Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book on Kanban
This is a great book and a "must-read" for everybody who's either engaged in implementing a Kanban system or thinking of doing so. Whether you've been using Kanban for a while or is new to the method: This book has something to offer!
In this book, David manages to find a very good balance between the theoretical aspects of the method and valuable practical...
Published on 18 Jun 2010 by Ketil Jensen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to Kanban, but its not perfect
I've recently finished a book by David Anderson, Kanban, on my new best gadget, my Kindle.

Its not a bad book but in the earlier chapters David makes statements like; 'it works because its Kanban, because it just does...'. The first few chapters are very skin deep without much supporting evidence as to how or why Kanban made a difference.

Don't let...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by C. Bruiners


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book on Kanban, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Ketil Jensen (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kanban (Paperback)
This is a great book and a "must-read" for everybody who's either engaged in implementing a Kanban system or thinking of doing so. Whether you've been using Kanban for a while or is new to the method: This book has something to offer!
In this book, David manages to find a very good balance between the theoretical aspects of the method and valuable practical examples.

The first part contains a very good introduction to Kanban and explains why you should consider using it. In the second part David goes on to explain the fundamentals of the method, such as the importance of visibility, limiting work in progress and creating a continuous improvement culture in your organization.

The third part gives a detailed description of how to implement a kanban system; how to go about visualizing the value stream, limiting work in progress and offers great advice on more advanced topics such as "classes of service" and two-tiered Kanban systems. In the fourth and final part more advanced topics such as bottlenecks, issue management and sources of variability are discussed.

This is a well-written book, easy to read and with lots of great tips and advice on how to implement a Kanban system. It is definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to Kanban, but its not perfect, 7 Mar 2012
By 
C. Bruiners (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kanban (Paperback)
I've recently finished a book by David Anderson, Kanban, on my new best gadget, my Kindle.

Its not a bad book but in the earlier chapters David makes statements like; 'it works because its Kanban, because it just does...'. The first few chapters are very skin deep without much supporting evidence as to how or why Kanban made a difference.

Don't let it put you off to much as the book does improve and after the early chapters David begins to demonstrate his mastery of Kanban backed with examples. Its not in the league of books like Scrum / XP from the trenches, but its a good book for those looking to investigate Kanban, but for more seasoned Kanban experts you may be hard pushed to find lots of value in this book.

Side note: If you don't have experience or knowledge of TOC, it might be worthwhile also having a copy to review alongside, for example David will make reference to Drum-Buffer-Rope and unless you've read or worked with TOC the explanation of Drum Buffer Rope isn't clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving It, 29 July 2010
By 
Tobin Harris (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kanban (Paperback)
I'm loving this book. It's well written and very readable.

I'm pretty new to Kanban, so it's great that things are explained so well. The section on setting up your board is very cool, it even tells you what materials to buy. And, it also covers digital systems too, and even how to combine both physical and digital Kanban boards (via a sticky buddy!).

Most of the book is explained with real-world context behind it. And also multiple approaches to problems are always suggested, depending on context. More books should do this. I've not read the whole thing, but I've been picking it up for over 2 weeks now and loving it.

Tobin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What lean software development was intended to be?, 22 May 2010
By 
G. Brougham (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanban (Paperback)
Kanban is a third generation development approach that avoids the issues of traditional waterfall and the credibility challenges that have arisen with agile and the need for everyone to be a generalising specialist. It does this by applying the underlying principles of Toyota development and production approaches along with some concepts from related fields. The key principles being of limiting work in progress and pull in place of push. David does a great job of introducing the basics but also addresses the issues of making this work in the real world where there is a need to expedite certain activities. This allows us to focus on business value, provide more timely delivery, support continuous improvement and to do this with your existing workforce. What more could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book poor Kindle Images, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanban (Kindle Edition)
I am new to Kanban and this book explains it well. I am about 60% way through the book so my final review will come later. The main criticism so far is the poor quality of the images in the Kindle addition. A lot of the time the images are key to the topic so not being able to clearly see them is a pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Software Engineering specific, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanban (Kindle Edition)
I was expecting a quick fix for enduring years of poor or lack of structure in software development.
I was expecting a text on how to set up that Kanban process wall chart that would be better than GTD methodology.
Actually what this book does is really explore how to improve a software development cycle by focusing on continuous quality and delivery. If you are a software developer getting beaten by project plans, micromanagement and ridiculous sales forecasts then perhaps this book could demonstrate:
a) You are not the problem
b) How to contribute to improve the software development process
c) How to make the software development and delivery process transparent
d) How to foster new trust and collaboration in the software team
e) How to influence others to buy into and accept change for a better way of achieving better results.
I was recommend this approach by an author of books.
If you are implementing a lot of one-off solutions, innovating and being really creative then Kanban can help.
If you feel you are the ultimate technical expert, have nothing more to learn, with a top-down, dictatorial project management outlook, please do us all a favor and go do something useful with your life :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone using Kanban for transformation or continuous improvement, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Paul (City of London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanban (Kindle Edition)
A book that I will keep coming back to over and over again - it is the most comprehensive I have read on the subject. It's a little dry in places but all in all, a must have reference manual for those who want to get the most out of Kanban as an approach to transformation or continuous improvement. You will find the answers you need here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Took two reads, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanban (Paperback)
It's the book you really need to read on Kanban.

First time I read it, thought it was ok. Second time though, things really started to click and make sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read It Twice, 26 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanban (Kindle Edition)
If you are new to lean and Kanban in software development, then this is the place to start. There is an enormous amount of information in this book so you should not try to get through it all in one sitting. Read it over several days, make notes and Google the terms you don't understand. For example, David Anderson talks about Variation a lot in this book, but doesn't really clarify what this means. This is no way detracts from the quality and usefulness of the book providing you have a web browser to hand. I read the book in detail twice over the source of a week and I got so much more out of it on the seconds reading.

You are not doing lean or agile if you haven't read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive review of the field with practical advice throughout, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Nick Form (Abingdon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kanban (Kindle Edition)
Comprehensive review of the field with practical advice throughout. I'm sure I'll come back to this as I try to lead the adoption of Kanban in my organisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kanban
Kanban by David J. Anderson (Paperback - 7 April 2010)
£26.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews