron Peake.
Ad Victorem spolias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put this down., 13 Nov 2012
I count the first marching with caesar in the top ten of my all time books along with simon scarrow books and bernard cornwell...

Marching with Caesar Civil War is now fighting for my number 1 book ever read. The story is amazingly written and I feel the characters are so real. The emotions described are so relatable and the story just draws you in.

I sit here reading the book for the second time now, laughing along with Titus, feeling horrible when he does and wanting to cry with him too.

Peake is so good at making the characters in his story relatable and real. Battles feel like you are inthe midst of the blood shed, conversations between characters make you feel like you are sat right there with them sharing a cup, and the whirlwind of emtions in the book feel real.

I can not recommend enough that you read this book. The only down side to it is that you will forget to eat, sleep or work so you won't put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Roman trilogy superior to most, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read both books in the trilogy so far. The narrator Titus Pullus (via a scribe) has a convincing no nonsense voice. There are no verbal pyrotechnics here, just a soldier recounting events. It works for me, if occasionally it's a little too businesslike. The author knows his (or her) history, in particular the exploits of Caesar and the events of the civil war. The dialogue is spare but convincing, unlike a number of better known authors writing for this period, who turn out bogus 'ave, hail Caesar, we hear and obey' type stuff . I do think this trilogy deserves to be better known and I can certainly recommend these books. Looking forward to the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely fantastic action-packed epic, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I considered the first book in this series an absolute gem that gripped me with its extraordinary level of detail and breathtaking action sequences and this superb sequel carries straight on! That so many events can be covered in such detail whilst maintaining the high degree of pace and excitement is extremely impressive and helped i think by a narrative style that permits the un-jarring compression of time on the one hand whilst allowing more significant and memorable events to be described in exquisite and very satisfying detail - and also allows snippets of foreknowledge to be slipped in to tantalise the reader. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series and follow Titus Pullus on his next campaign!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a fine single malt, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not going to repeat all the good things said about this book by so many other reviewers. Between them, they've hit the nail on the head. So in short, this book like the last, is excellent. If you have not read the first book in this trilogy (Marching With Caesar: Conquest of Gaul) then go there! You will not be disappointed. If you have, then you're not reading this review; you've already clicked '1-Click®!

Note to:
Author - Ron, please publish the final book .... a little sooner! :)
Amazon - Can we get this guy's next book on 'Pre-order this item', so I don't have to keep checking to see if it's been published?

Update:
Now a 4 book series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star read, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
5 star read and now on 4th book of series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That's better!, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last more plots & twists than you care to mention with lots of action.Watch your back Titus haven't finished reading it yet but a cracking read.Much better than the first novel but we had to have an introdruction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is as good for the purist as it is for the casual reader. It is excellent in its content and depth of knowledge of a period of history I absolutely adore. I've read an awful lot about this period yet I have not learned as much and felt so close to the people who lived it as I have through the medium of these books. Well done Mr Peake!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great sequel to Marching With Ceasar and gives a good insight to what it might have been like in the legions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read...but where's book 3?, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a lot of historical fiction books and in my opinion this series is one of the best. The way its written gives a different slant on things, the pace is great and there are lots of the civil war aspects that many other books leave out (Caeser in Italia, Greece, Egypt, Syria, Pontus, North Africa, Spain, Italia.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marching With Caesar: Civil War: 2
Marching With Caesar: Civil War: 2 by R. W. Peake (Paperback - 15 Nov 2012)
£10.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews