Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read
The book is very well written and exposes all the basic key points of a good technical interview preparation process. Moreover, the book is stuffed with common interview problems that are to be fully understood by candidates as similar problems might be presented in their next interview. If you're preparing for an interview, this book will help you understand what...
Published 16 months ago by Gianluca Tranchedone

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Okay for those wanting to understand behind the scenes of the big companies.
Published 3 months ago by quinninho


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
The book is very well written and exposes all the basic key points of a good technical interview preparation process. Moreover, the book is stuffed with common interview problems that are to be fully understood by candidates as similar problems might be presented in their next interview. If you're preparing for an interview, this book will help you understand what knowledge you're lacking and how to train for whiteboard problem solving exercise that are fairly common in technical interview, especially with big companies such as Google, Amazon, Apple, Microsoft, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful if your skills have become rusty, 21 Feb 2014
By 
S. Leonard (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
After working for one employer for a number of years I found myself looking for a new job when my contract ran out. I for one benefited greatly from the section on data structures and algorithms. I thought I knew what a hash map was, but when this book suggested I implement one, it was the first time I really thought about what a hashcode meant. I think if you consider yourself an "expert" you will find it too easy, but for most people of "intermediate" ability, its a great refresher. Clearly you need to read other material to revise your skills in addition to this, but I think it covers gaps you won't think about otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will make you a better engineer, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
Let me start by saying that this book is not for everyone. It is a book for Computer engineers.

This book won't get you a job in Google or Amazon if you are not a good engineer, but if you are a good one this book will help you focus on the areas that really need your attention when facing an interview.

Don't read this book from cover to cover. Do all the exercise on a whiteboard, in different languages, think about the solutions, and check other sources. I guarantee you will end up being a much better engineer.

I absolutely love this book, and keep going back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have in your desk,, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
Cracking the coding interview is one book you should definitively have in your bookshelf, and you should keep reading it now and then.

I have a passion for reading and solving coding interview questions and never found such a detailed source of information.

The book starts with several suggestions on how preparing yourself for an interview. This is an aspect that many people underestimate, whilst having a well-written CV, a personal blog, and possibly a number of open source projects is definitively important. This book gives you a number of good suggestions.

Then there is long part discussing interview questions with a broad coverage of basic data structures, algorithms, programming languages, databases and threads and some advanced coding questions.

The style is concise and you can read each Chapter in isolation. Gayle made an amazing job in illustrating not just the solutions, but several techniques that you can use for solving new problems. Plus, those interview questions, the solutions and the techniques, are not just hypothetical but are very useful in your day by day life as Dev or Researcher.

I would suggest the author splitting the Chapter 7 "Mathematics and Probability" into two separate parts and expand both of them because they are very important during interviews and the current description is probably too synthetic. Also, a Chapter on String algorithms and another one on Parallel programming would be probably useful to have because people will look for them elsewhere.

Having said that, this is definitively a must have book and the money you spend will definitively generate a great return on the investment.

Thanks Gayle for writing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't think about it---just buy it, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
This is a great interview preparation book. It got my rusty coding skills up to speed with the requirements of major silicon valley firms. Using it as one of my major resources while preparing for interviews I managed to get multiple full-time software engineering offers fresh out of grad school.

That said, don't expect to read the book in a week or two and ace every interview. You need to spend time on it, preferably way in advance of your interviews. Ideally, you have to have all the problems presented in your "cache" so that you can easily approach more tricky problems on the spot. Even if you only have a week to prepare, still buy this book---there is no single resource out there that is better.

The book however needs improvement.
-There are typos and minor errors. For a 5th version of a book this is bad.

-Some answers to the book's problems lack even a basic complexity analysis. While I understand that it is not possible to explain the algorithmic complexity of some solutions without sounding like CLRS, the author should at least say that an analysis is not simple and/or give a pointer to another book.

-The worst part of the book is that some answers are not well-explained. This can be improved by just spending more time editing the book. I expect to be able to understand the important ideas/steps behind a solution by just reading the text and not the code. Unfortunately, this is not always the case creating subtle surprises. My favourite example is in page 369 of the book regarding the diagonal of the array. The intro text makes you think that you fully understand the solution ("do that, then compare that with that, recurse, and you are done"). Unless, however, you read a comment in the source code of the solution provided (i.e. "do a binary search in the diagonal..."), you 'd be missing a VERY important detail. If afterwards you get asked this question in an interview without having spent time on the comment, you will fail miserably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
Okay for those wanting to understand behind the scenes of the big companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book to know more about software developer interviews, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
The books starts showing the basics for the recruting process of big software companies which are very interesting. Then it continues with typical questions explaining the solutions and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
I had a couple of questions during the interview that the author mentioned. It makes me to refresh the right topics before my interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Insight into Technical Interviews, 20 Jan 2014
By 
J. Perry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
Received this book for Christmas as a gift (currently studying for an MSc Computer Science), and in the near future will be seeking software development positions.

I haven't read through the entire book, but the author has first-hand experience interviewing candidates, and from what I've read so far, seems to have a full grasp of the calibre recruiters seek in programmers at interview.

There is a comprehensive list of interview questions across several sub-domains of software development (OOP, Data Structures, Algorithms) and seek to get you to the best of your ability prior to job interviews.

There is also a really useful accompanying website (CareerCup.com) with tons of interview questions from all the major technical recruiters worldwide, which the author produced herself. She is really passionate helping people nurture their technical skills.

I'll update this review once I've read more of it; but if in doubt whether to buy it - do so. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Interview Preparation Tool, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions (Paperback)
When I casually mentioned to a friend that I was interviewing for a software engineering position at XXXX, he suggested having a look at Gayle's book.

My first impression was that it was a little overkill for an interview preparation, but on flipping through the book, I realized there was quite a lot of material from my Computer Science undergraduate degree that wasn't so fresh in my mind a decade after graduation. This book does a phenomenal job of refreshing all the core CS concepts that you would need for an interview at one of these big software firms. The writing style is fresh, smart, concise, and dead accurate. Gayle gives you just enough detail get started on the exercises (or to go out and dig deeper on your own), and the sample problems are really well written -- just the style you might get in a 1 hour coding interview. The breakdown of topics is logical and makes it easy to tackle the book section-by-section without feeling overwhelmed. Even if you are god's gift to computer programming, the "soft" sections at the beginning of the book give insight into why there's more to getting hired than just writing code on a whiteboard.

Even if you don't take mine or the other reviewers' word for it, just do a quick search for the author and look at her experience. She's worked as an engineer at Microsoft, Apple, and Google (where she participated on hiring committees). Having been through so many of these interviews and helped administer them, she might be the most qualified person in the world to write a book like this.

This isn't some cheap promise to magically get you hired at a big tech company just by turning a few pages. It is a beautifully-written companion that will guide you as you _work_ to refresh and hone your skills so you can be on the top of your game for the big day(s). I can not recommend this book highly enough to anyone interviewing for software engineering jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions
Cracking the Coding Interview: 150 Programming Questions and Solutions by Gayle Laakmann McDowell (Paperback - 22 Aug 2011)
£24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews