Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! No Sleep for me.
I first heard of this story on the Reddit sub-forum No Sleep.

I decided to buy the Kindle version and read it in it's entirety and I'm very impressed. Excellent. Terrifying and all together a great read.
Published 18 months ago by J. Watkin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think
..This book keeps you guessing all the way through and anyone who has children will find this disturbing...it certainly makes you think..it is slow starting and at times I found although the characters were interesting it was all a bit repetitive.. parts of this will take you back to your own childhood which I enjoyed. ...read this in a day and loved and hated the...
Published 20 months ago by Priscilla


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! No Sleep for me., 26 April 2013
By 
J. Watkin "Jessica09" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Penpal (Kindle Edition)
I first heard of this story on the Reddit sub-forum No Sleep.

I decided to buy the Kindle version and read it in it's entirety and I'm very impressed. Excellent. Terrifying and all together a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very gripping, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penpal (Paperback)
I've followed the author since he posted his first part of the story as a stand alone and was blown away. Every new edition has been equally good and even though I have pretty much read the story already having it in book form altogether was just fantastic. would recommend this to anyone who likes novels or horror stories or anyone who is prepared to have nosleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome!, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: Penpal (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book and would recommend it to anyone looking for creepy, dread-inducing page turner.

I consider myself a hardened horror fan who has long since been desensitised to monsters under the bed, ghosts in the attic and other nasties that go bump in the night. This book has none of those but somehow managed to scare me more than any of the others I've read that do.

The author has cleverly created an intricate puzzle in which all the pieces come together in the final pages. He tends to take the scenic route through each chapter, throwing the reader off balance with information that may or may not be pertinent to the reveal at the end of the chapter. What probably contributes most to the creepiness of this book is that it is told from the perspective of an adult recalling events through the innocent eyes of his childhood self, if that makes sense. Because of this, much of the writing style, implausibility, occasional weak spots in the plot and lack of dialogue can be excused.

Read the first chapter. You'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying at the Most Basic Levels, 15 Oct 2014
By 
Kristia W. "Kurai" (Corby, Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Penpal (Kindle Edition)
As a parent, this hit so hard. It's sad, it's horrifying, it's intriguing.
It's so real, that you almost struggle to believe that it's not, but at the same time, the idea that it could ever be real is sickening.
It may have started life as a simple Creepypasta, but it's more than deserving of being a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A terrifying read, you'll learn a new piece of horrifying information by the end of every chapter., 12 July 2014
By 
Jared "Jared" (East Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penpal (Paperback)
This book lives up to the hype it has received. One of the most chilling things I've ever read. Made up of just 6 chapters, each chapter tells you another little something you wish you hadn't learnt. The reader notices things which the narrator doesn't seem aware of and that makes it all the more terrifying. A must read for any fan of horrifying tales or creepy pasta stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars creeped out, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penpal (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed very much, didnt see the ending coming, suspense along the way kept high. Pieces of the story came together well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Atmosphere, Excellent Read!, 30 Jan 2014
This review is from: Penpal (Kindle Edition)
I first read Dathan Auerbach's story on the Creepypasta Wiki and was instantly hooked, so when I heard that it had been adapted into a full-length novel, I bought it right away!

The story itself has a very unsettling atmosphere around it, and constantly kept me on edge, bracing myself for whatever happened next. It brings up quite a few childhood fears, and neatly ties them into adult ones. The ending, as well, is a huge punch in the gut, and in the best possible way.

And then, of course, there's the fact that the story gave me nightmares, something which is no mean feat nowadays.

Excellent story, and one I'd highly recommend to any fan of horror! It's most definitely subtle horror, but in some ways, that's the best kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penpal (Paperback)
another good read read but was kept drawn in to see the outcome. quite a strange story that had your imagination running ahead
Delivery was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Late review, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penpal (Paperback)
I'm late in the review but i first read this as a small story on the internet and loved everything about it, it all felt so weird and great. the plot is simple yet amazing and then when i bought the book i was given more detail, more background and all in all a better experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Creepy story, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penpal (Kindle Edition)
It dragged a bit at times, but the shocks and twists were enough to keep me entertained. Definitely worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Penpal
Penpal by Dathan Auerbach (Paperback - 11 July 2012)
£5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews