Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More please
Enjoyed reading and picturing the bits of Glasgow described in the story. Sharkey reminded me a bit of lots of other cops with problems but I liked the various twists in the story. Hope there's a sequel!
Published 21 months ago by B. Hamilton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The writing style is amatuerish and I certainly will not be on the lookout for any more efforts by this author.
Ok Where do you start to review a book like this. If it were to be rated alongside other Scottish Crime books it would undoubtedly be in the relegation zone of the bottom division. Rankin. Macbride et al have nothing to worry about when compared to this piece of tripe.

The story is so unbelievable it would be dismissed by writers of fairy tales as being totally...
Published 11 months ago by Thomas Bruin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The writing style is amatuerish and I certainly will not be on the lookout for any more efforts by this author., 31 July 2014
By 
Thomas Bruin "tombruin" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
Ok Where do you start to review a book like this. If it were to be rated alongside other Scottish Crime books it would undoubtedly be in the relegation zone of the bottom division. Rankin. Macbride et al have nothing to worry about when compared to this piece of tripe.

The story is so unbelievable it would be dismissed by writers of fairy tales as being totally over the top. The names of the characters are even worse. It would appear the author has been reading to many of Damon Runyon stories and has named his characters in a like manner a la Guys and Dolls. Who do you know called Pizza Face or Fat Cheeks?

He paints Glasgow as a city where multiple murders everyday is the norm. He tries to outdo himself in each new chapter by coming up with ever more grisly and bizarre ways to murder people.

Characterisation is of the kind I would expect to find in a story written by a not very academic 12 year old. There are so many holes in the storyboard of the main characters who if this had been written in a better way may actually have made the whole ordeal of reading this more pleasurable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad thriller, 17 July 2013
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
Average thriller .I thought the ending needed a little more to it but maybe that was just me .overall I did enjoy the book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More please, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
B. Hamilton (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed reading and picturing the bits of Glasgow described in the story. Sharkey reminded me a bit of lots of other cops with problems but I liked the various twists in the story. Hope there's a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Pace but no advert for Glasgow Tourism, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book which I read in a few days.
It was very violent, very graphic and no advert for Glasgow. I worked and lived in the Glasgow area for a few years but fortunately I seemed to miss all the gratuitous violence and fear depicted in the book as it was hardly in evidence. Hey its fiction so just go with it! It was fast moving and what appear to entirely disparate threads merge to make a satisfying read.
If there was to be a follow up I am sure I would read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 22 April 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
I don't know what to say about this book. The plot - the police search for a gang enforcer/serial killer - is amusing as the bodies pile up and yet has some really sad moments. The patter and judgements on some of the characters are spot on and funny if you understand the Glasgow vernacular, but it think it may disrupt other readers's enjoyment to have to constantly consult the glossary at the end to get what is being said. However, having said all that this book did not hold my attention and it took me days to read it, even choosing to play Soduko before picking it up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to read, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
This is an unusual and at times difficult book to read. The characters and the plot are well developed although it would be unusual for gang members from the east end of Glasgow to move and play a part in the upper levels of society.
The main gripe I have with this book is the language used by the gangland characters. They don't speak like this or use this type of language. I spent many years working all over Glasgow and have first hand experience of criminal and aggressive behaviour.
I did enjoy the story but the use of language is all wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and yet humerous crime story, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
This book is raw. It pulls very few punches where jargon and descriptions are concerned.. But despite all this it's relevant rawness and adds to the earthy, real and often funny accounts of Glasgow at its meanest best. There are a lot of characters, all of whom spring to life and maintain their individuality throughout the book. I was pleasantly surprised by so few Americanisms from an American writer, plus the clearly researched Glaswegian vernacular and lifestyle. A very good read that had me chuckling whilst remaining eager to read to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
R. Henderson (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
We'll worth a look a good story well written possible a wee bit far fetched in place but still worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant wait for the follow up.:, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
Found this book while browsing and as an avid scottish crime thriller reader decided to purchase,I wasn't disappointed .Great read, can't wait to see more of Fleet A Harley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warts and all, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEATH by GLASGOW (Kindle Edition)
Good story line and author described Glasgow as I remember it warts and all, hope there is a follow up book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DEATH by GLASGOW
DEATH by GLASGOW by Jon Breakfield (Paperback - 28 Nov. 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews