Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package of sous vide information
It's possible to find at least almost everything mentioned on this book from forums and blog posts, but I think it was totally worth of it to pay for this book. Information is correct - which is not the case with may forum/blog posts - and easy to follow.

Book contains general information about sous vide cooking, food safety and equipment, and large collection...
Published on 23 Dec 2011 by Olli Jarva

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but I'm a little disappointed...
This book was a present but I was disappointed with the lack of pictures which I find essential in a cookery book for inspiration. I hope the recipes make up for it. After a long day at work the last thing I want to do is look at swathes of text.
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. R. S. Bennetts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package of sous vide information, 23 Dec 2011
By 
Olli Jarva (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
It's possible to find at least almost everything mentioned on this book from forums and blog posts, but I think it was totally worth of it to pay for this book. Information is correct - which is not the case with may forum/blog posts - and easy to follow.

Book contains general information about sous vide cooking, food safety and equipment, and large collection of recipes. Amount of recipes is greatly increased by having sous vide part and additions ("Chicken breast" and then "... with teriyaki", "... with ...").

If you want more motivation to buy this book, Douglas Baldwin's (book author) home page have rather lengthy document about sous vide. Just search for "douglas baldwin sous vide" with your favorite search engine and it should be first hit. However, please note that this book includes plenty of more information, including huge amount of recipes - even though there's free information, I definitely recommend buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into sousvide, you must buy this., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
Without a shadow of a doubt this book is the best for sousvide cooking. It is easy to understand but has a lot of technical information also. Despite owning several sousvide books, this is the one I reach for all of the time. I have noticed some differences in different books regarding temperatures and timings but have always found this book to be correct ensuring the food is cooked perfectly. There are some unusual recipes in this book. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sousvide for the home cook by Douglas E Baldwin, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
An excellent book which gives clear instructions as to how to cook by this method. There is a very large list of sauce recipes,the only difficulty with this book is that many of the cuts of meat are described with the American terms which do not always coincide with those used in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sous Vide for the Home Cook, 17 Mar 2013
By 
T. Counley (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
This book is a good starting point for the new sous vide cooke, it has a fair range of recipes and for the reader who wants a more in depth knowledge of the science of sous vide cooking, it gives the maths behind the detailed cooking times. I would add that the food cooked by this method is as tender as you will ever get. One down-side is the amount of water needed--some nine litres--and when the user is on a water meter and a pensioner this could work out very expensive if used on a regular basis; as it happens I live on my own so I fill the cooker with as much food (meat mainly) as it will hold and this gives me enough meals to last for 2-3 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter book, 14 Sep 2011
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
Exactly what was needed to start Sous Vide cooking. In addition a faster than anticipated delivery. On line updates would have been a nice addition in this fast growing area of cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but I'm a little disappointed..., 23 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
This book was a present but I was disappointed with the lack of pictures which I find essential in a cookery book for inspiration. I hope the recipes make up for it. After a long day at work the last thing I want to do is look at swathes of text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well researched, 6 Feb 2012
By 
P. Harvey "paul oxford" (oxford, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
The book is both thoughtful and comprehensive. To my mind, if you get one book on sous vide cookery, this should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book Sous Vide for the Home Cook, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
I only give this a 3 star because all the meat recipes give the USA cuts of meat, what it needs is a conversion to UK cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good starting book for sous vide cooking, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
If you have just embarked in the sous-vide cooking experience. it is comprehensive book to start your journey with. It will provide you with a good base and understanding. I particularly like the fact that it provides you with a good array of recipes for each product it suggest whether it is chicken breast, duck breast, pork loin and many more. The book is also peppered (pardon the pun) with useful information about sous-vide cooking and the science behind it and very useful temperature tables to help you deliver the precisely cooked meal, leaving time to concentrate on the sauces and side dishes. I recommend it as a first book to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for everyday cooking, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sous Vide for the Home Cook (Misc.)
This book is helpful in that it gives you timings for cooking Sous Vide style but really it is a book of sauces and the recipes are simple and useful for the everyday cook. However if you are looking for more 'a la carte' recipes this book is a little limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sous Vide for the Home Cook
Sous Vide for the Home Cook by Douglas Baldwin (Misc. - 2013)
Used & New from: 17.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews