Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good... But expensive and not really what I was expecting
This is an expensive book but after reading all the amazing reviews I went for it anyway. When it arrived I was surprised to see how small it was. In addition to that over half of the 165 or so pages is actually dedicated to workouts, exercises and training and no matter how good this info might be its not why I purchased the book and not really what you expect from the...
Published 9 months ago by Alex Henderson

versus
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointed.....
I am so disappointed with this book. 173 pages, the first 80 of which are devoted to Mike telling us how great he is. The 'advice' (such as it is) consists of a few well meaning, but ultimately common sense snippets. Eat wholegrains (yes we know Mike) Eat fruit and veg (I've heard that one before Mike).

Moving on there are some recipes which the Author probably...
Published 18 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointed....., 6 Oct 2012
By 
Ian (BOLTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am so disappointed with this book. 173 pages, the first 80 of which are devoted to Mike telling us how great he is. The 'advice' (such as it is) consists of a few well meaning, but ultimately common sense snippets. Eat wholegrains (yes we know Mike) Eat fruit and veg (I've heard that one before Mike).

Moving on there are some recipes which the Author probably likes. A few for breakfast, a few for lunch and a few for dinner. These really are pitiful. One of them, and this is no word of a lie is a recipe for an avocado and I quote verbatim.

'Cut the avocado in half, take out the pit and spoon it out like a pudding. Pair with an orange or two for a great snack'. That nugget of wonderous wisdom was deemed important enough for a full page on the Kindle version. Gee thanks for that Mike, what next? 2 pages on how to eat a banana? A diagram of the best way to wash some celery?

Before you buy this book take note of the introduction....

'I'm not going to waste your time with hundreds of pages dedicated to terminology and definitions in an attempt to prove validity while hiding behind science. It's not necessary'. Yes it is Mike - I've just paid 7 for a digital copy of a book that tells me nothing and I suspect has been written to cash in a few dollars. I'm really not interested in what Mike and his wife like to eat for dinner, I'm interested in the human body, what, how and why things work.

At least read the free sample before you buy this book and see if you agree before parting with your hard earned cash and putting a few dollars more into Mr Dolce's avocado fund.

Mike - if you read this, you should be ashamed of yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Use your money for a months gym memebership instead!, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very little detail as to why you should be eating the meals included in the book (some of which are quite good). If you already work out and read fitness magazines you will probably know most of the things in the book. an absolute beginner may benefit slightly from the book. very disappointing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic advice and information, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read and follow, Just Eat Real Food is the underlying theme of the book with no real detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really thats it ????, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book seems to polarise people.

I ignored those who gave it a low rating choosing to go with the 5 star ratings etc.

If you know absolutely nothing about living with a healthy diet, then yes this book will teach you something new. If you know to eat lean proteins, plenty of vegetables avoid processed foods etc. This book will give you nothing new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good... But expensive and not really what I was expecting, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an expensive book but after reading all the amazing reviews I went for it anyway. When it arrived I was surprised to see how small it was. In addition to that over half of the 165 or so pages is actually dedicated to workouts, exercises and training and no matter how good this info might be its not why I purchased the book and not really what you expect from the title etc. This is not really a diet plan itself so if that's what you're expecting foot buy it. It is more of a nutritional guide with what kinds of food to eat and when and some good recipes too. All this said, the book did change the way I do my food shopping and has definitely had a positive impact on my diet and training. It's just a case of learning from the book and then using this knowledge to formulate a new nutritional plan or change your current diet for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good information overpriced., 1 July 2013
By 
Cutting straight to the chase, all the negative reviews of this book on here are pretty much spot on.

If you want to eat a quality diet and have good workouts but have zero idea of how to go about it this book will be helpful.

All the exercises and recipes are quality information but it's also readily available on the internet for free.

The shopping list costs about 60-70 (most which will only last few days in your fridge) not including coconut oils, hemp oils, almond/cashew butter, flax seed etc that you will have to buy from health/fitness stores and websites.

If you are even the slightest but interested in the information I'd highly recommend just listening to Mike Dolce's FREE podcast as he regularly spouts info straight out of the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dolce diet, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Decent enough book, probably a bit too much talk about himself (Mike). Good food list, recipes and meal plan. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of good tips and recipes in his book. Some nice background stuff as well. I like the positivity in his writing but I am sure that could also annoy people as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is not a diet plan, its a book about Mike Dolce and his life and exercise and recipes he uses and what others use to do a weight cut. Good book, good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, 18 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as someone who participates in combat sports and already has a pretty good basic knowledge of sports nutrition. Given that Mike Dolce is seen as a bit of a nutritional 'guru' by many within MMA, I thought that this'd hopefully be a good book to read in terms of expanding my knowledge: a lot of sports nutrition literature is written more with the bodybuilding market in mind, while the majority of the rest of it is based upon studies carried out upon endurance athletes. There's relatively little out there which is geared towards the specific demands of combat sports, and I hoped that this book would maybe go some way towards bridging that gap.

To say that I was disappointed in these hopes would be an understatement. The first half of the book basically consists of Mike Dolce's life story. Whilst this is reasonably interesting, it isn't what I bought the book for; I probably wouldn't have bought an autobiography of his at all, and I certainly wouldn't have paid this price for it. This is followed by a basic shopping list, telling the reader a few good things to buy: if you're a complete novice then this might be useful, but no explanation is provided as to why you should be buying these foods. If you've already worked out that spinach and chicken are good for you, meanwhile, it's really not going to be worth much to you. Further, no explanation is given as to WHY you should be eating these specific foods; he claims to be giving his readers the knowledge needed to plan their own meals, but he's only doing that at the most superficial level. Telling people to eat vegetables isn't enough; people need to know why they should be doing so.

Next, he gives a sample daily meal plan, claiming that this template will allow you to plan your own meals. This quite simply isn't true, because he once again doesn't explain why eating this particular mix of meals will do you good. His tagline of 'Don't count calories! Make calories count!' is totally vacuous; whilst it's true that obsessive calorie counting isn't necessarily a good thing, he should at least make some mention of macronutrient ratios, which are probably the single most important thing in sports nutrition. Reading this book as a beginner would lead to macronutrient (protein, carbs and fat) intakes being all over the place on different days. Your diet would certainly be healthy, but it wouldn't be optimal. It's maybe not entirely a bad thing from the point of view of a beginner, as it's better to start out by making small steps, but at this price I'd expect more. Further, the book very much gives the impression that it's teaching you everything that you need to know, which isn't even nearly the case.

The next section of the book consists of some recipes and suggested snacks. Some of these aren't bad (others, for various reasons, are ridiculous) and I can definitely see how they'd help someone who maybe wasn't sure of how to go about improving their diet to make good choices, but once again they don't really merit the price. Once again, he also doesn't explain why these meals are good for you: again, this flies in the face of his claim to actually be teaching his readers how to make their own decisions. Of course, if his readers did know how to make their own decisions they wouldn't feel a need to buy his next book...

He finishes with some basic workout plans. Again, not necessarily anything wrong with them, but they don't merit the price of the book. You could find similar recipes and workout plans in a monthly lifestyle magazine, and what's more the magazine would at least give some explanation as to why they'd do you good.

I don't doubt that Mike Dolce is an expert in his field, but there's no way that his approach with his clients is anywhere near as haphazard as the one espoused in this book. Frankly, I doubt that he even had much input into the book; it's ghostwritten and vague enough to make me think that it could be based on a very short series of interviews.

To summarise: if you know anything about sports nutrition or even just nutrition in general, you'll learn nothing from this book; if you're a novice in the area you might learn a bit, but it isn't worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2dc88dc)

This product

The Dolce Diet: Living Lean
The Dolce Diet: Living Lean by Brandy Roon (Paperback - 25 April 2013)
25.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews