Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better make that two!
When I reviewed Charles Helfenstein's first book, The Making of OHMSS, I ended my review with "It's a shame there isn't a book like this written for each Bond film." Well, Mr. Helfenstein has endeavored to correct that oversight with this second book, covering The Living Daylights from the beginning to the end and beyond. Following the blueprint of his previous book, he...
Published on 15 Dec. 2012 by Delmo Walters Jr.

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Nothing new
Published 24 days ago by Cilsar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better make that two!, 15 Dec. 2012
By 
Delmo Walters Jr. (Bronx, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
When I reviewed Charles Helfenstein's first book, The Making of OHMSS, I ended my review with "It's a shame there isn't a book like this written for each Bond film." Well, Mr. Helfenstein has endeavored to correct that oversight with this second book, covering The Living Daylights from the beginning to the end and beyond. Following the blueprint of his previous book, he covers everything from the first attempt at a Bond reboot before 2006's Casino Royale to the selection of a Fleming short story, Pierce Brosnan getting hired AND fired the first time, enter Timothy Dalton, filming, release, reaction, brief overviews of Dalton's second and ALMOST third film, and the after effects of his brief tenure. I have to admit that this time it took me four days to read the book as I don't have the free time I did when I read the first in what I hope will be a series of "Making of" books from this author. This one is as well written, researched, designed, and illustrated as the last. If you think that Craig guy is the embodiment of Fleming's Bond, think again. What a great Christmas gift for this Bond fan, and a great way to celebrate the 25th anniversary of this amazing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding Bond Book!, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
Astounding. That's the word that popped into my head when I first laid eyes upon a copy of Charles Helfenstein's phenomenal new book "The Making of the Living Daylights". I've been a James Bond fan and avid collector for more years than I'd care to admit, but I wouldn't hesitate to claim that there are no finer publications adorning my bookshelf than this and Charles' earlier, equally must-have volume "The Making of On Her Majesty's Secret Service". Bond fans take note: If you think you've already seen everything that could possibly pique your interest relating to 1987's 25th Anniversary 007 adventure, as you begin to leaf through this deliciously chunky (almost 300 pages) book you realise how completely wrong you were. From an informative perspective alone it's an invaluable document, Charles' research detailing everything about the film's production from seed of an idea to its unleashing upon the world, even touching upon its enduring appeal over the years since (i.e. there's a page of photos devoted to the launch of the film's lead actress Maryam d'Abo's own Bond book a few years back). Yet for many the 24-carat treasures are to be found in the wealth of largely previously unseen imagery; storyboards, deleted scenes, publicity shots, production stills, memorabilia...breathtaking doesn't begin to summarise it. There's more than enough here to keep even the casual cinephile enthralled, but for dedicated Bond fans "The Making of The Living Daylights" is quite simply an essential acquisition. There needs to be a book like this written about every single entry in cinema's longest-running series. Would it be as easy for an author to fire up sufficient enthusiasm to create a volume such as this devoted to, for example, "Quantum of Solace" (the most disappointing film in the entire series in my opinion)? I don't know. Quite seriously, however, it's a challenge so daunting that it's unlikely to ever happen. But if it did, based on his first two publications there's no question that Charles Helfenstein would be the man for the job. Two down, twenty-one to go! What do you say, Charles?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterwork from Charles Helfenstein, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
John Cox (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
Like his The Making of On Her Majesty's Secret Service, this latest book by Bond scholar Charles Helfenstein is an absolute masterwork! This is a day by day account of the filming of Timothy Dalton's debute Bond film, The Living Daylights, jam-packed with photos, ephemera, and information that you will not find anywhere else. I was especially impressed by the early chapters on the original Ian Fleming short story, and also thrilled that Helfenstein included a detailed description of the original aborted James Bond origin story treatment. For years Bond fans have heard rumors about this, but almost nothing about it has been known. Now here's the whole bloody thing! I also like that Helfenstein takes the Dalton story all the way to the end with a chapter on Licence To Kill and his 3rd unmade film. Passion projects like these are so much more informative than any of slick "official" Bond books out there. So if you're into Bond, or filmmaking in general, I would highly recommend The Making of The Living Daylights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the greatest cinematic 'making ofs' book ever written, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
Charles Helfenstein's brilliant book is certainly an advisable read for film buffs. However for Bond fans its a must have. If, like me, you are a fan of Dalton's portrayal of Bond then you are in for a major reward. This book covers everything from the origins of Ian Fleming's original short story (his best one) the discarded 'scriptments' of a then potential reboot of the franchise, the casting issues, the production of the film, the tensions between composer John Barry and pop group a-Ha all the way through to the legacy the film left on the franchise. Being both a major Bond fan and a biased fan of Dalton's performance and his films I was very much looking forward to reading this, despite its astronomical price. However I was surprised at just how much detail Helfenstein went through, and I congratulate him on writing an informative account on the film that not only tried to bring Bond back to his cynical roots but also bravely try and shake up a film series that had become a stale parody of itself.

I really do hope Helfenstein continues with this Bond series, and I'm impressed that his first two books began with the two so called 'unpopular' entries in the series (thankfully time has been very kind to these two films) If he does decide to continue, then I really hope he considers writing a book on Casino Royale, which finally rebooted the franchise and took Bond back into harsh reality. Not to mention the book will no doubt include the long history of how Casino Royale finally reached the screen fifty years after its first publication, and how EON finally got hold of the rights.

The other book in the series I would like to see would be Goldeneye which even though it pulled back the franchise to a lighter and more 'populist' tone, it certainly so called 'rejuvenated' the franchise for a new generation of fans, and made Brosnan, unfairly I might add, a popular Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Bond fans but for movie lovers in general, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
S. Rogall (Frechen-Königsdorf, NRW Deutschland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
Charles Helfenstein's "The Making of THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS" is another must have-book for anyone interested in James Bond or behind-the-scenes-books that are really detailed accounts of every aspect that goes into the production of a major film. The wealth of information and rare photos is astonishing and mind-blowing. Like Helfenstein's "The Making of ON HER MAJESTY'S SECRET SERVICE" this new book about Timothy Dalton's first outing as James Bond is a dream come true. From the earliest story development to the casting sessions (telling us why media darlings of that time like Lewis Collins were not chosen), from the actual shooting to the post-production and reception of this very special and important Bond film, the book gives so much insight that you never got from any book on Bond before. You can't stop turning the page, being rewarded by a writer who really dug in deep, unstoppable in his research.

There is no substitute - this is the book you just have to get. Soon. Right now. And if you don't own the "OHMSS"-book yet, go for both. You need them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manna from Heaven for Bond fans, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
I am currently reading Paul Duncans' sublime James Bond Archives, but after receiving this I'm giving my arms a rest for a while!

All making of books should be like this. None of the usual studio sanctioned vanilla writing, but the stuff you really want to know; who screen tested, why didn't they get the role, all the different script iterations, post release analysis, it's all here.

Tim Dalton was possibly ahead of his time as Bond. I wish he could have played the role longer as this book really shows the dedication he brought to it.

If the cost of Charles Helfensteins' books is putting you off, don't let it. They really are worth it. I'm now waiting for the making of OHMSS to turn up. Wish I'd ordered it sooner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive., 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
Always liked this movie and thought Dalton was underrated, but actually preferred his harder edge character in License to Kill. The book says it all, no need for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Book, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Dale Mcfadzean "Dale 1" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
Lifelong Bond Fan...and literally have bought everything including the proverbial t-shirt. This is by far the most outstanding factual Bond book I have ever purchased. Brilliantly written, researched, and produced. It is a real gem and I discovered a few nuggets of information I had never stumbled across before. The author is to be commended and I hope that he is able to produce more of these. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely phenomenal, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
I have been absolutely blown away by the quality of this book. The photos alone are incredible and completely capture the era. The film was a milestone in my childhood and my enjoyment of the world of Bond and this book is just incredible. It completely surpasses anything I have seen about Bond. Don't be put off by the price. I was very unsure for a while but am so glad I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Mt Brown "Bond heaven" (Chelmsford uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of The Living Daylights (Paperback)
This is the 2nd book by this author i have and i must say i am very pleased with it.It has some good photos and behind the scenes information i am just hoping This Author does a few more books about the James Bond films hopefully Diamonds are forever would be a interesting one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Making of The Living Daylights
The Making of The Living Daylights by Charles Helfenstein (Paperback - 5 Oct. 2012)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews